How to run a Compatibility Mode inside Sandboxie?

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
MuchoBeer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:06 pm

How to run a Compatibility Mode inside Sandboxie?

Post by MuchoBeer » Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:20 pm

Hi! I've been trying to figure out on how to run some executables within the Sandboxie using the "Compatibility" mode to Windows XP.

Whenever I right-clicked an exe via "Program Compatibility Troubleshooter", the system would tell me this:

"An error occurred while troubleshooting: A problem is preventing the trouble shooter from starting."


And so, I tried the compatibility changes under "Properties", I was able to change it to Windows XP and "Run as Admin"
However, if a program is ran under "Program Compatibility Troubleshooter", it would work.
But if I tried the above method under "Properties", it wouldn't run. Am I missing something here? Do I need to change something in the system to make my apps to work?


Thanks in advance!

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: How to run a Compatibility Mode inside Sandboxie?

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Feb 26, 2018 12:57 pm

Hello MuchoBeer,

Please provide the required information so that we can assist you:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

I am guessing you are clicking on "Run compatibility troubleshooter". Not all Windows features will run inside an isolated environment.

Have you tried changing the compatibility mode outside Sandboxie, then running the program Sandboxed?
Or, open Explorer Sandboxed (Right-click on your Sandbox --> Run Windows Explorer), then navigate to the location of your program, right-click properties, Compatibility tab, make manual changes and re-try.

Regards,
Barb.-

MuchoBeer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 9:06 pm

Re: How to run a Compatibility Mode inside Sandboxie?

Post by MuchoBeer » Thu Mar 01, 2018 7:52 pm

Hi again, and thanks for the reply! ^^

Here's some of my details:

OS: Windows 10 Pro
SB: v.5.23.3 64bit
AV: Windows Defender

I did try that running a compatibility troubleshooter outside of Sandboxie, but it's asking me to run it if it's working, I'm worried it would run in a free-environment in doing so, is there any workaround outside of Sandboxie like inputting a prefix/suffix command on a target executable so it would run?

I also tried manually editing it within Sandboxie, by going through Properties and to Compatibility, the system did say it was changed, but it's not working as it's intended to be, it would seem like manually changing an executable's compatibility within Sandboxie would never trigger any changes at all, unless I've changed it in free-environment.


Or is there some sort of features in Sandboxie to make any program within to run in WinXP mode?

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: How to run a Compatibility Mode inside Sandboxie?

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Mar 02, 2018 10:58 am

Hello MuchoBeer,

If you provide the program that you are trying to run in compatibility mode, and what settings are you trying to apply, I will test it.

You can change the compatibility settings outside Sandboxie without having to launch the program (No need to use the troubleshooter):
Right-click on your program ---> Properties---> Compatibility tab---> make the desired changes (may need to make them for all users), apply the changes. Try launching the app Sandboxed.

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests