Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission [SOLVED]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Aya_Tachibana
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:15 pm

Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission [SOLVED]

Post by Aya_Tachibana » Sun Feb 17, 2019 11:41 pm

Hello.

I downloaded the latest version of Sandboxie, and only now I started getting this problem.

Before the version 5.28, I could use Opera without any problems, but now, it always asks for Admin rights to update (even if does not need it, I can update Opera outside Sandboxie with my normal user account and without using admin rights). Even if I set Sandboxie to drop the admin rights, it always shows errors like these:

Code: Select all

SBIE2217 Request to run as Administrator was denied due to dropped rights
SBIE2219 Request was issued by program opera.exe [TorrentBox]
SBIE2220 To permit use of Administrator privileges, please double-click on this message line
Even if I tell to hide them, they always shows up.

This is happening on 2 PCs here, one of them the Sandboxie is fresh installed, so the problem is not my installation.

I will give some information about both of my computers, maybe it will help:

Code: Select all

- Main PC:
- CPU: Intel COre i5-4200U
- GPU: Nvidia 740M
- RAM: 8GB
- Windows 10 - 64 Bits (1809)

My other PC:
- CPU: Intel Atom Z3775
- GPU: None
- RAM: 2GB
- Windows 10 - 32 Bits (1809)
My sandbox.ini form the main computer (the other computer has the same sandboxes configuration, so I will just post one of them)

Code: Select all

[GlobalSettings]

Template=7zipShellEx
Template=WindowsRasMan
Template=Avast_Antivirus
Template=WindowsLive
Template=OfficeLicensing
Template=OfficeClickToRun

[UserSettings_086401B3]

SbieCtrl_UserName=hiro
SbieCtrl_NextUpdateCheck=1551069098
SbieCtrl_UpdateCheckNotify=n
SbieCtrl_ShowWelcome=n
SbieCtrl_AutoApplySettings=n
SbieCtrl_HideWindowNotify=n
SbieCtrl_WindowCoords=218,189,776,451
SbieCtrl_ActiveView=40021
SbieCtrl_SettingChangeNotify=n
SbieCtrl_EnableLogonStart=y
SbieCtrl_EnableAutoStart=y
SbieCtrl_AddDesktopIcon=y
SbieCtrl_AddQuickLaunchIcon=y
SbieCtrl_AddContextMenu=y
SbieCtrl_AddSendToMenu=y
SbieCtrl_BoxExpandedView=NormalBox,TorrentBox
SbieCtrl_ProcessViewColumnWidths=250,70,300
SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2220,opera.exe [TorrentBox]

[NormalBox]

ConfigLevel=7
BlockNetworkFiles=y
Template=Firefox_Profile_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Cookies_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Sync_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Passwords_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_History_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Bookmarks_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Force
Template=Firefox_Passwords_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Bookmarks_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Force
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=BlockPorts
Template=WindowsFontCache
Template=qWave
RecoverFolder=%Personal%
RecoverFolder=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%
BorderColor=#00FFFF,off
Enabled=y
BoxNameTitle=-
CopyLimitKb=491520
CopyLimitSilent=y

[TorrentBox]

Enabled=y
ConfigLevel=7
BlockNetworkFiles=y
Template=qWave
Template=WindowsFontCache
Template=BlockPorts
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
RecoverFolder=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%
BorderColor=#FFFF80
BoxNameTitle=y
AutoDelete=y
NeverDelete=n
CopyLimitKb=657899
ForceFolder=C:\Users\Hiro\AppData\Local\Programs\Opera
DropAdminRights=y
Remember, this is something happening only in this version, prior versions never had these.

What can I do to stop those "asks for admin right?"

Thank you.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3020
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:47 am

Hello Aya_Tachibana,

We recommend to update applications outside the Sandbox. Then deleting the Sandbox contents and re-launching the newly updated app in the fresh sandbox.

SBIE2217 Request to run as Administrator was denied due to dropped rights

Your settings show this: DropAdminRights=y
Please refer to:
https://www.sandboxie.com/RestrictionsSettings#drop
https://www.sandboxie.com/DropAdminRights

Regards,
Barb.-

Aya_Tachibana
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:15 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by Aya_Tachibana » Tue Feb 19, 2019 11:04 pm

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Tue Feb 19, 2019 10:47 am
Hello Aya_Tachibana,

We recommend to update applications outside the Sandbox. Then deleting the Sandbox contents and re-launching the newly updated app in the fresh sandbox.

SBIE2217 Request to run as Administrator was denied due to dropped rights

Your settings show this: DropAdminRights=y
Please refer to:
https://www.sandboxie.com/RestrictionsSettings#drop
https://www.sandboxie.com/DropAdminRights

Regards,
Barb.-
Hello.

I know that the DropAdminRights is on, but if I leave it off, the program will keep asking for admin rights via UAC, and it happens a lot of times.
To make that better, I enabled the DropAdminRights.

I do update the programs before using them on Sandboxie, but I still have problems that they never asked for admin permissions, but now they do.

Is there any way to always hide those admin permissions?

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3020
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:55 am

Hello Aya_Tachibana ,

The messages are related to Drop Rights being enabled:
https://www.sandboxie.com/SBIE2217
https://www.sandboxie.com/SBIE2219

You can try to click "Hide" when they show up, but I am not sure that will work, as these are needed for programs to run.
Here's another option that may allow you to block them (but will also block any other messages - not sure this will work at all, but give it a go):
viewtopic.php?p=90698#p90698

If your issue is Opera updates, you may want to see if there's a way to disable them instead.

Also, does the issue happen in a sandbox where this is not added?:
ForceFolder=C:\Users\Hiro\AppData\Local\Programs\Opera

Regards,
Barb.-

Aya_Tachibana
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:15 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by Aya_Tachibana » Sun Feb 24, 2019 8:18 pm

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Wed Feb 20, 2019 9:55 am
Hello Aya_Tachibana ,

The messages are related to Drop Rights being enabled:
https://www.sandboxie.com/SBIE2217
https://www.sandboxie.com/SBIE2219

You can try to click "Hide" when they show up, but I am not sure that will work, as these are needed for programs to run.
Here's another option that may allow you to block them (but will also block any other messages - not sure this will work at all, but give it a go):
viewtopic.php?p=90698#p90698

If your issue is Opera updates, you may want to see if there's a way to disable them instead.

Also, does the issue happen in a sandbox where this is not added?:
ForceFolder=C:\Users\Hiro\AppData\Local\Programs\Opera

Regards,
Barb.-
Sorry for the delay.

Opera uses "launcher.exe" to launch the program, so if I set to always run programs with the name ""launcher.exe", sure, Opera will start, but it could also affect other programs, like installers or games (it already happened to me), so instead I chose to force the entire Opera folder.

I tried using to force programs called "launcher.exe", and Opera still has the same problems.
Remember that this never happened before, and it's really annoying.

Any other ideas?

dwalker
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:49 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by dwalker » Thu Feb 28, 2019 5:19 pm

I'm going to weigh in as I very recently had this problem appear, without using a forced folder, I just want Barb to know these details:

I started using Opera a while ago, to get the shortcut to work I had to add the -no-sandbox feature. It worked fine then on the last sandboxie version and for a while on 5.28.

Then after the latest Opera update, I had this sequence of events:

1. sandboxed Opera opened, then after a brief pause there is a very brief black coloured popup (with white and yellow) with some warning, Unfortunately it disappears too quickly to read, my guess would be it is from Windows (I have the October update). Then UAC kicks in with the usual question "Do I want this program to make changes etc." and a blank for my admin password. However if I just close the UAC using the x in the corner, it goes back to the program which appears to function. So I can use it apparently.
2. Then when I close sandboxed opera, again the the black popup warning show for an instant, then the UAC prompt appears again. If I just close the UAC prompt, the sandbox deletes as I have it set to.

Note, I have sandboxes for different browsers with slightly different settings. I experimented running Opera in each of them, and the above sequence happened with each of them.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3020
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:40 am

Hi dwalker ,

Thank you for the info. Can you please provide the rest from here?:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

And is it Opera Updates triggering UAC (this would make sense). If so, have you disabled them to see if that worked, as I suggested in my previous posts?
Moreover, is Opera up-to-date outside Sandboxie? Please double check, then delete the contents of your Sandbox and re-test


Aya_Tachibana and dwalker,
What is the full SBIE message that you are receiving?
Are there any extensions involved?
Do you both have Avast?
What is the exact Opera version that you are running?

I cannot reproduce this with or without drop rights . I need to know what else is coming up when you get the messages.

Can I please get the output of your Res. Acc. Mon?
https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessMonitor
Create a new Sandbox
Start Res. Acc. Mon
Launch Opera in the new Sandbox
Copy-paste the output
Highlight the output in your response and click on "</>" to format it for the forums.

Regards,
Barb.-

dwalker
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:49 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by dwalker » Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:43 am

Barb sorry for the delay. First let me say that disabling auto updates in Opera soles completely the problem of asking for Admin password n my User account. What is quite complicated is how to disable them in a User account in Windows 10. This option is NOT in Settings anywhere, it used to be. Only one method worked:

Make these changes from your Admin account:

1. Go to C:\Programs\Opera and choose the folder with the latest version number, then rename the file opera_autoupdate.exe in that folder (I chose opera_autoupdatedisable.exe)
2. Go to Task Scheduler and delete the Task to autoupdate Opera.

Now back in the User account, when you open Opera in your User Account and go to Help-About it says "an error occurred while checking for updates"

However now sandboxing works normally.

Here's answers to the usual questions before I found the way

Windows 10 version 10.0.17763 Build 17763
Sandboxie version: 5.28
Does it occur in a new Sandbox with Default settings - Yes
Version of Opera: 58.0.3135.79
Anti-virus: Kaspersky free
Exact steps: Open Opera in any of my sandboxes, the popup appears.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3020
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Mar 05, 2019 9:54 am

Hi dwalker,

We do not support Kaspersky, nor Opera...

Having said that you can use Sandboxie to block Opera's autoupdate :
https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessSettings#file
Add this:
*\opera_autoupdate.exe

Delete the contents of your Sandbox and re-test.

Regards,
Barb.-

dwalker
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:49 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission

Post by dwalker » Wed Mar 06, 2019 2:26 am

Hello Barb,

SOLVED. Thank you. Using Block Access of the file operautoupdate.exe in my custom sandbox for Opera is the perfect solution for me.. I've been using multiple sandboxes for years with a sandbox for each browser. For along time IE was the simplest choice working really well. But in the last two years, IE seems to hang on too may sites to be really usable. I have not found IE settings that keep it working well without constant deleting of all temp files and cookies. So I added Opera to my arsenal of browsers I run sandboxed. It worked fine until this recent problem you just solved.

Thank you for taking the time to answer my query as I did not realise you did not "support" Opera or Kaspersky. Kaspersky has never interfered with sandboxie or Windows, while I had Norton Basic antivirus give error messages constantly and other problems. Finally ditched Norton and tried Kaspersky Free. It's better and has minimal nagging for upgrades.

Big fan of Sandboxie. In all these years of using it my problems with malware actually installing on my computer have been pretty well zero. Keep on truckin'!

dwalker
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:49 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission [SOLVED]

Post by dwalker » Thu Mar 14, 2019 11:59 am

Additional Question or Comment: I just let Opera update itself out of the Sandbox and the problem recurred in my User account. Of course it was because Opera creates a new folder for each new update in C:\Program Files\Opera\. So in Blocked Access for that Sandbox I had to change the path to the opera_autoupdate.exe file as follows:

Before: C:\Program Files\Opera\58.0.3135.79\opera_autoupdate.exe

After: C:\Program Files\Opera\58.0.3135.107\opera_autoupdate.exe

I'm not sure one of those paths with % signs would work in this case for all updates. Anyone know a way?

Many thanks,

Doug Walker

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3020
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission [SOLVED]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:16 pm

Hi dwalker ,

My previous post covers how to block it regardless of the folder .
Did you try that and still failed?

Regards,
Barb.-

dwalker
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:49 pm

Re: Running Opera on 5.28 always asks for Admin Permission [SOLVED]

Post by dwalker » Sat Mar 23, 2019 4:00 pm

Hi Barb,

When you said: "My previous post covers how to block it regardless of the folder" I was confused a bit. Please let me know if now I have it right.

Under "Blocked File Access (ClosedFilePath) I had put the full path to the file, so it appeared like this:

C:\Program Files\Opera\58.0.3135.107\opera_autoupdate.exe

I did that because when I clicked Add, you are immediately asked you to choose a folder. I had decided the * in your path was an indication to replace the * with the folder path. I did not think the * was meant as a wild card.

So now I have assumed you did mean it as a wild card. So, using Edit I replaced the long path with:

*\opera_autoupdate.exe

Result: so far it appears to be working!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests