Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Special
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:07 pm

Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Special » Tue Jan 09, 2018 4:18 pm

https://www.getpaint.net/download.html#download

paint.net.4.0.20.install.exe

When I try to run this inside of Sandboxie I get this message

Image

I'm clearly on Window 10, fully updated as of today, and use latest Sandboxie version (stable).

https://i.imgur.com/7QOHERI.png and https://i.imgur.com/E2yV6qe.png

Any ideas?

Special
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Special » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:42 pm

To add to this, it wont even run Paint.NET, gives the same error, Paint.NET.4.0.19 worked just fine.

APMichael
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by APMichael » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:16 am

Maybe this is related to the following change in version 4.0.20?
New: .NET Framework 4.7 is now required, and will be automatically installed if needed
Is your installed .NET Framework version 4.7?

Edit: I see you are using Windows 10. The .NET Framework should be up to date then! I can confirm the issue, version 4.0.20 won't run sandboxed and shows the message always.

Special
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Special » Wed Jan 10, 2018 9:28 am

Yeah as you can tell, I'm on Windows 10 so .NET should not be the issue, the installer and Paint.NET it self run fine outside of Sandboxie, and previous versions also ran fine inside Sandboxie, just not this version.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2470
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Jan 10, 2018 12:10 pm

Hello Special,

I can repro the issue and, so far, haven't found a workaround other than installing it on the host and running it Sandboxed.

The latest version I successfully tested can be found here:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24030

I'll update this thread if anything new comes up.

Regards,
Barb.-

windwakr
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:51 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by windwakr » Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:16 pm

Special wrote:
Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:42 pm
To add to this, it wont even run Paint.NET, gives the same error, Paint.NET.4.0.19 worked just fine.
With version 4.0.19 were you able to copy-paste or use the line tools in the sandboxed paint.net? On W7 that results in a crash, as documented here in this two and a half year old problem report. Wonder if it's different on W10.

Special
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Special » Wed Jan 10, 2018 5:22 pm

Not sure about copy/paste but everything as far as I know worked well on 4.0.19 in sandboxie, I've never had it crash on me and I used the thing for hours at a time, probably a hundred hours or so just on that version.

Special
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Special » Mon Feb 19, 2018 1:54 pm

Any update to this yet? Have you found the cause, can we expect a fix in the next version, etc.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2470
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Feb 20, 2018 12:47 pm

Hello Special,

If any new info comes up / a fix is found at some point, we will update this thread.

Regards,
Barb.-

Special
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error.

Post by Special » Sun May 20, 2018 8:05 pm

This was fixed with Beta 5.25.4.

Special
Posts: 60
Joined: Sat Jun 22, 2013 5:07 pm

Re: Cannot run paint.net installer inside Sandboxie... Error. [SOLVED]

Post by Special » Mon May 21, 2018 2:28 pm

What the heck, it doesn't work anymore... I was using it all day yesterday in Sandboxie and it worked fine, today I'm getting the same error as the OP.

EDIT: So you probably want to edit out that [SOLVED] tag because it's not yet solved.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests