COD:BO3 won't work sandboxed

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
stmp
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:45 pm
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada

COD:BO3 won't work sandboxed

Post by stmp » Wed Feb 07, 2018 10:19 pm

Hi everyone,

I've seen more than a few mentions of Call Of Duty:Black Ops 3 in sandboxes. I thought I would try this too. It turns out that it will not run; just pop-up in Sandboxie Control with the following error:
---------------------------------------
BlackOps3.exe - Application error
The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142).
Click OK to close the application.
---------------------------------------
and then close. I was hoping someone could give me some suggestions on what the typical problems are and how to solve them. Please also note that CODBO3 is currently installed outside of the sandbox and works just fine with no special steps taken. My preference is to have the game entirely sandboxed. Thanks very much!

Software Specs:
Windows 10 Home (x64) Version 1709 (build 16299.192)
Sandboxie 5.22 (64bit)
Call of Duty Black Ops 3
Comodo AntiVirus 10.1.0.6476
System Specs:
Windows 10 Home x64 v1709 build 16299.192
LENOVO 80XM Lenovo ideapad 320-17IKB
2.90 GHz Intel Core i7-7500U
16 GB Memory
8.59 TB HDD Capacity
Intel HD Graphics 620 [Display adapter]
Intel Display Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: COD:BO3 won't work sandboxed

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Feb 08, 2018 11:06 am

Hello stmp,

How are you launching the game? Have you tried launching it via its installation folder?
Try removing your antivirus software to see if that makes a difference.

Not all games will run inside a Sandbox, but provide the results or running Resource Access Monitor while reproducing the problem and we'll review the output to see if there's anything we can suggest.
https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessMonitor
Copy/paste the output.
Highlight it and click on the "</>" button to format it in the forums.

And, just to be sure, are you able to launch any other applications in the Sandbox?

Regards,
Barb.-

stmp
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:45 pm
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Re: COD:BO3 won't work sandboxed

Post by stmp » Thu Feb 08, 2018 7:45 pm

Hi Barb,

I usually launch the game thru a shortcut. I have just tried launching it again and now there is no error message at all, no matter how I launch. I know Comodo is a Known Conflict but I have SB exclusions added to Comodo and have never experienced any problems before this. I will try removing it completely to test. Other programs run within the sandbox with no issue.

Here are the results of Resource Access Monitor:

Code: Select all

(Drive)     \Device\CdRom0
(Drive)     \Device\HarddiskVolume13
(Drive)     \Device\HarddiskVolume3
(Drive)     \Device\HarddiskVolume4
(Drive)     \Device\HarddiskVolume7
(Drive)     \Device\HarddiskVolume9
(Drive)     \Device\IsoCdRom0
Clsid       -------------------------------
File/Key    -------------------------------
Image       -------------------------------
Ipc         -------------------------------
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\__ComCatalogCache__
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\{A3BD3259-3E4F-428a-84C8-F0463A9D3EB5}
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\{A64C7F33-DA35-459b-96CA-63B51FB0CDB9}
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\RotHintTable
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\SC_AutoStartComplete
Ipc         \RPC Control\actkernel
Ipc         \RPC Control\epmapper
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\__ComCatalogCache__
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\{A3BD3259-3E4F-428a-84C8-F0463A9D3EB5}
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\{A64C7F33-DA35-459b-96CA-63B51FB0CDB9}
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\ComPlusCOMRegTable
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\LibpadOutput
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\RotHintTable
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_204752
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_876548
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_877684
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_877708
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_RPCSS_SXS_READY
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_DcomLaunch
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_Mutex1
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_RpcEptMapper
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_RpcSs
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SboxSession
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SC_AutoStartComplete
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\ScmCreatedEvent
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:204752:304:WilStaging_02
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:204752:304:WilStaging_02_p0
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:204752:304:WilStaging_02_p0h
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:876548:120:WilError_01
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:876548:120:WilError_01_p0
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:876548:120:WilError_01_p0h
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:876548:304:WilStaging_02
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:876548:304:WilStaging_02_p0
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:876548:304:WilStaging_02_p0h
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:877684:120:WilError_01
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:877684:120:WilError_01_p0
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:877684:120:WilError_01_p0h
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\Steam3Master_SharedMemLock
Ipc         \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\windows_shell_global_counters
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\advapi32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\bcryptPrimitives.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\cfgmgr32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\combase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\CRYPT32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\gdi32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\gdi32full.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\IMM32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\kernel.appcore.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\kernel32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\kernelbase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\MSASN1.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\MSCTF.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\msvcp_win.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\MSVCRT.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\ole32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\OLEAUT32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\powrprof.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\profapi.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\PSAPI.DLL
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\rpcrt4.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\sechost.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\Setupapi.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\SHCORE.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\SHELL32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\SHLWAPI.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\ucrtbase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\user32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\win32u.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\windows.storage.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\WINTRUST.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\WS2_32.dll
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\lsapolicylookup
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\lsasspirpc
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\SbieSvcPort
Ipc      O  \Security\LSA_AUTHENTICATION_INITIALIZED
Ipc      O  \Sessions\7\BaseNamedObjects\DirectSound DllMain mutex (0x00031FD0)
Ipc      O  \Sessions\7\Windows\ApiPort
Ipc      O  \Sessions\7\Windows\SharedSection
Ipc      O  \Sessions\7\Windows\Theme3037268207
Ipc      O  \Sessions\7\Windows\ThemeSection
Ipc      O  \ThemeApiPort
Ipc      O  \Windows\Theme232469358
Pipe        -------------------------------
Pipe        ?
Pipe        \Device\00000047
Pipe        \Device\00000048
Pipe        \Device\0000004d
Pipe        \Device\000000b4
Pipe        \Device\000000b5
Pipe        \Device\000000b6
Pipe        \Device\CNG
Pipe        \Device\KsecDD
Pipe        \Device\Ndis
Pipe        \Device\NDMP10
Pipe        \Device\NDMP11
Pipe        \Device\NDMP12
Pipe        \Device\NDMP13
Pipe        \Device\NDMP14
Pipe        \Device\NDMP15
Pipe        \Device\NDMP16
Pipe        \Device\NDMP5
Pipe        \Device\NDMP6
Pipe        \Device\NDMP7
Pipe        \Device\NDMP8
Pipe        \Device\NDMP9
WinCls      -------------------------------
WinCls   O  Shell_TrayWnd
Looking forward to your observations,
stmp
System Specs:
Windows 10 Home x64 v1709 build 16299.192
LENOVO 80XM Lenovo ideapad 320-17IKB
2.90 GHz Intel Core i7-7500U
16 GB Memory
8.59 TB HDD Capacity
Intel HD Graphics 620 [Display adapter]
Intel Display Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: COD:BO3 won't work sandboxed

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Feb 09, 2018 10:03 am

Hello stmp,

I am not really seeing much in that output. You can try opening the following path (if it doesn't make any difference, please revert the changes):
*\BaseNamedObjects*\Steam3Master*

To open that path go to Configure --> Edit Configuration
Copy paste the following under your desired Sandbox:
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\Steam3Master*
Save, close the file.
Configure --> Reload Configuration
Re-try launching the game.
More info here: https://www.sandboxie.com/OpenIpcPath

Did you try launching the game from the install location, as suggested?
Otherwise, the game may not work in a Sandbox. You can contact their tech support to find out if they are blocking these type of programs.

Regards,
Barb.-

stmp
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2016 8:45 pm
Location: Milton, Ontario, Canada

Re: COD:BO3 won't work sandboxed

Post by stmp » Sat Feb 10, 2018 8:02 pm

Hi Barb,

I tried inserting *\BaseNamedObjects*\Steam3Master* and there was no change. Also, launching from the executable directly made no change either. Comodo AV was removed for testing and COD still failed to run. However, the error message of:
---------------------------------------
BlackOps3.exe - Application error
The application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142).
Click OK to close the application.
---------------------------------------
came back after a reboot and removong Comodo. While I have seen a few attempts of COD-BO3 in sandboxes that doesn't mean success. Perhaps COD:BO3 just doesn't run sandboxed?

Software Specs:
Windows 10 Home (x64) Version 1709 (build 16299.192)
Sandboxie 5.22 (64bit)
Call of Duty Black Ops 3
Comodo AntiVirus 10.1.0.6476 (removed for testing)

Thanks for your help Barb,
stmp
System Specs:
Windows 10 Home x64 v1709 build 16299.192
LENOVO 80XM Lenovo ideapad 320-17IKB
2.90 GHz Intel Core i7-7500U
16 GB Memory
8.59 TB HDD Capacity
Intel HD Graphics 620 [Display adapter]
Intel Display Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests