Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:01 am

Hello lopezgreat,

Please have a look at this thread and provide any input there :
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24879#p130045

Regards,
Barb.-

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Sep 26, 2017 1:49 pm

Regarding AVG and BitDefender:

New templates have been added to beta 5.21.4 to provide support:
viewtopic.php?p=129389#p129389

Regards,
Barb.-

Twatte
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 8:11 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by Twatte » Thu Nov 02, 2017 10:16 am

hi

i read many tips and advices here in the thread and tried them. but they didnt work.
so my problem is: i cant access internet in sandboxie firefox browser. im using kasperky total security 2017 version 17.0.0.611(h).
when i turn off kaspersky, i can access internet in sandboxie browser.
but well... i dont want to turn off my anti virus software (i think thats self explaining, why i dont want to turn it off).

so.. what exactly do i need to do so be able to access internet via sandboxie browser with running kaspersky.

somewhere i read, its kind of a ... ssl certificate problem? i dont really know what this means. but it seems important not to turn off ssl options in kaspersky. so.. not really sure how to solve my problem.

bjm
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by bjm » Mon Nov 06, 2017 12:48 pm

WebrootSA Antivirus 9.0.18.44 + 5.22 continues to feel good with IE, Chrome64bit, Firefox32bit on W10 Home.
[Firefox64bit continues to give grief]
Regards w Respect
Sandboxie 5.26 - W10 Home - WebrootSA - Chrome

bjm
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by bjm » Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:08 pm

Hello Barb@
FWIW - regarding & adding to my prior reported issue with Webroot + Firefox 64-bit [viewtopic.php?p=126772#p126772]
Just tested 5.22 with Waterfox 55.2.1.
Waterfox now uses its own profile location and Waterfox is native 64bit.
I observed exactly the same issue as observed with Firefox 64-bit. So, along with all my earlier testing (reproducing) creating new default Firefox profiles and new default sandboxes.
I've now observed the same with new default Waterfox install.

With Webroot Application Protection at Protect
[https://s7.postimg.org/ky8rkjswr/1789.png]
With Webroot Application Protection at Allow
[https://s7.postimg.org/9ynk92zyj/1790.png]

and interesting (to me) is that Waterfox does not support (out-of-the-box) Webroot Filtering Extension (browser addon).
So, perhaps my Waterfox test reinforces that Webroot Application Protection module at "Protect" [https://s7.postimg.org/v8ve8jifv/1797.png][pic is Firefox 32-bit] does not play with Waterfox\Firefox 64-bit builds.

Or, maybe I've reinforced that my setup simply does not play with Waterfox & Firefox 64-bit builds.
Certainly not a deal breaker. Just a nagging head scratch curiosity.
Regards w Respect
W10 Home + Webroot Antivirus 9.0.18.44
Sandboxie 5.26 - W10 Home - WebrootSA - Chrome

bjm
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by bjm » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:45 pm

adding to by bjm » Fri Nov 17, 2017 5:08 pm [viewtopic.php?f=11&t=21539&p=131176#p131168]
< 64-bit builds (Firefox & Waterfox) seem to want ctfmon.exe > just me?
adding (trying to add) related screenshots with Sandboxie 5.23.1
1805.png
1805.png (3.62 KiB) Viewed 2968 times
1806.png
1806.png (8.45 KiB) Viewed 2968 times
Waterfox Start Run.png
Waterfox Start Run.png (3.74 KiB) Viewed 2968 times
waterfox.exe at Webroot Application Protection >Protect
[https://s7.postimg.org/6q83mxfrf/1807.png]
Sandboxie Control with Protect
[https://s7.postimg.org/4aavmkfa3/1807.png]
waterfox.exe at Weboot Application Protection > Allow
[https://s7.postimg.org/v6q9hfqsr/1807.png]
Sandboxie Control with Allow
[https://s7.postimg.org/duui9ihhn/1807.png]
Webroot Active Processes
[https://s7.postimg.org/74e0zr9nv/1807.png]

Regards w Respect
W10 Home 1607 + Webroot Antivirus 9.0.18.44 + Waterfox 55.2.2(64-bit)
Sandboxie 5.26 - W10 Home - WebrootSA - Chrome

bjm
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by bjm » Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:58 pm

Hello Barb@
Curious, were you able to also reproduce with Waterfox 64-bit and/or Firefox ESR 64-bit my prior reported issue with Webroot + Firefox 64-bit [viewtopic.php?p=126772#p126772]
Thanks
Sandboxie 5.26 - W10 Home - WebrootSA - Chrome

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:55 pm

Hello bjm,

I have not. It is hard to get a trial for Webroot, as their activation codes do not always work (so I ran out of emails to test).
If I get a chance, I'll create another email and give it a go.

Regards,
Barb.-

ZNemesisLabs
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:59 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by ZNemesisLabs » Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:45 pm

Bitdefender Antivirus Free Edition 1.0.10.8 running Chrome 63.0.3239.132 (Official Build) (64-bit) on Windows 10 FCU. Chrome is installed outside the sandbox, and using forced programs to make Chrome run in the sandbox.

Problem: Can't open https websites with non-cached certificates. Chrome says it didn’t send any data. (ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE)

Websites I've visited previously via https work. Opening a non-cached url at a cached domain also works. http-only websites works.
System time is correct.
Problem persists when using a brand new Chrome profile.
Problem persists when Chrome is added as an exception to Bitdefender.
Problem persists when Bitdefender workaround (WriteFilePath) is added.

Disabling Bitdefender, and letting Chrome run inside the sandbox works.
Enabling Bitdefender, and running Chrome outside the sandbox works.


Addendum to previous post: I'm running Sandboxie 5.23.3 (64-bit)

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Jan 17, 2018 2:20 pm

Hello ZNemesisLabs ,

I just finished installing, updating and testing Bitdefender free and I am not able to reproduce the problem .
Does Chrome work for you outside Sandboxie?
Are there any other security programs involved?
Does the problem happen in a new sandbox with default settings?
Regarding the BitDefender template, it should automatically get added to your Sandboxie configuration, no need to make any manual changes.

If all fails, can you please provide the results or running res. Acc. Mon inside a new sandbox? :
Copy/paste the output here, highlight it and then click on the "</>" button to format it.
https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessMonitor

Regards,
Barb.-

ZNemesisLabs
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:59 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by ZNemesisLabs » Thu Jan 18, 2018 7:48 am

Chrome works outside the sandbox.
There are no other security programs (unless you count Veracrypt system encryption)
The problem persists in a new sandbox with default settings.

I launched Resource Monitor with no running programs in any sandbox. I then launched Chrome and navigated to a https website only. The results have too many characters to fit into a forum post, so I have pasted it here: https://pastebin.com/jBgKyNkK

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Jan 18, 2018 4:08 pm

Hello ZNemesisLabs ,

I am not seeing much there and I still cannot repro the issue. However, my version of BitDefender is slightly different: 1.0.9.73 (it claims to be up-to-date). Where can I get the version you are using?
Has BitDefender triggered any detections for Sandboxie? Can you add Sandboxie as an exclusion?
Are all your browsers presenting this behavior in the Sandbox?

Regards,
Barb.-

ZNemesisLabs
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:59 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by ZNemesisLabs » Fri Jan 19, 2018 9:25 pm

BitDefender has not triggered any detections.
Problem persists when adding the Sandboxie directory as an exclusion.
Internet Explorer 11 also has the problem, but Firefox does not.

There's no way, in the free version of Bitdefender to force the update. It happens automatically.
I've reproduced the problem with these steps on my own PC:
  • Uninstalled Bitdefender
  • Reboot PC
  • Installed Bitdefender
  • After installation Bitdefender says it's version 1.0.9.73 on the Protection tab in settings
  • After a couple of minutes, it will say Update finished
  • Note that it still says version 1.0.9.73 with last update time being blank
  • Waited 30 - 60 minutes
  • Note that Update finished has a new timestamp in events tab, and now running 1.0.10.9 with last update timestamp now populated
  • Problem recurs

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Jan 22, 2018 2:32 pm

Hello ZNemesisLabs ,

I have been trying to update it since last week, but I am still on version 1.0.9.73
I'll update this thread if/when I receive the newer version.

Regards,
Barb.-

bjm
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Post by bjm » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:31 pm

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:55 pm
Hello bjm,
I have not. It is hard to get a trial for Webroot, as their activation codes do not always work (so I ran out of emails to test).
If I get a chance, I'll create another email and give it a go.
Regards,
Barb.-
Hello Barb@Invincea,
FWIW ~ I've moved to Firefox 58.0 (64-bit) ....browser.tabs.remote.autostart = true | security.sandbox.content.level = 4 | Content process limit = 1

WebrootSA Antivirus 9.0.19.36 | Webroot Filtering Extension 1.5.0.6 | WebrootSA Application Protection = Protect

Feels okay, at this time ~ I'll monitor.
Regards
Sandboxie 5.26 - W10 Home - WebrootSA - Chrome

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests