Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox [SOLVED]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
JustFax
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:28 am

Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox [SOLVED]

Post by JustFax » Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

My setup:
Windows 10 version 1607 64-bit
Sandboxie version 5.16
Firefox version 52.0.2 32-bit
Microsoft Windows Defender antivirus/antimalware

If I have Firefox set up as my default browser and then click on the "Sandboxed Web Browser" icon, 14 seconds will pass before the sandboxed Firefox window opens up. If I have the Edge browser or the Internet Explorer browser set up as my default browser and then click on the "Sandboxed Web Browser" icon, only 3 seconds will elapse before the sandboxed browser window opens up. I first noticed this problem about 6 weeks ago after installing Malwarebytes, but the problem did not go away after I uninstalled it using both Malwarebytes Uninstall Tool and the Microsoft uninstall facility accessible from the Control Panel. Using Microsoft Task Manager, I do not see any processes running which seem to be attributable to Malwarebytes, and the Autoruns program does not reveal any Malwarebytes startups. I have tried uninstalling and then reinstalling both Firefox and Sandboxie, but that did not fix the problem. The unsandboxed version of Firefox loads in about 2 seconds after I click on its icon. I have another computer with the same software setup as shown above and with the same Firefox Add-ons installed, and this other computer does not have this delayed Firefox-loading problem. Can anyone help me to resolve this problem??

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Apr 03, 2017 5:15 pm

Hello JustFax,

There was a fix for Firefox multiprocess in the latest beta, please give it a go:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... 60&t=23888

If the issue still persists in the beta, try creating a new Sandbox or emptying the contents of your current one.
What addons do you have installed?

Regards,
Barb.-

SolarisGrim
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by SolarisGrim » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:14 am

I found this beta to be significantly faster at flipping/loading pages, nice, thank you :D

JustFax
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:28 am

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by JustFax » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:19 am

Barb@Invincea wrote:Hello JustFax,

There was a fix for Firefox multiprocess in the latest beta, please give it a go:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... 60&t=23888

If the issue still persists in the beta, try creating a new Sandbox or emptying the contents of your current one.
What addons do you have installed?

Regards,
Barb.-
Thank you for your reply, Barb. Following your suggestion, I replaced my SBIE version 5.16 with beta version 5.17.6 (64-bit). However SBIE beta still takes 14 seconds to load my default browser, Firefox version 52.0.2 (32-bit). I regularly empty the contents of my Sandbox, but doing so does not solve my problem.

Here is a list of my Firefox add-ons which are all updated to the latest release:

Extensions:
Adblock Plus
AmazonSmile 1Button for Firefox
BehindTheOverlay
Cisco WebEx Extension
Downloads Window
Element Hiding Helper for Adblock Plus

Plugins:
OpenH264 Video Codec provided by Cisco Systems, Inc.
Shockwave Flash
Widevine Content Decryption Module provided by Google Inc.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:22 am

Hello JustFax,

Can you try disabling your extensions and see if that helps?
Also, create a new Firefox profile to test if it launches faster.

I am not finding anything specific for the extensions that you posted, I will try to test them later on and let you know the results.
-------------------------- X --------------------------
UPDATE:

I tested the following Extensions on Win 10 x64 + FF x86 and SBie 5.17.6:
Adblock Plus
AmazonSmile 1button
BehindTheOverlay
Cisco WebEx Extension
Downloads Window
Element Hiding Helper...

Plugins were also the same.

Firefox launched without delays, do you have a specif home page set up?
Please try a new profile to see if that helps.

Regards,
Barb.-

JustFax
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:28 am

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by JustFax » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:35 am

Barb@Invincea wrote:Hello JustFax,

Can you try disabling your extensions and see if that helps?
Also, create a new Firefox profile to test if it launches faster.

I am not finding anything specific for the extensions that you posted, I will try to test them later on and let you know the results.
-------------------------- X --------------------------
UPDATE:

I tested the following Extensions on Win 10 x64 + FF x86 and SBie 5.17.6:
Adblock Plus
AmazonSmile 1button
BehindTheOverlay
Cisco WebEx Extension
Downloads Window
Element Hiding Helper...

Plugins were also the same.

Firefox launched without delays, do you have a specif home page set up?
Please try a new profile to see if that helps.

Regards,
Barb.-
Hi Barb,

Thanks for your most recent reply. I have my Firefox home page set up to show a blank page. Using the Firefox Profile Manager, I created a new profile, but the 14-second SBIE delay still persists while I am using the new profile. With the new profile, I have the same plug-ins but no extensions. I have to wonder if some remanent of Malwarebytes is targeting the Firefox browser, because the problem started after I installed Malwarebytes, but it did not resolve after I uninstalled it.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:50 am

Hello JustFax,

Check Control Panel for any browser protection or similar features that might have been left behind.
There should also be a tool to fully uninstall Malwarebytes.

I am not sure if we will be able to see much , but can you post the results of your Res. Acc. Monitor?
(Start Res. Acc. Mon, launch Firefox in Sandboxie, then send us the output). Use the "code" button in the forum to format it.
https://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?Res ... essMonitor


Regards,
Barb.-

JustFax
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:28 am

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by JustFax » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:44 pm

Barb@Invincea wrote:Hello JustFax,

Check Control Panel for any browser protection or similar features that might have been left behind.
There should also be a tool to fully uninstall Malwarebytes.

I am not sure if we will be able to see much , but can you post the results of your Res. Acc. Monitor?
(Start Res. Acc. Mon, launch Firefox in Sandboxie, then send us the output). Use the "code" button in the forum to format it.
https://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?Res ... essMonitor


Regards,
Barb.-
Hello Barb,

Thanks again for your latest reply. I did not see anything in the Control Panel/Uninstall section which resembled "browser protection". I have already run Malwarebytes uninstall tool while uninstalling Malwarebytes.

Here is the result of running the Resource Access Monitor with Firefox loaded within SBIE:

Code: Select all

(Drive)     \Device\CdRom0
(Drive)     \Device\HarddiskVolume1
(Drive)     \Device\HarddiskVolume4
Clsid       -------------------------------
Clsid       {BCDE0395-E52F-467C-8E3D-C4579291692E} MMDeviceEnumerator class
Clsid    O  {8BC3F05E-D86B-11D0-A075-00C04FB68820} Windows Management and Instrumentation
File/Key    -------------------------------
Image       -------------------------------
Ipc         -------------------------------
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\__ComCatalogCache__
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\{A3BD3259-3E4F-428a-84C8-F0463A9D3EB5}
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\{A64C7F33-DA35-459b-96CA-63B51FB0CDB9}
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\C:*ProgramData*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*{6AF0698E-D558-4F6E-9B3C-3716689AF493}.2.ver0x0000000000000001.db
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\C:*ProgramData*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*{DDF571F2-BE98-426D-8288-1A9A39C3FDA2}.2.ver0x0000000000000001.db
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\C:*ProgramData*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*cversions.2.ro
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c65
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c67
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c68
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\RotHintTable
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\SC_AutoStartComplete
Ipc         \BaseNamedObjects\windows_shell_global_counters
Ipc         \RPC Control\actkernel
Ipc         \RPC Control\epmapper
Ipc         \RPC Control\LRPC-a582d421551547025e
Ipc         \RPC Control\OLE69BFF0D7F1039D2FB0D6EB4F8A10
Ipc         \RPC Control\OLEA582AE4D09E60A368B7253D3B500
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\__ComCatalogCache__
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\{A3BD3259-3E4F-428a-84C8-F0463A9D3EB5}
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\{A64C7F33-DA35-459b-96CA-63B51FB0CDB9}
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\C:*ProgramData*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*{6AF0698E-D558-4F6E-9B3C-3716689AF493}.2.ver0x0000000000000001.db
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\C:*ProgramData*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*{DDF571F2-BE98-426D-8288-1A9A39C3FDA2}.2.ver0x0000000000000001.db
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\C:*ProgramData*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*cversions.2.ro
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\C:*Users******AppData*Local*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*{AFBF9F1A-8EE8-4C77-AF34-C647E37CA0D9}.1.ver0x00000000000002a4.db
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\C:*Users******AppData*Local*Microsoft*Windows*Caches*cversions.1.ro
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\c7c_dx10
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\c7cS
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\ComPlusCOMRegTable
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\FirefoxStartupMutex
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\HWNDInterface:21160
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\HWNDInterface:4115e
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\HWNDInterface:70036
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c65
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c67
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c68
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\NVSCPAPI_StereoVRR
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\RotHintTable
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_3196
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_8056
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_8092
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_DummyEvent_8128
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_RPCSS_SXS_READY
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_DcomLaunch
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_Mutex1
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_RpcEptMapper
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SBIE_BOXED_ServiceInitComplete_RpcSs
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SboxSession
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SC_AutoStartComplete
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\ScmCreatedEvent
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SessionImmersiveColorMutex
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SessionImmersiveColorPreference
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:8056:120:WilError_01
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:8056:120:WilError_01_p0
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SM0:8056:120:WilError_01_p0h
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\SyncRootManager
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\windows_shell_global_counters
Ipc      O  \BaseNamedObjects\FontCachePort
Ipc      O  \BaseNamedObjects\msctf.serverDefault1
Ipc      O  \KernelObjects\MaximumCommitCondition
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\advapi32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\bcryptPrimitives.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\cfgmgr32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\clbcatq.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\combase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\COMDLG32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\gdi32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\gdi32full.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\IMM32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\kernel.appcore.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\kernel32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\kernelbase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\MSCTF.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\msvcp_win.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\MSVCRT.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\ole32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\OLEAUT32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\powrprof.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\profapi.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\PSAPI.DLL
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\rpcrt4.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\sechost.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\shcore.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\SHELL32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\SHLWAPI.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\ucrtbase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\user32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\win32u.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\windows.storage.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\Wow64.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\Wow64cpu.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\Wow64win.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls\WS2_32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\advapi32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\bcryptPrimitives.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\cfgmgr32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\clbcatq.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\combase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\CRYPT32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\CRYPTBASE.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\gdi32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\gdi32full.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\IMM32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\kernel.appcore.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\kernel32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\kernelbase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\MSASN1.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\MSCTF.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\msvcp_win.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\MSVCRT.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\NSI.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\ole32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\OLEAUT32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\powrprof.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\profapi.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\PSAPI.DLL
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\rpcrt4.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\sechost.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\Setupapi.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\shcore.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\SHELL32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\SHLWAPI.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\SspiCli.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\ucrtbase.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\user32.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\USP10.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\win32u.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\windows.storage.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\WINTRUST.dll
Ipc      O  \KnownDlls32\WS2_32.dll
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\AudioClientRpc
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\Audiosrv
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\DNSResolver
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\lsapolicylookup
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\lsasspirpc
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\SbieSvcPort
Ipc      O  \Security\LSA_AUTHENTICATION_INITIALIZED
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\CicLoadWinStaWinSta0
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\CTF.AsmListCache.FMPDefault1
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\MSCTF.Asm.MutexDefault1
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\MSCTF.CtfMonitorInstMutexDefault1
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\Windows\ApiPort
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\Windows\DwmApiPort
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\Windows\SharedSection
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\Windows\Theme4263655522
Ipc      O  \Sessions\1\Windows\ThemeSection
Ipc      O  \ThemeApiPort
Ipc      O  \Windows\Theme3882186737
Pipe        -------------------------------
Pipe        ?
Pipe        \Device\0000002e
Pipe        \Device\CNG
Pipe        \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Pipe        \Device\HarddiskVolume2
Pipe        \Device\HarddiskVolume4
Pipe        \Device\HarddiskVolume5
Pipe        \Device\KsecDD
Pipe        \Device\MountPointManager
Pipe        \Device\NamedPipe\stereosvrpipe
Pipe        \device\namedpipe\stereosvrpipe
Pipe        \Device\NamedPipe\stereosvrpipe
Pipe        \device\namedpipe\stereosvrpipe
Pipe        \Device\Ndis
Pipe        \Device\NDMP1
Pipe        \Device\NDMP3
Pipe        \Device\NDMP4
Pipe     O  \Device\Afd
Pipe     O  \Device\Nsi
WinCls      -------------------------------
WinCls   O  OleMainThreadWndClass
WinCls   O  Shell_TrayWnd
WinCls   X  ApplicationManager_DesktopShellWindow
WinCls   X  firefoxMessageWindow
WinCls   X  IPTip_Main_Window
I hope this is helpful.

Regards,
JustFax

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:18 pm

Hello JustFax,

I am not sure what these are (might be nvidia VR drivers):
Ipc \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c65
Ipc \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c67
Ipc \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c68
Ipc \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\NVSCPAPI_StereoVRR

Do you have Nvidia VR enabled ? (or Nvidia 3D Vision)
What else is running on the computer?
Was there anything else open inside Sandboxie when you ran the Res Acc Mon (other than Firefox) ?

Regards,
Barb.-

JustFax
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:28 am

Re: Sandboxie takes 14 seconds to load Firefox

Post by JustFax » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:46 pm

Barb@Invincea wrote:Hello JustFax,

I am not sure what these are (might be nvidia VR drivers):
Ipc \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c65
Ipc \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c67
Ipc \BaseNamedObjects\NV0x746f67676c68
Ipc \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\NVSCPAPI_StereoVRR

Do you have Nvidia VR enabled ? (or Nvidia 3D Vision)
What else is running on the computer?
Was there anything else open inside Sandboxie when you ran the Res Acc Mon (other than Firefox) ?

Regards,
Barb.-
Hello Barb,

I have good news. I have located the problem and resolved it. The problem apparently was with the NVIDIA 3D Vision Driver 381.65 which Microsoft had pushed to my computer during one of its automatic updates. When I uninstalled the 381.65 driver, the NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component automatically reinstalled the NVIDIA 3D Vision Driver 376.53. After rebooting, SBIE displayed its Compatibility Window which included the new NVIDIA driver. After that, SBIE now loads Firefox in about 4 seconds instead of 14 seconds as it had been doing.

It's worth noting that when I installed the SBIE beta version at your suggestion back when the problematic NVIDIA 381.65 driver was active, that SBIE's Compatibility Window did not include the NVIDIA 381.65 driver. That omission may quite possibly be at the root of the problem.

By the way, there was nothing other than Firefox running inside SBIE when I ran the Res Acc Mon, and I do not have NVIDIA VR enabled.

Regards,
JustFax

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests