Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE (updated)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:02 am

Edge is not supported, so that tweak was added. That way users who didn't change their default browser (in 10, Edge) would never know... lol http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?KnownConflicts

SBIE will auto load IE instead. This has been the case for several releases now.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE (updated)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:14 pm

If you have a browser that needs to be tested w/i a SB, post here and let me know.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE (updated)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Thu Oct 29, 2015 3:01 pm

CyberFox 64 Bit
Installed fine in SBIE 5.06 in Windows 7, 8.1 & 10 /64

kai
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2013 11:19 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE (updated 10/29)

Post by kai » Sat Nov 07, 2015 4:33 pm

you may install chrome into SBIE by using standalone installer. everything works fine except some streaming flash video wont load (or just keep loading).

majokey
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2014 11:43 am

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE (updated 1/15)

Post by majokey » Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:15 pm

Love the research! Here's my ¢2:

Updated 25-Jan-2016
Vivaldi beta 1.0.344.37 32-bit (Installed inside SB on Win 7/64 works perfectly)
Palemoon 28.8.1 64-bit (Installed inside SB on Win 7/64 works perfectly)
Woolyss Chromium version 49.0.2598.0 64-bit (Installed inside SB on Win 7/64 doesn't work, displays multiple small partial "pictures" of the Chromium tabs, happened in the past with Chrome)
Chromium 50.0.2626.0 32-bit from https://download-chromium.appspot.com, just extracted from ZIP inside SB and run, same behavior.

Craig, this is a report. Not a complaint. I know that you recommend to install directly and just run in Sandboxie. But that defeats one of the important purposes as beautifully depicted here: http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?HowItWorks So I report to help (hopefully) not to bitch.

:-)

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE (updated 1/15)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Mon Jan 25, 2016 5:19 pm

Thanks for the info. While we hope users are able to install program "x" into SBIE directly, that isn't always possible, especially with Win 10.Web browsers however have had a decent track record. Biggest issues is updating them within the SB. That's the most problematic.

cornflake
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 2/10]

Post by cornflake » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:36 pm

I'd prefer if you'd focus your efforts on making sure these browsers can update successfully. I have had Chrome break on me repeatedly in a sandbox, usually because in the background it downloaded an update and so now Sandboxie launches the copy of Chrome in the sandbox (which does not work). Fixing this involves deleting the folder C:\Sandbox\Username\Chrome\drive then I download the new Chrome outside the sandbox and install it. If there was an automated way to make sure I could run Chrome in the sandbox and that it would stay updated without breaking I would like that.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 2/10]

Post by Craig@Invincea » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:03 am

cornflake wrote:I'd prefer if you'd focus your efforts on making sure these browsers can update successfully. I have had Chrome break on me repeatedly in a sandbox, usually because in the background it downloaded an update and so now Sandboxie launches the copy of Chrome in the sandbox (which does not work). Fixing this involves deleting the folder C:\Sandbox\Username\Chrome\drive then I download the new Chrome outside the sandbox and install it. If there was an automated way to make sure I could run Chrome in the sandbox and that it would stay updated without breaking I would like that.
This thread is useful for users that have questions and/or problems with browsers into a sandbox. This is a common question that needs to be addressed. It's a resource.

Oh Actually, it's our recommendation you update browsers outside of the sandbox (Latest 38.6 of Thunderbird as well requires this). Which comes directly from the Dev. That applies to other programs as well, but specifically browsers/TBird.

Of course, then delete the contents of that sandbox before relaunching the updated browser. Otherwise, the cache is the sb from the other previous version will cause problems. Remember, a sb is not designed to be permanent storage.

If you prefer, you can determine the service that FF, Chrome, TBird use and allow direct access to that in SBIE to permit that, edit your .ini and hopefully avoid a service update loop in Chrome/FF that will cause you headaches, but you will also need to have that sb deleted before the update applies to avoid the cache issue.

Building that into SBIE is not something are looking to do, it would create a hole in the SB & adds unneeded code and complexity to a problem that is easily solved otherwise by just updating outside.

We know were we need to focus our efforts. While I give the Devs updates on what I am seeing in the forum & in testing and I defer to them.
Like....
Keeping up w/ browser builds
Windows 10 Builds
Metro / Edge Support
In going Security changes dictated by MS (For Win10 particularly, but applies to other versions)
Office Click 2 Run
.....and other issues just to make sandboxie "work."

Thanks for the concern.

cornflake
Posts: 246
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 5:44 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 2/10]

Post by cornflake » Fri Feb 19, 2016 2:51 pm

Craig@Invincea wrote:Thanks for the concern.
Wow. You're welcome? I guess. Of course I know the long standing position to update outside of the browser, I just thought there must be a better way. I lose time doing the manual updates. When someone tries to start Chrome and sees a hanging page it's not a good experience.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 2/10]

Post by Craig@Invincea » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:20 pm

Updating outside of the sandbox used to work, but as various browsers updated, they started getting more and more picky in a way.

It seemed to first start with Chrome..then FF..and now we're seeing it Tbird. There may be service path that could be opened to allow it, but we're back to punching a hole in the sb.

Once the path is determined, we (or someone that beats us to it) can post it in the forum. I don't see this being added to the code as again at the moment. It could be an option you tick in Application Settings that would be off by default

But again, you have the issue with the "old" version cache being in the sandbox that would have to be cleared and the program will be terminated as a result. So that will add to the complexity in a way.

Ransom
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2016 2:38 am

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 2/10]

Post by Ransom » Sun Mar 20, 2016 5:01 am

Craig@Invincea wrote:Oh Actually, it's our recommendation you update browsers outside of the sandbox (Latest 38.6 of Thunderbird as well requires this). Which comes directly from the Dev. That applies to other programs as well, but specifically browsers/TBird
Why would I want to install Firefox or Thunderbird (I'm using both) into a sandbox anyway? My understanding is that the only exposed directory outside the sandbox are the profiles, plus of course anything you add like "Downloads". I don't see how a malware can exploit that even if it manages to get into the browser cache or related, as I'm forcing these programs to run sandboxed only.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 3/11]

Post by Craig@Invincea » Sun Mar 20, 2016 2:23 pm

Because some users don't want to make permanent changes to their host machine. Thus, installed directly into the sandbox. Many MANY of our users to this with many programs and a temporary installation sandbox to protect their system.


This was originally one of the purposes of SBIE, but as Windows OS moves along and becomes more integrated, that's less possible.

JohnBox
Posts: 79
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2012 8:24 pm

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Post by JohnBox » Wed Jun 15, 2016 5:28 am

Chrome 51.0.2704.84 32-bit installed into SBIE 5.04 64-bit works fine on Win 7 64-bit SP1.

About flash content.
Under URL "chrome://plugins/" one can configure Adobe Flash Player to be either turned on or off.
Checked a few flash videos/streaming and they all worked.

Update in the sandbox naturally does not work.
Every few weeks I delete the sandbox contents, download the latest version of 32-bit Chrome and install it in the same sandbox.
64-bit Chrome won't work at all.
Updating and not being able to run 64-bit Chrome is not a big deal for me.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Post by Craig@Invincea » Wed Jun 15, 2016 8:23 am

JohnBox wrote:Chrome 51.0.2704.84 32-bit installed into SBIE 5.04 64-bit works fine on Win 7 64-bit SP1.

About flash content.
Under URL "chrome://plugins/" one can configure Adobe Flash Player to be either turned on or off.
Checked a few flash videos/streaming and they all worked.

Update in the sandbox naturally does not work.
Every few weeks I delete the sandbox contents, download the latest version of 32-bit Chrome and install it in the same sandbox.
64-bit Chrome won't work at all.
Updating and not being able to run 64-bit Chrome is not a big deal for me.
Please use a current version of SBIE. This is the most likely issue. You're waaaay behind.

Chrome/flash when they update, can also lead the need of updating SBIE. You're very behind in both. Try the beta 5.11.11 or stable 5.10...I'd try the beta. As the thread stated, the tests are done with the latest or very close to the last beta.

ssj100
Posts: 945
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:21 am
Contact:

Re: Installing Browsers Directly Into SBIE [Updated 6/06]

Post by ssj100 » Fri Dec 02, 2016 2:32 pm

Can someone else confirm this issue please?:

Chrome 55 stable (32-bit or 64-bit) isn't able to open internet pages when directly installed into a sandbox. OS = Windows 7 64-bit. Completely fresh install of Windows 7. Sandboxie 5.14. Same issue with Sandboxie 5.15.6.
Sandboxie + SUA + DEP
Windows Firewall + NAT Router
Drive SnapShot (on-demand)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests