Using sandboxie with an external drive [SOLVED]

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
stonerd
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:14 pm

Using sandboxie with an external drive [SOLVED]

Post by stonerd » Thu Jan 07, 2016 4:04 pm

By any chance, is there a way I can create and run sandboxes on an external HDD?

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Using sandboxie with an external drive

Post by Craig@Invincea » Thu Jan 07, 2016 4:46 pm

You can create a portable version via USB.
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?PortableSandbox (old info..)
HowToGeek to create portable apps. http://www.howtogeek.com/186132/how-to- ... ameyo/all/

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Using sandboxie with an external drive

Post by bo.elam » Thu Jan 07, 2016 4:57 pm

Stonerd, also check:

Sandboxie control>Sandbox>Set container folder
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?Sand ... #container

Bo

stonerd
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: Using sandboxie with an external drive

Post by stonerd » Thu Jan 07, 2016 5:48 pm

Wow, as if it was 2 clicks away... I thought I knew that drop down menu well lol
Thank you both very much.

Also, if it's not too much of a burden, could someone let me know if changing the default file path to
" C:\Sandbox\%USER%\%SANDBOX%, I:\Sandbox\%USER%\%SANDBOX% "
Would give me 2 paths, like I'm hoping, or if it's just going to break my installation.

Guest10
Posts: 5134
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Using sandboxie with an external drive

Post by Guest10 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:06 pm

If you want sandboxes on multiple drives, you can leave the Container Folder settings as is, keeping a "Sandbox" folder on the default C drive, and then specify a drive and folder for multiple individual sandboxes like this:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=7817
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

stonerd
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 7:14 pm

Re: Using sandboxie with an external drive

Post by stonerd » Thu Jan 07, 2016 6:30 pm

Guest10 wrote:If you want sandboxes on multiple drives, you can leave the Container Folder settings as is, keeping a "Sandbox" folder on the default C drive, and then specify a drive and folder for multiple individual sandboxes like this:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?t=7817
Wow
I figured that part was outdated since it isn't written in the .ini by default.

Seriously, thank you so much. This has been passively bugging for months lol

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests