Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Antivirus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updates)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Tue Oct 20, 2015 9:50 am

If anyone stumbles upon and AV product that needs testing, we can get around to doing that too.

bjm
Posts: 468
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 4:24 pm

Re: Antivirus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updates)

Post by bjm » Wed Oct 28, 2015 9:31 pm

Webroot Antivirus v9.0.5.8 + SBIE v5.06 play together.
Webroot may not have the user base for you to bother testing.
So, just offering my experience.
Thanks
Sandboxie 5.26 - W10 Home - WebrootSA - Chrome

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Antivirus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updates)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:29 am

Actually, Webroot does have a fairly good base and it receives excellent reviews in testing. I'll give it a go.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Antivirus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updates)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Thu Oct 29, 2015 1:43 pm

I tested WebRoot Anti-Virus on 7, 8.1 and Win 10 (32/64) without any issues. I've added it to the list.

Grenpara
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by Grenpara » Thu Oct 29, 2015 8:59 pm

Hey Guys,

Just a quick note for Kaspersky Users.

You can uninstall 2015 and 2016 and revert to Pure 3 and sandboxie works good with it.
Seem Kaspersky is still working on the bug and they have no update yet I am told.

Hope this helps other Kaspersky users.
Thanks
Gren

Sandlllodan
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 2:42 pm

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by Sandlllodan » Fri Oct 30, 2015 4:16 am

Kaspersky Internet Security 2015 with Sandboxie version 5.06 on Windows 8.1 Pro,Firefox and Internet Explorer works fine here.

i tried to update to Kaspersky Internet Security 2016 but i doesn't work browsers won't start.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Fri Oct 30, 2015 9:05 am

Sandlllodan wrote:Kaspersky Internet Security 2015 with Sandboxie version 5.06 on Windows 8.1 Pro,Firefox and Internet Explorer works fine here.

i tried to update to Kaspersky Internet Security 2016 but i doesn't work browsers won't start.
That seems to mirror what I saw as well. KS, no matter the version, won't work in 10 with SBIE.

However, there has been some success with KS in 7, 8.1 using 2015. 2016 seems to break that.

henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by henryg » Mon Nov 02, 2015 12:27 pm

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr :cry: :evil:
Henry

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:10 pm

Grenpara wrote:Hey Guys,

Just a quick note for Kaspersky Users.

You can uninstall 2015 and 2016 and revert to Pure 3 and sandboxie works good with it.
Seem Kaspersky is still working on the bug and they have no update yet I am told.

Hope this helps other Kaspersky users.
Thanks
Gren
Hoepfully it's a bug, but from what the Devs have seen and how KS interacts with windows, it's very very intrusive and thus it directly conflicts with SBIE. Unless they make some major changes, It won't work with SBIE (at least in Win 10 and KS 2015/16).

hyleaf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:07 am

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by hyleaf » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:40 pm

Surprised to see nobody said anything about this.

I've been running ESET Smart Security 8 (and now 9) since Sandboxie 5 beta (now at 5.06) in my Windows 10 Pro x64 with no problems at all. Seems like ESET plays great with Sandboxie, and also AdGuard (which has some issues with AVs scanning HTTPs traffic).

Count my vote to ESET as one of the best AVs available.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by Craig@Invincea » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:45 pm

Great. Thanks for the feedback.

Dun
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 5:00 am
Location: Poland

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by Dun » Tue Nov 03, 2015 3:55 am

I have similar configuration, but on Win7. The only problem with Adguard and SBIE is parental control https://github.com/AdguardTeam/AdguardF ... issues/296
Sandboxie 5.27.1 personal lifetime license user || Win10 x64 Pro b17134 (up to date) || ESET IS 11+ x64 || Google Chrome 69+ x64 || UAC on

sempusa
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 12:56 pm

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by sempusa » Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:37 am

I can not get SBIE 5.06 to work with Norton Internet Security 22.5.4.24 and Firefox 41.0.2 no matter what I do. I thought I had a temp work around by turning NIS off under the advance settings for their firewall and intrusion protection and then starting SBIE, after FF came up in SBIE, I went back to NIS and turned it all their security back on. This worked a few times and thought I could live with it, but now that doesn't work either. I tried a reload overwrite on SBIE to see if the workaround would start working again but didn't make any diff. Is there any way to get these SW's to play nice with each other?? Norton forum does not respond or seem to care at all.


SBIE 5.06 || NIS 22.5.4.24 || FF 41.0.2

safemist
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 3:15 pm

Re: Anti-Virus|SBIE v5+ (working/not) (Updated 10/29)

Post by safemist » Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:02 pm

There's a thread on this here:

http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... 11&t=21965

Basically Norton is playing up for some configurations with Firefox, and I uninstalled my Norton 360 22.5.4.24 on my Win 8.1 machine, and I now just use Defender and sandboxie because I need firefox.

2rrr
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 5:52 am

Re: Anti-Virus programs SBIE Beta v5 & Win 10 (working/not)

Post by 2rrr » Tue Nov 17, 2015 1:56 am

henryg wrote:
Craig@Invincea wrote:Tested w/ SBIE Beta v5.01.4 and Win10x64 (not installed into a sandbox)(Standard install, standard options/scanning & browser extensions)

NOT Supported
Kaspersky Internet 2015
What will this mean to me as a long term KIS user; and have you tested 2016 which I believe is a beta but is available now?

This is one of the main and best a-v programs. You HAVE to get Sandboxe working with it somehow IMO.
I agreed +1.

Dear Craig@Invincea, hope you can consider it. Look forward update from your end.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 17 guests