Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

If it doesn't fit elsewhere, it goes here
Fordefy
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Fordefy » Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:37 pm

Craig@Invincea wrote:
Fordefy wrote:I just uninstalled Avast completely (Safemode + uninstall + restarts), Firefox still doesn't open sandboxed. Literally every other program opens sandboxed.
I would suggest run the Procmon so we can take a peek..

Yeah I'm doing that as we speak. Although, the list of apps you requested won't be useful since not only does it not complete (It has maybe 30% of what I have installed) but also it literally has maybe 35 things on that list and 20 of them are "Microsoft Office ..." So I'll do the procmon

Fordefy
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Fordefy » Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:04 pm

Just sent in the process monitor file with a link to this thread.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Craig@Invincea » Thu Oct 29, 2015 5:32 pm

Also, how is firefox installed? Inside of SBIE or are you just "running it" as sandboxed?

Fordefy
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Fordefy » Thu Oct 29, 2015 6:20 pm

Craig@Invincea wrote:Also, how is firefox installed? Inside of SBIE or are you just "running it" as sandboxed?
Installed normally on my SSD and just running the process sandboxed. Nothing special, No VM's or anything.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Craig@Invincea » Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:00 pm

Fordefy wrote:
Craig@Invincea wrote:Also, how is firefox installed? Inside of SBIE or are you just "running it" as sandboxed?
Installed normally on my SSD and just running the process sandboxed. Nothing special, No VM's or anything.
no, is it installed directly into Sandboxie? As opposed to directly into Windows?

Fordefy
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Fordefy » Fri Oct 30, 2015 12:15 pm

Craig@Invincea wrote:
Fordefy wrote:
Craig@Invincea wrote:Also, how is firefox installed? Inside of SBIE or are you just "running it" as sandboxed?
Installed normally on my SSD and just running the process sandboxed. Nothing special, No VM's or anything.
no, is it installed directly into Sandboxie? As opposed to directly into Windows?
No it's installed directly into windows.

Arie5
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2014 8:47 am

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Arie5 » Mon Nov 02, 2015 1:34 pm

Same symptoms here running Windows 7 and Firefox ESR 38.3.0. Sometimes Firefox starts up is it should do (is visible in sandbox environment). It seems the chance is bigger when I first start Sandboxed Internet Explorer. Timing issue?

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Craig@Invincea » Mon Nov 02, 2015 2:03 pm

Arie5 wrote:Same symptoms here running Windows 7 and Firefox ESR 38.3.0. Sometimes Firefox starts up is it should do (is visible in sandbox environment). It seems the chance is bigger when I first start Sandboxed Internet Explorer. Timing issue?
Make sure your Sandbox contents have been deleted. Then try again, if issue persists, then follow the steps to send us a ProcMon report as we're not able to recreate the issue.
Antivirus?
Any errors?

You can use procmon and post the results to us. To this email.

Get procmon here (free) https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sys ... 96645.aspx

Step #1
Close any programs that are not needed.
Run Procom (not sandboxed)
and then try and fire up FireFox (or the browser causing issues) (sandboxed of course).
Let the error happen/not load/etc
stop capturing events in Procmon (under file)
then Save the results (under file, make sure "save all events it ticked") and
save in PML format.
These files can be large, so post somewhere we can download and look (link)
OR (Please zip them!) and send to Support@sandboxie.com

Step #2: Also, if you can give us a snapshot of your installed software by opening Power Shell (as admin) and type:

Get-WmiObject -Class Win32_Product | Select-Object -Property Name > C:\Software\PCapps.txt

The PCapps.txt will be created listing your software, file you can send to us as well as the PML

Fordefy
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Fordefy » Tue Nov 03, 2015 8:15 pm

Firefox still does not work. Other variations of firefox (Like Palemoon do work though. So it's something specific with Firefox). Also how do I fix my second issue which I posted about? Eraser command:

"C:\Program Files\Eraser\Eraser.exe" erase /quiet /method=bf8ba267-231a-4085-9bf9-204de65a6641 dir="%SANDBOX%"

will not work. It says "The requested operation requires elevation (740)". I can fix this by running Sandboxie control as admin manually but with it auto starting with windows, it won't execute the command.

Curt@invincea
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Posts: 1666
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Curt@invincea » Wed Nov 04, 2015 12:26 pm

Have you tried setting eraser to always run as admin?

Fordefy
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Fordefy » Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:13 pm

Curt@invincea wrote:Have you tried setting eraser to always run as admin?
Yes. Eraser is always set to run as admin, it also starts with windows.

Sandboxie on the other hand, although the service starts with windows, the "Sandboxie control" doesn't (ie: It's not in the notification area). Now if I open up a program sandboxied, it opens but when I go to delete the contents of the sandbox it gives me the "Requires elevation permissions" error. (Keep in mind, I have sandboxie checked to start with windows and it's supposed to start in administrator mode)

The only way the problem goes away is if I:

a) manually open sandboxie control as admin mode (Right click > Open as administrator)

b) Close the sandboxie control that opens indirectly when opening a sandboxed browser and I manually open as in option (a)

So I guess that's two problems.

1) Sandboxie control doesn't start with windows (I've tried, unchecking and rechecking the "start with windows" option in the shell integration menu)

2) When Sandboxie control is started indirectly (Via opening a sandboxied program/or browser in my case) it doesn't start as administrator.

ghcooper
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 9:41 pm

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by ghcooper » Thu Jan 21, 2016 9:55 pm

I have had luck by right clicking on the Sandboxie Icon and selecting "Run as administrator". Then the message from user account control comes up "Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your PC?" Click yes. Sometimes I have to repeat the process several times. Eventually Firefox opens sandboxed. Coop

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Firefox not "visible" with sandboxie.

Post by Craig@Invincea » Fri Jan 22, 2016 7:51 am

ghcooper wrote:I have had luck by right clicking on the Sandboxie Icon and selecting "Run as administrator". Then the message from user account control comes up "Do you want to allow this app to make changes to your PC?" Click yes. Sometimes I have to repeat the process several times. Eventually Firefox opens sandboxed. Coop
Well, you're running as a elevated user then. So it's a totally different process.

When we see this issue, I'd usually say...clean out your sb first. Disable any add ons / extensions.

Are you running A/V ....antimalware?

I'd also urge you to try the Beta v5.07 version.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests