[.06] Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 incompatibility

Listing issues addressed in beta version 4.05
Locked
henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

[.06] Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 incompatibility

Post by henryg » Wed Aug 14, 2013 1:05 pm

I have just installed KIS2014 and cannot run Firefox 24b2 or IE10 even if protection is disabled. SBIE2205 Service Not Implemented: Win24Init.4 (C0000008) error message.

I tried turning off individual monitoring components, ending up with all disabled, but it made no difference. I also tried both full and reduced rights sandboxes to no avail. Yet when I clicked on something within KIS that redirects to the web, it happily opened [edit - Firefox] in a reduced-rights sandbox. Go figure!

I am going back to an image with KIS2013 so will not be able to add anything more to this.

Sandboxie 4.05.05 64 bit; KIS 2014; Win 7 Pro 64 bit
Last edited by henryg on Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Henry

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:31 pm

Can you double check that you're really using version 4.05.05 ?

I fixed the problem SBIE2205 Service not implemented: Win32Init.4 (C0000008) in version 4.05.01:

http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=15968

It is possible that a later build of Kaspersky 2014 caused the problem to reappear,
but first I would like to make sure that you were really using version 4.05.05 at the time.
tzuk

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 incompatibility - URGEN

Post by bo.elam » Wed Aug 14, 2013 2:55 pm

henryg wrote:I have just installed KIS2014 and cannot run Firefox 24b2
For what is worth, I installed Firefox 26.0a1 a few days ago in a sandbox and it ran very well sandboxed. I even spend a couple of hours in Youtube. No issues at all using 4.05.04 (at the time) in my XP.

http://people.mozilla.org/~jwein/ux-nightly/

Bo

henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Post by henryg » Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:26 pm

tzuk wrote:Can you double check that you're really using version 4.05.05 ?

I fixed the problem SBIE2205 Service not implemented: Win32Init.4 (C0000008) in version 4.05.01:

http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=15968

It is possible that a later build of Kaspersky 2014 caused the problem to reappear,
but first I would like to make sure that you were really using version 4.05.05 at the time.
Definitely using 4.05.05, and I think the KIS build was 14.0.0.4651. I am now back using KIS 2013 with 4.05.05 and with no problems as before.

I would like to use KIS2014 as it is said to offer speed improvements and I found the interface better, but given a choice of KIS2014 or Sandboxie, then there is no choice!
Henry

henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: Kaspersky Internet Security 2014 incompatibility - URGEN

Post by henryg » Wed Aug 14, 2013 5:31 pm

bo.elam wrote:For what is worth, I installed Firefox 26.0a1 a few days ago in a sandbox and it ran very well sandboxed. I even spend a couple of hours in Youtube. No issues at all using 4.05.04 (at the time) in my XP.

Bo
The problem lies with KIS2014 and Sandboxie, not Firefox and Sandboxie. IE didn't work either. I think Kaspersky break something in Sandboxie every time they bring out a new version - a cynic might consider the possibility it is because they offer(ed?) their own (inferior IMO) sandboxing.
Henry

roaringmouse
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:40 pm

Sandboxie & KIS 14.0.0.4651(a)

Post by roaringmouse » Thu Aug 15, 2013 8:46 am

I'm getting the SBIE2205 Service Not Implemented: Win32Init.4 (C0000008) error message running KIS 14.0.0.4651(a) with Sandboxie 4.05.05 (64-bit).

I then get an iexplorer.exe - Application Error

The instruction at 0x6ffa33ef referenced memory at 0x6ffa33ef. The
memory could not be written.

Click OK to terminate the program.

BTW, I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 64-Bit w/6GB RAM

Jeff

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:58 am

Installed Kaspersky 2014 version 14.0.0.4651 on 64-bit Windows 7 but I am not seeing the problem.

I would like to ask you to try something. Please run Process Explorer, press Ctrl+F (it's the Find menu),
and enter swmon in the search box. What results do you get?
tzuk

henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Post by henryg » Thu Aug 15, 2013 1:57 pm

tzuk wrote:Installed Kaspersky 2014 version 14.0.0.4651 on 64-bit Windows 7 but I am not seeing the problem.

I would like to ask you to try something. Please run Process Explorer, press Ctrl+F (it's the Find menu),
and enter swmon in the search box. What results do you get?
I don't have KIS2014 installed any more; Roaringmouse can you do this? If not I will take a fresh image, and download and reinstall KIS2014.
Henry

roaringmouse
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by roaringmouse » Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:45 pm

tzuk wrote:Installed Kaspersky 2014 version 14.0.0.4651 on 64-bit Windows 7 but I am not seeing the problem.

I would like to ask you to try something. Please run Process Explorer, press Ctrl+F (it's the Find menu),
and enter swmon in the search box. What results do you get?
I'm running KIS 14.0.0.4651(a)

This is what I get:
Process PID Type Name
iexplorer.exe 6016 File \Device\swmon_dt_010014_KL1
iexplorer.exe 6360 File \Device\swmon_dt_010014_KL1
procexp.exe 7984 File \Device\swmon_dt_010014_KL1

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Fri Aug 16, 2013 2:47 am

Thanks for checking roaringmouse. On my computer I am getting something a bit different and that affected the compatibility workaround I put in place for Kaspersky. Next version 4.05.06 should take care of this issue. I will release it next week.
tzuk

henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Post by henryg » Fri Aug 16, 2013 3:27 am

Excellent news, thanks Tzuk :D
Henry

br33n
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 8:36 pm

Post by br33n » Sun Aug 18, 2013 11:26 pm

Waterfox seems to work for me

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Aug 19, 2013 9:29 am

Please try version 4.05.06, I hope it will fix your problem.
tzuk

roaringmouse
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 7:40 pm

Post by roaringmouse » Mon Aug 19, 2013 5:48 pm

tzuk wrote:Please try version 4.05.06, I hope it will fix your problem.
That seems to have fixed my problem.

Thank you very much. I felt naked surfing without Sandboxie :lol:

henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Post by henryg » Tue Aug 20, 2013 4:54 am

Only tested with Firefox so far, but 4.05.06 seems to have done the trick here too.

Thanks a lot
Henry

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest