[.01] The application was unable to start correctly

Listing issues addressed in beta version 4.05
tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Jul 18, 2013 7:48 am

Thank you for the reminder PeterPan. In version 4.05.01, Sandboxie warns about compatibility issues with avast and BitDefender and the Known Conflicts page describes the settings in avast and BitDefender that have to be changed to resolve this.
tzuk

InTheMood
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:31 pm

Post by InTheMood » Fri Jul 19, 2013 7:37 am

Does that mean that we have to "compromise" system security when upgrading from Sandboxie 3.76 to 4.0x?

Keep in mind that lowering the system security level affects all programs, not just those running in Sandboxie.

For now, I am sticking with 3.76.
Harry

Triage

Post by Triage » Fri Jul 19, 2013 3:31 pm

Well, i just realized that Avast Antivirus was the culprit on my side too, as reported by Zeff.

Im currently running the latest version of Sandboxie (4.04) and removing Avast resolved the issue. I will try disabling of the behavior shield as recommended.

Thanks.

InTheMood
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:31 pm

Post by InTheMood » Sat Jul 20, 2013 8:03 am

Some more testing/info:

I did the following:
1) I set Avast! Behavior Shield "ON" for all suspicious behavior including "Monitor the system for unauthorized modifications". (This is the default setting).
2) In Avast! Behavior Shield Settings I added Website-Watcher to the "Trusted processes" list.

Now WW works in Sandboxie 4.04.

My Conclusion:
Avast! thinks that Website-Watcher is trying to make an "unauthorized modification" when initialized by Sandboxie.

Questions:
1) Is this safe to do?
2) Is the "unauthorized modification" going to take place in the real system or in the Sandboxie sandbox?
Harry

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Sun Jul 21, 2013 3:58 am

The unauthorized modification is probably the way Sandboxie 4 itself is trying to modify the program in the sandbox to take control over it.
And not something malicious that program in the sandbox is trying to do.
tzuk

InTheMood
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:31 pm

Post by InTheMood » Wed Jul 24, 2013 8:25 pm

So, what is the status of this problem?
Is the solution to permanently tweak Avast!?
Is there going to be a fix in Sandboxie?
Harry

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Jul 25, 2013 9:12 am

I think the incompatibility comes from the avast behavior monitor which doesn't like what Sandboxie is doing, and this is not something that I can fix in Sandboxie.
tzuk

InTheMood
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:31 pm

Post by InTheMood » Thu Jul 25, 2013 8:41 pm

I reported the problem to Avast! support via their Forum.

You can follow this topic at:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=130925.0
Harry

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Fri Jul 26, 2013 3:17 am

Thanks.
tzuk

InTheMood
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:31 pm

Post by InTheMood » Fri Aug 02, 2013 9:05 pm

I received an email response from Avast! support.

Their response: "Thank you for your report. Only solution is to add the application to "Trusted processes" list in Avast! Behavior Shield Settings as you mentioned. We will pass this report to our QA team. We are sorry for your inconvenience."

So, it looks like this problem will take a long time to fix, if ever.

Meanwhile, I found another application that has the same problem. It is AceMoney Lite from http://www.mechcad.net/.
Harry

blugene05@gmail.com

the application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142)

Post by blugene05@gmail.com » Tue Sep 17, 2013 4:06 am

I was already upgrade my laptop to windows 8.1 preview 64-bit:

The Application was unable to start correctly (0xc0000142)

I have this only one error when was start my cad application autodesk inventor pro 2014,
already successfully during installation the software.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests