Choose Default Programs (Web Browser, Explorer, ...)

Ideas for enhancements to the software
Post Reply
pmalesze
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:26 am
Location: Switzerland

Choose Default Programs (Web Browser, Explorer, ...)

Post by pmalesze » Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:49 am

I have Internet Explorer as my Default Browser.

I've set Firefox as the default browser inside one of my Sandboxes. So if I open an url shortcut inside of this sanbox, Firefox is opened by default.

But when I start a sandboxed web broser with "Run Sandboxed -> Run Web Broser" in this Sandbox, Internet Explorer starts instead of Firefox.

It would be nice to be able to set the default programs for each Sandboxes (or for all) for : Web Browser, Email Reader and even for Windows Explorer.

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Wed Feb 25, 2009 4:37 pm

I know about this, the reason is (obviously) that "Run Web Browser" first checks what is the Web browser and then goes sandboxed. If it was the other way around, this would not be a problem. However, it is rarely a concern so I'm not sure I'll fix it. An easy workaround for you is to use Sandboxie Control > Configure menu > Windows Shell Integration > Add Shortcut Icons and create a shortcut to run your sandboxed Firefox. Then use this shortcut instead of "Run Web Browser".
tzuk

pmalesze
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 7:26 am
Location: Switzerland

Default Programs

Post by pmalesze » Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:24 am

It's effectively not important and the workaround is ok.

I was thinking of a line in the ini file that will overide the check of the default web browser, email reader or Windows Explorer, something like "WebBrowser=...", "EmailClient=..." and "WindowsExploer=..." or "DefaultWebBrowser=...", "DefaultEmailClient=..." and "DefaultWindowsExplorer=..."

but I understand that's it's not really a need.

Thx.

dvavasour
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:11 am

Post by dvavasour » Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:16 am

tzuk wrote:I know about this, the reason is (obviously) that "Run Web Browser" first checks what is the Web browser and then goes sandboxed. If it was the other way around, this would not be a problem. However, it is rarely a concern so I'm not sure I'll fix it. An easy workaround for you is to use Sandboxie Control > Configure menu > Windows Shell Integration > Add Shortcut Icons and create a shortcut to run your sandboxed Firefox. Then use this shortcut instead of "Run Web Browser".
If it's not too difficult, then it would be handy to be able to do this. Starting a browser by hand is easy enough, but when applications running in a sandbox pick up the default browser, one is stuck with the unsandboxed default.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests