Sandboxie Hotkeys?

Ideas for enhancements to the software
Post Reply
SnDPhoenix
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Sandboxie Hotkeys?

Post by SnDPhoenix » Sat May 03, 2008 5:10 am

Alright, here is my quick request. Nothing big and it wont take that long to explain, so it'll be real quick.

One of the things I've always wanted to see, is a hotkey for the "Terminate running processes" command.

Why, cause lots of times, you will have run a program which for some reason prevents you from being able to get to the menu to terminate running processes. Maybe it hides your mouse, or it makes the screen look weird, or you are getting windows popping up everywhere, or the process in question is slowing down your pc so much that it just makes accessing windows with the mouse nearly impossible.

Well this way, you just hit the hotkey and BAM, all processes terminated.

Now I know alot of people are (or aren't) thinking "Oh sure thats great, but one, you would have to use whichever hotkey tzuks decides on which might conflict with one of my existing hotkeys. Or two, thats great, but it is going to terminate all the processes in ALL sandboxes which would suck..."

Ok well then how about the ability to specify your own hotkey for the "Terminate running programs" command, in each sandbox?
Maybe in the sandbox settings window, for each sandbox, have a "Hotkeys" section that allows you to assign your own hotkeys for each Sandboxie command (Quick recovery, Delete contents, Run Sandboxed -> Web browser, etc..) in each sandbox?

Something to think about... :roll:

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Sat May 03, 2008 6:18 am

I think I was planning on adding hotkeys at some point. Until then,

Create a shortcut to Sandboxie Start.exe to terminate all programs or only those in a particular sandbox:
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?Star ... dLine#stop

Then assign it a keyboard shortcut key as explained in:
http://www.sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=2457

(As a side note, I've just noticed that "Start.exe /box:__ask__ /terminate" does not work as expected so I will take care of that.)
tzuk

SnDPhoenix
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Post by SnDPhoenix » Sat May 03, 2008 6:20 am

Hey thanks tzuk, that'll do til then. :)

UPieper
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:07 am

Post by UPieper » Sun Dec 20, 2009 4:05 am

I'd like to second that request. I just have installed Tuneup 2010 in a sandbox and the whole system became unresponsive. I tried to invoke the menu via the tray in order to terminate all programs but after 15 min I gave up and did a hard-reset. So, a built in hotkey for terminating all running processes would be great!

raidsme

Post by raidsme » Thu Dec 31, 2009 4:07 am

I'd like to third the request. An instant kill hotkey would be very nice. Configurable per sandbox.. :)

Dave_Scream
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 8:33 am
Contact:

Post by Dave_Scream » Thu Oct 11, 2012 3:54 am

Im using Sandbox on my work. For hidden install and use of not allowed by corporative laws software.

When my boss comein, it good to have some hotkey to fast kill all illegal software.
---
allright
Start.exe /box:__ask__ /terminate - works
so just add hotkey to Start.exe /box:<sandboxname> /terminate
---
does start.exe have function to suspend but not /terminate? /suspend to suspend processes in sandbox

BoredNow
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:49 pm

Post by BoredNow » Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:49 pm

This is not a priority, but I would also like to ask for a way to shut down Sandboxie cold...with no confirmation screens.

If you've ever been hit with a screenlocker ransomeware it would really come in handy...otherwise, you have to resort to a 'hard-boot'.

Anyway, it's not a priority, I just wanted to chime-in.

Thanks
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
SandboxIE 5.2.1.2

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:45 am

I have an idea how this type of program locks the keyboard, so I would prefer to be able to detect this and abort the program.
I have to say that for my part, it is also not a priority, but I would like to be able to address this issue some day.
tzuk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests