Block resolution changes

Ideas for enhancements to the software
Post Reply
LoluJaafJofe
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:54 am

Block resolution changes

Post by LoluJaafJofe » Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:57 am

I have a few applications sandboxed that run in fullscreen and changes the desktop resolution. But on exit they won't change it back.
I don't know if they aren't allowed to do that or if they are simply stupid coded and just don't do it.

But I would like to ask for an option to prevent sandboxed apps from changing desktop resolution.
Additionally an option to prevent fullscreen.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2675
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Block resolution changes

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:03 am

Hello LoluJaafJofe ,

Do the applications work fine outside Sandboxie?
Have you tried setting the apps to run in Windowed mode, or changing options via Compatibility Mode?

If you provide your OS, Antivirus, Sandboxie and Applications versions , I might be able to test them.

Regards,
Barb.-

LoluJaafJofe
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Block resolution changes

Post by LoluJaafJofe » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:38 pm

Some older games do that (I have to download a no cd patch because the DRM is not Windows 10 compatible).
For example Zoo Tycoon. But also legal games from GOG can change the resolution.

This is annoying because once the resolution changed also all Windows outside of the sandboxed got changed and I don't really know why any sandboxed application should have permision to perform a resolution change outside of sandbox.
There should be an option or a way to prevent sandboxed appliations from doing so.

But it should be easily to reproduce. All you need is to download any software that changes the resolution whether a game or a software it doesn't matter. Run it sandboxed and let it change the resolution.

LoluJaafJofe
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:54 am

Re: Block resolution changes

Post by LoluJaafJofe » Thu May 04, 2017 11:57 am

Another reason is that when the sandnboxed application crashes it also does not reset the resolution.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2675
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Block resolution changes

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu May 04, 2017 12:08 pm

UPDATE:

The devs have provided the following information:
"This is by design. There is only 1 screen res. at a time. If screen res. is blocked, then most games will not work in sandbox."

-------------------------------------------------------- X --------------------------------------------------------
Hello LoluJaafJofe,

If the application crashes outside Sandboxie, does the resolution change ? What is the exact behavior on the host ?
If you provide your OS, Antivirus, Sandboxie and name of the applications that crash , I will test them.

Did you try changing the settings as I suggested before? Right-click on the program --> Properties ---> Compatibility

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest