Set container folder for individual sandboxes

Ideas for enhancements to the software
Post Reply
temetnvince

Set container folder for individual sandboxes

Post by temetnvince » Thu Oct 06, 2011 2:59 pm

How difficult would it be to implement a feature for choosing the sandbox container folder for individual sandboxes instead of only for all sandboxes?

If I have 2 hard drives of the same size, and my primary hard drive is full with sandbox programs, but I want to add, say, a huge game to a sandbox, I could simply set that sandbox's container location to the new hard drive and leave all my other sandboxes on my primary hard drive.

Make sense?

D1G1T@L
Posts: 577
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: DefaultBox

Post by D1G1T@L » Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:16 pm

Hmm sounds interesting.

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Oct 06, 2011 3:33 pm

This is possible, but there is no GUI configuration for this (yet), so you need to manually edit Sandboxie.ini. I will refer you to one of Guest10's posts about it.

http://sandboxie.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?p=51094#51094
tzuk

temetvince

Post by temetvince » Thu Oct 06, 2011 6:57 pm

Thanks! So if it's already implemented, does that mean it will one day be in the gui?

D1G1T@L
Posts: 577
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2011 7:40 pm
Location: DefaultBox

Post by D1G1T@L » Thu Oct 06, 2011 7:10 pm

tzuk wrote:(yet)
I'm guessing yes :)

shawndion
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:41 pm

Post by shawndion » Mon Oct 10, 2011 5:32 am

Question: Does the line to change the container have to be in a specific area of Sandboxie.ini if not I'll add it to the SBTool function I'm working on.. (I already have the insert script available for something else in the module)

Let me know I'll be glad to add it to the tool.

Shawn

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:30 am

The FileRootPath setting that appears in [GlobalSettings] section applies to all sandboxes, but if a particular sandbox section also contains the FileRootPath setting, then it overrides the one from [GlobalSettings].

This rule actually works the same for most settings, although not all of them.
tzuk

shawndion
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 1:41 pm

Post by shawndion » Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:34 am

Perfect I'll add-it to my dos utility program which also reminds me I'll add a extra tool in it to backup the Sandboxie.ini file.

Thanks for the fast Info.

Shawn

sbstn

Post by sbstn » Sun Nov 10, 2013 8:55 am

This post is years ago and this feature isn't implemented in the sandboxie guy. Is it coming? I need it, please.

Mr.X
Posts: 583
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:34 am
Location: Mexico

Re: Set container folder for individual sandboxes

Post by Mr.X » Wed Dec 24, 2014 12:54 pm

Agreed. This feature in the main gui is needed.
Windows 8.1 x64/x86 EN | Sandboxie latest beta or stable | All software latest versions unless stated otherwise

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests