proxified internet access

Ideas for enhancements to the software
Post Reply
street011
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:08 pm

proxified internet access

Post by street011 » Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:30 am

Is it possible to create a setting in sandboxie for a (socks) proxy, that all programs use as default way to access the network/internet?

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Wed Feb 21, 2007 2:55 pm

There is a planned feature to import a registry .REG file on sandbox creation, will this indirectly be a solution to what you want?
tzuk

street011
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:08 pm

Post by street011 » Wed Feb 21, 2007 4:36 pm

if that registry file/entry routes all internet traffic through the specified proxy it is :)

it should be possible to do right now too right?
can you help me out?

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:03 am

I really don't understand what you mean.

I was saying, if this proxy re-routing that you want to have, if this is something that is configurable via the registry.

If so then I am suggesting that in a future version, Sandboxie will be able to automatically apply registry settings from a .REG file into the sandbox.
tzuk

street011
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:08 pm

Post by street011 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

i see i see...

well i'm using tor or other proxies some times, but i hate to change settings all the time, would be nice if i could put a setting in sandboxie (eg: SocksProxy=127.0.0.1:9050) then sandboxie would make sure all internet access from every program that runs inside is going through that proxie instead of a direct connection.

i have no clue if that's possible with registry settings, i'm not that familiar with the internal workings of windows... but maybe it's just a simple (registry?) setting related to internet explorer (at least i know i need to run IE once on my pc for other programs to recognize an internet connection at all, for example firefox won't work,at least on my pc, unless i ran IE once after clean windows install)

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:51 am

Once I create the feature to auto-import registry settings, I'm sure finding the specific IE (or Firefox or whatever) registry setting will be fairly easy.

(That is, if the browser app is configurable through the registry, which in most cases, I suppose it would be.)
tzuk

street011
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:08 pm

Post by street011 » Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:44 am

actualy i'm looking for a way to make the proxie default for all applications running inside the sandbox, not only the browser.

maybe there's a fairly easy way to make that option in the sandbox config?

i hope you understand what i mean.

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Feb 22, 2007 1:27 pm

I think we just went back to the beginning.
tzuk

street011
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:08 pm

Post by street011 » Fri Feb 23, 2007 5:00 am

tzuk wrote:I think we just went back to the beginning.
i'm sorry if i don't understand what you're saying correctly,

you're saying that all traffic from sandboxed programs can be routed through the proxy by changing one 'simple' setting in the sandbox-registry that affects all applications in the box?
independant from the program settings itsself?

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:50 am

No, no ... I was saying that I'm going to make it possible to ask Sandboxie:

Every time a sandbox is created (for example after deletion), then please automatically import these registry (.REG) files into the sandbox.

Then it's going to be to up to you to figure out how your particular software of choice (proxy, whatever) can be configured to behave in the sandbox in the way you want it. Then export that configuration to a .REG file. It's very easy with RegEdit once you know what to export.

And you could have Sandboxie automatically apply these settings for you.

So in a way it's going to be a solution to what you want -- to not having to configure manually -- but I'm only going to give a generic way to do this, and you're going to have to fill in the details.

Now ok?
tzuk

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Fri Feb 23, 2007 2:07 pm

Okay, this is possible now with version 2.78.9, if you want to give it a try.
tzuk

street011
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:08 pm

Post by street011 » Fri Feb 23, 2007 3:00 pm

yes i read it :)

tried it, but... didn't work...
all i could find was:

Code: Select all

REGEDIT4
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings] 
"ProxyServer"="127.0.0.1:9050" 
"ProxyEnable"=dword:00000001
but it didn't work :(

maybe somebody else on this forum can help me out here :)

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Sat Feb 24, 2007 9:09 am

For me that worked just fine. I copy-pasted your lines exactly into c:\proxy.reg and added:

Code: Select all

AutoImportReg=c:\proxy.reg
And then I started sandboxed IE, and it caused the proxy configuration to change to 127.0.0.1:9050. I also couldn't browse anymore (I don't have a proxy server on port 9050), so I assume it actually does work.

Did you save the .reg file as Unicode? You have to, otherwise regedit silently ignores it.
tzuk

street011
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Jan 16, 2007 2:08 pm

Post by street011 » Sat Feb 24, 2007 9:14 am

tzuk, indeed that works for internet exploiter, but not for all the other programs im running sandboxed (except for msn, it takes the settings from IE).

but my mirc and firefox just refuse to even take a look at general internet settings and access the web directly

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Tue Feb 27, 2007 3:49 pm

So I revised the setting that it may be more versatile.

It's now AutoExec and can run any program as part of sandbox customization.

You can still import registry:

Code: Select all

AutoExec=regedit /s c:\proxy.reg
But you can also prepare other configuration files, for example:

Code: Select all

AutoExec=cmd /c copy c:\ProxifiedFirefox\firefox.conf "%Appdata%\Mozilla\Firefox\profiles\YourProfile.default\FirefoxConfigurationFile.ini"
You just need to find out which Firefox configuration file it would be ...

I hope it helps then...
tzuk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests