Sandboxie Recovery Option

Ideas for enhancements to the software
Post Reply
EmbertonConsult
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 10:40 pm
Location: U. S.

Sandboxie Recovery Option

Post by EmbertonConsult » Mon May 30, 2011 11:21 pm

I would like to see a feature that allows for when the sandbox is deleted it does not ask if you want to recover the files. I have sandboxie installed on my parents computers (yes I made them purchase a copy). I have it set up to where it deletes the box when they exit the webrowser or outlook. However, sometimes files are downloaded that they didnt know about and sandboxie asks if they want those files. They are not sure what is going on and they just hit cancel. So I would like to see a feature that would cause that screen not to come up.

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Tue May 31, 2011 5:29 am

You can turn off the folders that Sandboxie will check. Take a quick look here:

http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?QuickRecovery
tzuk

kupo

Post by kupo » Wed Jun 08, 2011 1:26 am

How about adding a settings in quick recovery that the menu for quick recovery will only pop when the quick recovery is invoked, not when the sandbox is being deleted. (It is for those who enabled automatically deletes the sandbox settings)

SnDPhoenix
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Post by SnDPhoenix » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:28 am

kupo wrote:How about adding a settings in quick recovery that the menu for quick recovery will only pop when the quick recovery is invoked, not when the sandbox is being deleted. (It is for those who enabled automatically deletes the sandbox settings)
You mean like a "Do not prompt for Quick Recovery if Automatic Deletion is enabled" checkbox?
I'll second that option if it isn't to hard to incorporate. :P

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Wed Jun 08, 2011 6:18 pm

I guess I just don't understand how that's useful. Either you want recovery, or you don't. And if you do want it, then why wouldn't you want it before deletion takes place? It is the last chance before the stuff is lost for good.
tzuk

SnDPhoenix
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Post by SnDPhoenix » Wed Jun 08, 2011 7:31 pm

True, but in my case for example, I have a lot of sandboxes that are temporary or for malware, I'm not concerned with recovering files from those sandboxes, but as it stands Quick Recovery pops up everytime the sandbox is deleted (manually or automatically) and it just feels like an extra step to have to go through. Only removing all Quick Recovery folders actually "disables" the Quick Recovery prompt.

But either way, it isn't a big deal for me if this is added or not, cause I am not bothered by the Quick Recovery prompt personally. :P

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Thu Jun 09, 2011 6:39 am

Then it seems to me that a Remove All button on the Quick Recovery settings page would make more sense.
tzuk

SnDPhoenix
Posts: 2690
Joined: Tue Dec 26, 2006 5:44 pm
Location: West Florida

Post by SnDPhoenix » Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:51 am

Fine with me tzuk! :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests