[.09] Adding software compatibility: how???

Listing issues addressed in beta version 4.01
Locked
Scoox
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:45 am

[.09] Adding software compatibility: how???

Post by Scoox » Wed May 15, 2013 2:27 am

Sandboxie did a great job at detecting certain apps that needed software compatibility to work normally.

I use Lingoes, a dictionary that pops up a small window at the mouse pointer when placed over a word. Lingoes v2.8.1 worked fine but it was recently updated to v2.9.1 which Sandboxie fails to detect. By the way, Lingoes runs OUTSIDE Sandboxie. So I would like to know what I need to change to get this to work again. I realise that each app will be different so is there any documentation or in-depth tutorial explaining how one would go about adding software compatibility manually? And if not, can someone kindly give me some pointers here?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks :)

Scoox
Posts: 92
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:45 am

Post by Scoox » Wed May 15, 2013 3:12 am

The file templates.ini contains the following code:

Code: Select all

[Template_Lingoes]
Tmpl.Title=Lingoes Translator
Tmpl.Class=Desktop
Tmpl.Url=http://www.lingoes.net/
Tmpl.Scan=i
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_ZWFilter_GlobaData
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_GlobaData
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_Mutex
OpenWinClass=$:lingoes.exe
Where did all that come from and how do I know what I need to type?

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Wed May 15, 2013 12:25 pm

You can use Resource Access Monitor to log the system objects/resources that are accessed.

Instructions here:
http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?Reso ... essMonitor

Post your log data here in your reply and we'll see how we can ammend the compatibility settings for Lingoes.
tzuk

Guest10
Posts: 5127
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Post by Guest10 » Wed May 15, 2013 12:49 pm

In the meantime, I checked the program for myself.
It appears that they have changed the names of some of the program's resources.

I tested the program on XP (with Sandboxie 4.01.08 ) and had to change some of the resource names that are used in Sandboxie's template:
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_ZWFilter_GlobaData32
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_GlobaData32
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_Mutex32

It seems likely that the 32 that I added to the above settings are the result of using a 32-bit OS, so I would recommend using a wild card character there, instead:

OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_ZWFilter_GlobaData*
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_GlobaData*
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_Mutex*
There's no guarantee that a 64-bit OS would have 64 at the end of those settings, but using a wild card character there should be OK.

You have a couple of choices.
1) You can revise the Lingoes template settings in templates.ini to add the wild card (*) character to the end of those 3 lines. Be advised though, that any changes in the templates.ini file will be overwritten if you install or re-install any Sandboxie version - at least, until these changes are made in a future Sandboxie release.

2) You could copy/paste those 3 lines into the settings for the sandbox where you use Lingoes:

[(sandbox_name)]
...
... (<- your existing settings, for the sandbox)
...
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_ZWFilter_GlobaData*
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_GlobaData*
OpenIpcPath=*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_Mutex*

If the template in templates.ini gets updated, you can come back here and remove those 3 settings.

3) You could use the Sandbox Settings GUI to enter those settings for each sandbox:
Sandbox Settings > Resource Access > IPC Access > Direct Access
Click the "Add" button and paste these settings into the window, one line at a time:
*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_ZWFilter_GlobaData*
*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_GlobaData*
*\BaseNamedObjects*\OpenText_GrabText_Mutex*
OK your way out.

Please report back with your results if you try this.
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Sat May 25, 2013 10:27 am

Thank you Guest10, I included the changes you propose in version 4.01.09.
tzuk

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest