Sandboxie special setup

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
Grenpara
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:00 am

Sandboxie special setup

Post by Grenpara » Sat Dec 02, 2017 6:54 pm

Hey Guys and Gals,

I have a program I wish to run in sandboxie and the program must have internet or it wont run.
But the program tries to send lots of data out onto the net.
Is there a way to setup a sandbox so the program can use and see the internet but cant read or access any files on the computer?
So it cant send files and other info out.
Or have a snadbox where the program can only see files that are in the sandbox and not other files?

Thanks in advance
Gren

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2824
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Sandboxie special setup

Post by bo.elam » Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:13 pm

Hi Grenpara. First of all, if I dont trust a program I wouldn't install it, or run it.

To protect your sensitive files and folders you can block sandboxed programs from accessing them via Sandbox settings>Resource access>File access>Blocked access, Click Add for navigating to the files and folders you want to protect.

Bo

Grenpara
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Sandboxie special setup

Post by Grenpara » Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:08 pm

bo.elam wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 12:13 pm
Hi Grenpara. First of all, if I dont trust a program I wouldn't install it, or run it.

To protect your sensitive files and folders you can block sandboxed programs from accessing them via Sandbox settings>Resource access>File access>Blocked access, Click Add for navigating to the files and folders you want to protect.

Bo
Hello Bo,

Thanks for the info and help, i really appreciate it.
How do I block drive access as I get no choices it only gives me for blocking user items and not whole drives when i click add button?

Thanks in advance
Gren

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2824
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Sandboxie special setup

Post by bo.elam » Sun Dec 03, 2017 10:05 pm

Grenpara wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 8:08 pm
How do I block drive access as I get no choices it only gives me for blocking user items and not whole drives when i click add button?
If you plug the drive, the drive letter will appear, then you navigate to it via Add button and select it. You could also add the letter for the drive. You click, Edit/Add, and paste the letter. Example: E:\

Bo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests