It may be a stupid question, but...

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
cocoon
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:11 am

It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by cocoon » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:25 pm

I have a question about Forced Programs.

What happens if I have the same forced program registered in more than one sandbox and, say, I start it not in any one of those sandboxes, but using instead (unsandboxed) Windows Explorer or from the Start Menu? Assuming that Sandboxie would trap the program invocation, which sandbox would prevail, for example concerning Internet access restrictions for the program concerned?
-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Windows 10 Pro 1803 Build 17134.48, Sandboxie 5.25.2 beta, Bitdefender Total Security 2018, VoodooShield 4.28, HitmanPro Alert, Firefox 60

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2464
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:31 pm

Hello cocoon,

The program will run in the first Sandbox that it is forced to start in.
You can test it if you have the paid version. Just set a program to forced in multiple Sandboxes and you'll see the behavior.

Please find more info here:
https://www.sandboxie.com/ForceProcess

Regards,
Barb.-

cocoon
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:11 am

Re: It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by cocoon » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:45 pm

Thanks Barb.
Forgive me if I didn't fully understand the explanation.
Taking as an example the information in the link that you mentioned:

[DefaultBox]
ForceProcess=iexplore.exe
ForceProcess=firefox.exe
[MailBox]
ForceProcess=outlook.exe
ForceProcess=firefox.exe

What would happen in the above situation? If Firefox were to be started unsandboxed, would it run as a forced process in the DefaultBox or in the MailBox sandbox?
-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Windows 10 Pro 1803 Build 17134.48, Sandboxie 5.25.2 beta, Bitdefender Total Security 2018, VoodooShield 4.28, HitmanPro Alert, Firefox 60

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2824
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by bo.elam » Wed Nov 22, 2017 9:11 pm

cocoon wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:45 pm


[DefaultBox]
ForceProcess=iexplore.exe
ForceProcess=firefox.exe
[MailBox]
ForceProcess=outlook.exe
ForceProcess=firefox.exe

What would happen in the above situation? If Firefox were to be started unsandboxed, would it run as a forced process in the DefaultBox or in the MailBox sandbox?
Hi cocoon, the proper thing to do would be to leave Firefox as a Forced program in your DefaultBox, and take it off from the Mailbox.

By doing so, if you click a link in an email and Firefox is your default browser, Firefox will run sandboxed in your Mailbox (as long as outlook.exe is forced, as you have it now).

If you run Firefox in any other way, it would be forced to run sandboxed in your DefaultBox.

Bo

cocoon
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:11 am

Re: It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by cocoon » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:13 am

Thanks for the comment. So if I understand correctly according to that example, if program X is invoked by a sandboxed program Y, then X will run sandboxed in Y's sandbox. Else, if X is a Forced Program in a sandbox, it will run sandboxed if invoked either specifically from its sandbox or by any other means.
-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Windows 10 Pro 1803 Build 17134.48, Sandboxie 5.25.2 beta, Bitdefender Total Security 2018, VoodooShield 4.28, HitmanPro Alert, Firefox 60

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2824
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by bo.elam » Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:13 pm

cocoon wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:13 am
Thanks for the comment. So if I understand correctly according to that example, if program X is invoked by a sandboxed program Y, then X will run sandboxed in Y's sandbox. Else, if X is a Forced Program in a sandbox, it will run sandboxed if invoked either specifically from its sandbox or by any other means.
Exactly. :)

Bo

cocoon
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jul 11, 2017 10:11 am

Re: It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by cocoon » Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:52 am

Thank you for the confirmation. Looking back, I see that this is compatible with the practice that you use according to what you wrote a while back in answer to some other questions by me.
-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Windows 10 Pro 1803 Build 17134.48, Sandboxie 5.25.2 beta, Bitdefender Total Security 2018, VoodooShield 4.28, HitmanPro Alert, Firefox 60

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2824
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: It may be a stupid question, but...

Post by bo.elam » Fri Nov 24, 2017 7:01 pm

cocoon wrote:
Fri Nov 24, 2017 11:52 am
Thank you for the confirmation. Looking back, I see that this is compatible with the practice that you use according to what you wrote a while back in answer to some other questions by me.
You are welcome, Cocoon. I am glad to help when I can.

Bo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests