Running latest SB

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
Mac291
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 11:41 am

Running latest SB

Post by Mac291 » Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:35 am

I've been using FF ver 47.0.1 and SB ver 5.14 but have been having issues w/FF for a while now. FF locks up, doesn't matter what sites as long as I have 3+ tabs open.

I normally update FF only yearly b/c I have had issues w/SB under FF in the past so I prefer to wait vs. updating asap. I also have FlashStopper extension and the following plugins: silverlight, (2) Nvidia 3D vision, Google updater and Google talk plugin.

Just wondering if the newer FF ver 50 is OK to update to, I've researched the forum some but haven't found anything negative. On another note, as soon as I get a new cellphone I'll delete silverlight and the google plugins.


Thanks,

Mac

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Running latest SB

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Jul 20, 2017 1:32 pm

Hello Mac291,

The latest versions of Firefox (v54) + Sbie 5.20 work fine together (including Multiprocess).

Make sure to test a new Sandbox with default settings to see if the problem occurs there as well. And try disabling your extensions to see if one of them is causing problems.
If you are using Firefox with Multiprocess, you will need to install SBIE 5.17.6 or above (or turn off Multiprocess : viewtopic.php?f=11&t=23902&hilit=firefo ... 30#p126150).

Please provide the following info:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Regards,
Barb.-

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Running latest SB

Post by bo.elam » Thu Jul 20, 2017 5:41 pm

Mac291 wrote:
Thu Jul 20, 2017 11:35 am
Just wondering if the newer FF ver 50 is OK to update to, I've researched the forum some but haven't found anything negative. On another note, as soon as I get a new cellphone I'll delete silverlight and the google plugins.
Hi Mac. You found nothing because for the most part, Firefox runs great under Sandboxie. Its been like that forever. You shouldn't be having any problem running Firefox sandboxed and in my opinion, you should try to fix the issue using the latest versions of Firefox and Sandboxie. In addition to what Barb said, I suggest you try a new Firefox profile. Even better I think would be to do a clean install of Firefox. And try it sandboxed without the plugins and the extension you mentioned. After a few minutes or hours you ll know if one of the addons is the problem.

If the addons is where the problem comes from, you could avoid the problem by not installing the addon in the system. And install the conflicting addon in a sandbox, that way you only run Firefox in this sandbox when you must use the addon. The rest of the time they wont bother you any.

Bo

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests