New to Sandboxie

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
n15
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:54 am

New to Sandboxie

Post by n15 » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:02 pm

Hi,

Is there a way to verify that Sandboxie is working correctly while it is running?

Also, would there be any conflict with Malwarebytes?

Any help appreciated :)

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2820
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:07 pm

Hello n15,

Welcome to the forums.

In order to ensure applications are running inside the Sandbox, you can try this:
Open Sandboxie control, then go to File --> Is Window Sandboxed?.
Drag the Finder icon to your sandboxed application and it will tell you if it is running inside the Sandbox.

We have an FAQ section, as well as a Known Conflicts section that you will find useful:
https://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?HelpTopics

Regarding antivirus protection, Malware bytes usually works, but please find more info here:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=21539

Regards,
Barb.-

n15
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:54 am

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by n15 » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:32 pm

Hello,

Thank you very much for your reply.

I dragged the Finder Tool over Firefox web browser and got:

"The selected window is running as part of program firefox.exe in sandbox Default Box".

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2820
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:38 pm

Hello n15 ,

That is what you want to see, that the program is running inside the Sandbox, as desired.

I strongly recommend that you go over the Getting Started section. You can find it in the link I posted before. It will help you understand how Sandboxie works and what type of things you can configure.

Regards,
Barb.-

n15
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:54 am

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by n15 » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:50 pm

Cheers for your help :D

i'm currently running Kaspersky anti-virus 2017, so I may have to consider an alternative AV

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2820
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Jun 29, 2017 4:55 pm

Hello n15 ,

The thread I provided for Antivirus protection does include the latest workarounds for Kaspersky, you have to read the last pages to find it (page 12 and on ). Be sure to read all the comments, as different users provided workarounds.

If you experience a specific problem with Sandboxie, please post it in the Problem Reports section:
viewforum.php?f=11
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Be sure to search the forums prior to posting an issue, as many may have already been encountered/fixed.

Regards,
Barb.-

n15
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:54 am

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by n15 » Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:50 pm

Hi,

I read through the thread.

Everything seems to be working fine with Sandboxie, and I am wondering if there is a confliction?

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2868
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by bo.elam » Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:27 pm

n15 wrote:
Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:50 pm
Hi,

I read through the thread.

Everything seems to be working fine with Sandboxie, and I am wondering if there is a confliction?
Usually, when there is a conflict you would notice something not working right. When all is well, sandboxed programs pretty much work as if you were not running them sandboxed. Not much difference. Using the browser for this example, sometimes if there is a conflict, when you try to run the browser, nothing runs or you might see a blank page. Another sign of a conflict would be if your browsers takes long to pop up running sandboxed after you click the icon. When you close the browser, if deleting the sandbox takes more than a few seconds that can also be a sign of a conflict.

But right now, I think you are doing good.

Bo

n15
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 11:54 am

Re: New to Sandboxie

Post by n15 » Fri Jun 30, 2017 11:49 am

bo.elam wrote:
Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:27 pm
n15 wrote:
Thu Jun 29, 2017 5:50 pm
Hi,

I read through the thread.

Everything seems to be working fine with Sandboxie, and I am wondering if there is a confliction?
Usually, when there is a conflict you would notice something not working right. When all is well, sandboxed programs pretty much work as if you were not running them sandboxed. Not much difference. Using the browser for this example, sometimes if there is a conflict, when you try to run the browser, nothing runs or you might see a blank page. Another sign of a conflict would be if your browsers takes long to pop up running sandboxed after you click the icon. When you close the browser, if deleting the sandbox takes more than a few seconds that can also be a sign of a conflict.

But right now, I think you are doing good.

Bo
Thanks for your post, Bo.

After reading through what you posted above, it seems that everything is working correctly and there are no apparent issues with Sandboxie.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests