Multiple Sandboxes [SOLVED]

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
yabbadoo
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Multiple Sandboxes [SOLVED]

Post by yabbadoo » Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:07 am

WHY do we need to create other sandboxes ? I have worked for 10 years just having the default box and see no reason to have a second or more sandboxes.

With multiple sandboxes, how does Sandboxie control them and how does the user know what is going where ?
Puzzled ?
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

henryg
Posts: 552
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by henryg » Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:28 am

To isolate programs, or to give different rights.
Henry

yabbadoo
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by yabbadoo » Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:46 am

henryg wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:28 am
To isolate programs, or to give different rights.
And having created numerous sandboxes, who decides where goes what ?
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

BoxedSunshine
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2017 8:49 pm

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by BoxedSunshine » Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:52 am

yabbadoo wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:07 am
WHY do we need to create other sandboxes ? I have worked for 10 years just having the default box and see no reason to have a second or more sandboxes.
Browsing
Gaming
Testing
Reduce wear and tear on SSDs etc
yabbadoo wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:07 am
With multiple sandboxes, how does Sandboxie control them and how does the user know what is going where ?
Puzzled ?
Appearance > Display border around window > different colors (help)
You can also automate it in different ways, or make shortcuts that opens apps in specific sandboxes.
Sunshine in a box, for when the storm hits.

yabbadoo
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by yabbadoo » Sat Jun 17, 2017 9:00 am

BoxedSunshine wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:52 am
yabbadoo wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:07 am
WHY do we need to create other sandboxes ? I have worked for 10 years just having the default box and see no reason to have a second or more sandboxes.
Browsing
Gaming
Testing
Reduce wear and tear on SSDs etc
yabbadoo wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:07 am
With multiple sandboxes, how does Sandboxie control them and how does the user know what is going where ?
Puzzled ?
Appearance > Display border around window > different colors (help)
You can also automate it in different ways, or make shortcuts that opens apps in specific sandboxes.
All I do is use my PC for Internet browsing, I have no special needs other than that. So presumably, the standard default box is all I need.
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Brummelchen
Posts: 389
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 9:13 pm

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by Brummelchen » Sat Jun 17, 2017 11:20 am

please start reading the help and manual section:
https://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?HelpTopics

different people - different needs.
Last edited by Barb@Invincea on Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed off-topic comment.

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2867
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by bo.elam » Sat Jun 17, 2017 6:30 pm

yabbadoo wrote:
Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:07 am
WHY do we need to create other sandboxes ? I have worked for 10 years just having the default box and see no reason to have a second or more sandboxes.

With multiple sandboxes, how does Sandboxie control them and how does the user know what is going where ?
Puzzled ?
Isolation/sandboxing works best when you separate programs not only from the system but from each other as well. Using only the DefaultBox, programs you run sandboxed, run isolated from the system but not from each other. Using separate dedicated sandboxes for different programs allows you to really maximize isolation. And also to tailor sandbox settings according to the dedicated program or special purpose of the sandbox. To get the most out of Sandboxie, you have to do this. No maybe :). I think you have a Sandboxie license, start doing it.

Regarding how Sandboxie does to control things when you are using 10 or 15 sandboxes? When you force programs to run sandboxed in their own dedicated sandbox, it gets done automatically with no thinking on your part being required. It works seamlessly. The end result for me personally is that I use my computer pretty much as I would if I was not using SBIE with the difference being that I am protected every time I run a file or program in the computer.

Bo

yabbadoo
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:51 am
Location: Bedford - UK

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by yabbadoo » Sun Jun 18, 2017 5:57 am

Anyhow, the matter has been clarified. And this thread ? Well in the terminology of Forums in general - PROBLEM SOLVED.
Last edited by Barb@Invincea on Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed off-topic comments.
VIAM INVENIAM AVT FACIAM

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Multiple Sandboxes

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:55 am

All,

Off-topic comments have been removed.
Please use PMs for discussions that are not Sandboxie related.

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests