Could not create key:

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
AlistairW
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 3:18 pm

Could not create key:

Post by AlistairW » Mon Feb 06, 2017 3:22 pm

Hello,

On windows 10 trying to install an application for the first time but an receiving .....

Could not create key: \stk\Stack\ShellNew. Verify that you have sufficient access to that key, or contact your support personnel.

This is the trial version of the latest Sandboxie and I am have full Admin rights.

Any Ideas ?

Thanks ..........

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Could not create key:

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Feb 08, 2017 10:32 am

Hello AlistairW,

Can you please provide more information regarding what application are you trying to install?
Are you installing it inside Sbie? If so, try installing it outside the Sandbox and then running it Sandboxed.

Are you using any Antivirus software?

Regards,
Barb.-

AlistairW
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 3:18 pm

Re: Could not create key:

Post by AlistairW » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:25 pm

Hi,

I was trying to install a program called CCDStack from this web page http://www.ccdware.com/downloads/ .... I was trying to install it solely from within Sandboxie. I tried with Bitdefender off, but go the same result.

I guess my thought process was not to run the program outside Sandboxie, so that I could easily remove it when finished. Whereas if I install externally there will be registry entries left behind.

Thanks

Alistair

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2815
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Could not create key:

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:39 pm

Hello AlistairW ,

I just tested the following:

Downloaded the app in Windows 10 x64 via the link you posted.
Installed it inside Sandboxie.
Copied the key they sent me via email to the Sandboxed location of the program (in mi case: C:\Sandbox\USER\DefaultBox\drive\C\Program Files (x86)\CCDWare\CCDNavigator3)
Launched the app from the Sandboxed location.

I did not receive any errors. Can you try those steps and see if that helps?
Also make sure that you have Net Framework installed on your host.

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests