lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
iammmike
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:16 am
Location: SE-Asia

lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by iammmike » Fri Sep 16, 2016 5:51 am

I just noticed that when you have a .lnk in a Forced folder the application (in the .lnk) doesn't get sandboxed.

Is the only option (except using start) to right click the .LNK and select "Run Sandboxed" ??

Thanks

iammmike
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:16 am
Location: SE-Asia

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by iammmike » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:39 am

No replies, so I guess there is no other way.

Thanks

Bellzemos
Posts: 877
Joined: Wed Feb 17, 2010 2:08 pm

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by Bellzemos » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:32 pm

I just tested that and it's true. That is the case for .jpg files and some others as well. I don't know why, I'd wish that everything would be forced.

iammmike
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:16 am
Location: SE-Asia

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by iammmike » Wed Sep 21, 2016 10:31 pm

^ +1

- Text Removed -

Guest10
Posts: 5135
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by Guest10 » Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:12 pm

Since Forced Folders was first introduced, only the .exe files in the folder were intended to be forced by that setting.

Any other files may or may not get forced just because they are in the folder.
Especially if the program that's associated with that file type is a Microsoft program that's included with Windows, since those programs are usually too tightly integrated into Windows for Sandboxie have any control over their actions.
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

iammmike
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:16 am
Location: SE-Asia

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by iammmike » Thu Sep 22, 2016 10:06 pm

@Guest10

I just did a test

placed the following files into the Forced folder

.jpg
.txt
.pdf
.cmd

When I ran them they ALL got Sandboxed.

Irfanview got Sandboxed because it's my default handler for image files
Notepad++ got Sandboxed because it's my default handler for text files
SumatraPDF got Sandboxed because it's my default handler for PDF files
CMD got Sandboxed because it's my default handler for CMD files

Then I did another test.

Placed the same files OUTSIDE of the Sandbox but created a Shortcut and placed that Shortcut in the "Forced Folder" directory.

NONE of the apps (Irfanview, Notepad++, SumatraPDF, CMD) got Sandboxed.

So when you have a LNK in your Forced Folder, You must, to get it running in a Sandbox, right click on it and Click "Run Sandboxed" and thus not rely on it (to get it Sandboxed) because it is in a Forced Folder, and that is behavior I wasn't expecting.

Guest10
Posts: 5135
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by Guest10 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 1:53 pm

Since v4.01 Sandboxie's "Founder" knew that the forced folders feature would not be reliable in all instances.

http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... 58&p=90195
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

ssj100
Posts: 945
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 1:21 am
Contact:

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by ssj100 » Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:52 pm

I think this "issue" gets posted several times a year on these forums. Perhaps a sticky of a relevant post would be helpful? I came across this "issue" more than 6 years ago and posted on these forums about it too, and I probably wasn't the first one then!

Here's a recent discussion related to it:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... 97#p122465

And some older ones:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... f=4&t=7651
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... =5&t=11584
Sandboxie + SUA + DEP
Windows Firewall + NAT Router
Drive SnapShot (on-demand)

Dun
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2014 5:00 am
Location: Poland

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by Dun » Fri Sep 23, 2016 5:24 pm

Documentation would be welcome...
Sandboxie 5.27.1 personal lifetime license user || Win10 x64 Pro b17134 (up to date) || ESET IS 11+ x64 || Google Chrome 69+ x64 || UAC on

iammmike
Posts: 26
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:16 am
Location: SE-Asia

Re: lnk in a forced folder doesn't get Sandboxed

Post by iammmike » Fri Sep 23, 2016 8:27 pm

@ssj100

Thanks for the links, they answer my question very well especially http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... f=4&t=7651

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests