How to completely delete all sandbox settings

If it's not about a problem in the program
bobburro
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by bobburro » Sat Nov 28, 2015 4:06 am

Hi,

I have the paid version.

I am now noticing that when I terminate programs in a sandbox, I get a message "WARNING: The process or processes to be terminated will not be given the chance to save state or data. Are you sure you want to proceed with process termination?"

I don't know if it's me, but I don't remember this message in the past. That may be the reason why the program running in a sandbox does not keep the settings.

Peter2150
Posts: 879
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:46 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by Peter2150 » Sat Nov 28, 2015 9:26 am

Curious if you are trying to force the same program to run in all the sandboxes?

Mr.X
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:34 am
Location: Mexico

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by Mr.X » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:32 am

I believe people should be asked to post their Sandboxie.ini file. That should spare the trouble of guessing and have solid ground to start diagnosing to help.
Windows 8.1 x64 EN | Sandboxie latest beta or stable | All software latest versions unless stated otherwise

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2861
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by bo.elam » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:46 am

bobburro wrote:Hi,

I have the paid version.

I am now noticing that when I terminate programs in a sandbox, I get a message "WARNING: The process or processes to be terminated will not be given the chance to save state or data. Are you sure you want to proceed with process termination?"

I don't know if it's me, but I don't remember this message in the past. That may be the reason why the program running in a sandbox does not keep the settings.
Bob, that's an expected message when you click Terminate programs. You can hide the message if you tick, "In the future, terminate processes without asking".

Bo

bobburro
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by bobburro » Sat Nov 28, 2015 5:55 pm

Hi,

Below is a copy of the Sandboxie ini file. The program that I run in several sandboxes is IPTS.
I've even gone ahead and made copies of IPTS and renamed IPTS1, IPTS2, and IPTS3. Each in it's own corresponding folder, and sandboxed in it's on sandbox. No matter what happens, As soon as I enter info into one of the IPTS programs and close it, if I open another IPTS it will have the info from the one that was just recently closed.

This was not how Sandboxie worked in the beginning. I would open IPTS in it's own sandbox, for example box1, and it would be empty of information. I would do the same to the IPTS opened in box2, and box3. I would enter info in it, close it, and as long as I opened it in the particular sandbox, for example IPTS in box2, it would have the information that I entered in the program when it was in box2. And when I opened another instance of IPTS in box3, it would have the information that was last on box3.

Now, what happens is that all sandboxes share the same information for IPTS no matter in which box I open it. I've deleted all contents of each sandbox, deleted the sandboxes, uninstalled Sandboxie and reinstalled, multiple times. Something happened with my Sandboxie.

I've gone ahead and put extra stuff in each sandbox settings, like force programs to be sandboxed, etc.

I'm at a loss. Right now, it's just like if I didn't sandbox anything.



[GlobalSettings]

Template=AdobeDistiller
Template=WindowsRasMan
Template=AdobeLicensing
Template=SynapticsTouchPad
Template=WindowsLive
Template=AdobeAcrobatReader
Template=OfficeLicensing
ActivationPrompt=n
ForceDisableSeconds=136000

[UserSettings_086401B0]

SbieCtrl_UserName=myname
SbieCtrl_NextUpdateCheck=1449216102
SbieCtrl_UpdateCheckNotify=n
SbieCtrl_ShowWelcome=n
SbieCtrl_WindowCoords=112,4,690,1006
SbieCtrl_ActiveView=40021
SbieCtrl_RecoverTarget=C:\NewFolder\IPTS
SbieCtrl_SaveRecoverTargets=y
SbieCtrl_ProcessViewColumnWidths=250,70,300
SbieCtrl_EnableLogonStart=y
SbieCtrl_EnableAutoStart=y
SbieCtrl_AddDesktopIcon=n
SbieCtrl_AddQuickLaunchIcon=y
SbieCtrl_AddContextMenu=y
SbieCtrl_AddSendToMenu=y
SbieCtrl_HideMessage=2205,Win32Init.4 (C0000008)
SbieCtrl_AutoApplySettings=y
SbieCtrl_BoxExpandedView=1,2,3

[DefaultBox]

ConfigLevel=7
AutoRecover=y
Template=WindowsFontCache
Template=BlockPorts
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
RecoverFolder=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%
RecoverFolder=%Personal%
RecoverFolder=%Favorites%
RecoverFolder=%Desktop%
BorderColor=#00FFFF,ttl
Enabled=y
BoxNameTitle=y
NotifyInternetAccessDenied=y
ProcessGroup=<InternetAccess>,ipts.exe
ClosedFilePath=!<InternetAccess>,InternetAccessDevices
DropAdminRights=y

[1]

ConfigLevel=7
AutoRecover=y
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=BlockPorts
Template=WindowsFontCache
RecoverFolder=C:\NewFolder\IPTS\IPTS1
BorderColor=#00FFFF,ttl
Enabled=y
BoxNameTitle=y
NotifyInternetAccessDenied=y
DropAdminRights=y
ProcessGroup=<InternetAccess>,dllhost.exe,ipts1.exe
ClosedFilePath=!<InternetAccess>,InternetAccessDevices

[2]

ConfigLevel=7
AutoRecover=y
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=BlockPorts
Template=WindowsFontCache
RecoverFolder=C:\NewFolder\IPTS\IPTS2
BorderColor=#00FFFF,ttl
Enabled=y
BoxNameTitle=y
NotifyInternetAccessDenied=y
DropAdminRights=y
ProcessGroup=<InternetAccess>,dllhost.exe,ipts2.exe
ClosedFilePath=!<InternetAccess>,InternetAccessDevices
ForceFolder=F:\Fiverr\Visitors to Website Program from Fiverr\IPTS
ForceProcess=ipjingling.exe
ForceProcess=ipts3.exe
ForceProcess=ipts2.exe
ForceProcess=ipts1.exe
ForceProcess=ipts.exe

[3]

ConfigLevel=7
AutoRecover=y
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=BlockPorts
Template=WindowsFontCache
RecoverFolder=C:\NewFolder\IPTS\IPTS3
BorderColor=#00FFFF,ttl
Enabled=y
BoxNameTitle=y
NotifyInternetAccessDenied=y
DropAdminRights=y
ProcessGroup=<InternetAccess>,ipts3.exe,dllhost.exe
ClosedFilePath=!<InternetAccess>,InternetAccessDevices
ForceFolder=F:\Fiverr\Visitors to Website Program from Fiverr\IPTS
ForceProcess=ipts3.exe
ForceProcess=ipts2.exe
ForceProcess=ipts1.exe
ForceProcess=ipts.exe

Guest10
Posts: 5133
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by Guest10 » Sat Nov 28, 2015 6:48 pm

I don't know if it affects your problem, but you cannot force the same .exe programs in multiple sandboxes.
The first one that Sandboxie finds, that forces an .exe program, is the sandbox that is used for that program.
It doesn't look at other sandboxes to see if the program is forced there.

These will probably use [2], even though you also have them listed as forced in [3]:
ForceProcess=ipts3.exe
ForceProcess=ipts2.exe
ForceProcess=ipts1.exe
ForceProcess=ipts.exe

Leave Sandboxie Control's window open, to see which sandbox is used for a program.
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

Mr.X
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2013 9:34 am
Location: Mexico

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by Mr.X » Sat Nov 28, 2015 8:48 pm

Guest10 wrote:I don't know if it affects your problem, but you cannot force the same .exe programs in multiple sandboxes.
The first one that Sandboxie finds, that forces an .exe program, is the sandbox that is used for that program.
It doesn't look at other sandboxes to see if the program is forced there.

These will probably use [2], even though you also have them listed as forced in [3]:
ForceProcess=ipts3.exe
ForceProcess=ipts2.exe
ForceProcess=ipts1.exe
ForceProcess=ipts.exe

Leave Sandboxie Control's window open, to see which sandbox is used for a program.
I suspect the same as you...
Windows 8.1 x64 EN | Sandboxie latest beta or stable | All software latest versions unless stated otherwise

bobburro
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by bobburro » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:20 pm

When I start the program, I specifically start it sandboxed and specify one of the boxes already created.

For example, IPTS1, I would right-click and "Run Sandboxed", and then select box1.
Same for ITPS2, same as above, box2, etc.

What I can notice from the testing that I've done is that the program does not seem to be sandboxed. Either that, or it is getting settings from a hidden file somewhere in my computer. It the latter part is true, then, it is not sandboxed.

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2861
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by bo.elam » Sun Nov 29, 2015 1:54 am

bobburro wrote:When I start the program, I specifically start it sandboxed and specify one of the boxes already created.

For example, IPTS1, I would right-click and "Run Sandboxed", and then select box1.
Same for ITPS2, same as above, box2, etc.

What I can notice from the testing that I've done is that the program does not seem to be sandboxed.
Do this test, Sandboxie control>File, Click "Is Window sandboxed?", drag the finder over the window to see if the program is running sandboxed.

Bo

bobburro
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 2:01 pm

Re: How to completely delete all sandbox settings

Post by bobburro » Sun Nov 29, 2015 6:20 am

Yes, the window shows as being sandboxed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests