Is there an exclusion option for programs?

If it's not about a problem in the program
Post Reply
Psychedelix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:45 pm

Is there an exclusion option for programs?

Post by Psychedelix » Sat Jun 09, 2018 2:33 am

Hi, for example, if I create a ForceFolder rule, is there a way to exclude notepad.exe to prevent it from running in that sandbox?

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2470
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Is there an exclusion option for programs?

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Jun 11, 2018 11:26 am

Hello Psychedelix,

Please have a look at the Restrictions section:
https://www.sandboxie.com/RestrictionsSettings#startrun

For further info, I recommend that you visit our Help page:
https://www.sandboxie.com/HelpTopics

Regards,
Barb.-

Psychedelix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:45 pm

Re: Is there an exclusion option for programs?

Post by Psychedelix » Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:58 am

Hello,

I know these options. You can create something like a whitelist. But I need something like a blacklist. I was hoping that I just can not find it. But it looks like there is currently no way.

Thank you anyway for your answer!

Cya

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2470
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Is there an exclusion option for programs?

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Jun 13, 2018 9:59 am

Hello Psychedelix,

In that case, please look at this:
https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessSettings#file

For example, go to Configure--> Edit configuration
Enter the following at the end of the desired Sandbox
ClosedFilePath=*\notepad.exe
Save the changes
Configure--> Reload configuration
Try to launch notepad in the Sandbox you just modified

Regards,
Barb.-

Psychedelix
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 20, 2015 10:45 pm

Re: Is there an exclusion option for programs?

Post by Psychedelix » Sat Jun 16, 2018 7:09 am

Hello, thanks again!

Sorry, you have to excuse me for explaining it so badly... :roll:

You're right, there's an option, and I use it here and there. But the problem with this option is that the excluded programs can't be started.

For example, if I set the following config settings:

Code: Select all

ClosedFilePath=C:\Windows\notepad.exe
ForceFolder=C:\Example\Folder
When I try to open a text file associated with Notepad in this folder. Sandboxie show me a SBIE2314 warning that the process is aborted. It's completely impossible without the long user-unfriendly path via the context menu.

I would like to have an additional exclusion option where programs aren't aborted for forced folders. These programs should be started directly outside the sandbox.

Greets :wink:

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2470
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Is there an exclusion option for programs?

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:05 am

Hello Psychedelix,

You can hold Ctrl+Shift + right click on the file/program --> Run Sandboxed . That should open the file or program outside Sandboxie.
Another option is to right-click on the program/file ---> Run Sandboxed --> Run outside Sandboxie.

You can also use commands to run a program outside the Sandbox:
https://www.sandboxie.com/StartCommandLine#disableforce

Depending on what are you trying to accomplish, you could use the "Disable Forced Programs" option from the GUI to temporarily disable a Force Folder (right-click on your Sandboxie tray icon --> Disable Forced Programs OR File--> Disable Force Programs).
Perhaps you can use metro apps to open certain files, or just use shortcuts (as they are ignored by Force Folder as explained below).

For more info regarding Force Folder, please see:
https://www.sandboxie.com/ForceFolder
https://www.sandboxie.com/ProgramStartSettings#folder

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests