SB not working with "Altiris Software Virtualization&qu

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:23 pm

This isn't possible. The changes are too great. Having this options actually means having two Sandboxie engines, with this option choosing between them. It's just not something I can even consider.

But, hold on, like I said, I will look into the conflict, maybe there will not even be a need for drastic measures. No promises though! :)
tzuk

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:58 pm

The story continues...

The conflict lies in the fact that with an Altiris layer enabled, the SbieDll helper DLL does not get loaded into the sandboxed process.

If this is the whole crux of the matter, then perhaps by the next beta, I may be able to resolve this, by re-introducing another way to inject SbieDll into sandboxed programs.

(Note that this 'another way' was in use in version 2.64, which perhaps explains why there was no conflict with Altiris in the older version.)
tzuk

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Feb 05, 2007 7:55 pm

Yep, that was it, the alternative SbieDll injection method works fine with Altiris.

It is a bit worse than the primary SbieDll injection method, in that the DLL is not injected as early, but for 99% of the programs this shouldn't be a problem.

(I'd like to emphasize that the alternative method is not used instead of but rather in addition to the primary method.)

This fix will be published in the next beta version.
tzuk

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Fri Feb 09, 2007 3:56 pm

Version 2.78 is now more compatible with Altiris.
tzuk

OwenBurnett
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:36 am

Post by OwenBurnett » Mon Feb 12, 2007 9:48 am

I tested the 7.8 and altiris and it still does not work properly, when a layer is loaded and I try to start a program in sandbox i get an error: SBOX2604 Cannot mount registry hive [C0000034 / 33].

When I have something aleady running in the SB mor apps starting works fine.


Owen

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Feb 12, 2007 6:18 pm

Sorry about that, but I don't experience this error. (I've been testing with an "Empty Layer", if it makes a difference.)

This particular error means Sandboxie was unable to query the registry key:

HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\hivelist

This key is opened for read access. If Altiris decides to block access to this key... Well, I can't do very much about it! (But like I said, this did not happened to me.)

Another conflict that I saw, has to do with creating files in the root directory of a drive. It makes the sandboxed program not see the contents of the real directory. This isn't a bug in Sandboxie. Strangely, this only happens on the root directory.
tzuk

OwenBurnett
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:36 am

Post by OwenBurnett » Tue Feb 13, 2007 3:29 am

Strange,
I tested it now with an new layer with an other software installed and it works it also works with an empty layer.
But with the first layer witn an other software is fails (there was a dl manager called GetRight installed)
I tested an other layer with adobe and it works also, so it seems it depands on the installed software.

Owen

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests