Hanging on git clone --recurse-submodules

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
trongus
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:54 am

Hanging on git clone --recurse-submodules

Post by trongus » Tue Dec 25, 2018 6:04 am

Trying to clone any repositories (even with repos with no submodules setup) with --recurse-submodules within SBIE will hang indefinitely.

:!: The Windows version number? (i.e. Windows 7 32bit, 8.1 x64, etc)
10 x64 1809

:!: Sandboxie version number (SBIE v5.23.3? 5.22?)
5.27.2 beta

:!: Does the issue occur in a new Sandbox with Default settings? (https://www.sandboxie.com/SandboxMenu#create)
Yup.

:!: NAME & Version/build numbers of any applications involved? (Chrome v43, FF45 etc)
> git --version
git version 2.20.1.windows.1

:!: Are you running antivirus/anti-malware software? (AVG, Live Essentials..etc)
Windows defender, realtime protection disabled.

:!: What are the exact steps to reproduce the issue? (Launch app X, perform X actions, etc)
Install git outside of sandbox, then invoke it in sandbox as following:

> git clone --recurse-submodules https://github.com/rmccue/test-repository.git
Cloning into 'test-repository'...
remote: Enumerating objects: 9, done.
remote: Total 9 (delta 0), reused 0 (delta 0), pack-reused 9
Unpacking objects: 100% (9/9), done.

(hangs indefinitely)

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2981
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Hanging on git clone --recurse-submodules

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Dec 27, 2018 10:20 am

Hi trongus,

This request is out of scope viewtopic.php?f=2&t=24980

To try to find out what may be happening, I recommend creating a new Sandbox with default settings (https://www.sandboxie.com/SandboxMenu#create) , and using Resource Access Monitor to see if anything relevant comes up: https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessMonitor

You can then use these guidelines to open any paths/IPCs/Classes that may be needed (anything with an "X" or without an "O" at the beginning may need to be opened, if related to the application):
https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessSettings

Just keep in mind as you open resources, that if they don't make a difference, you will want to revert the changes since you will be punching holes in the sandbox.

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests