OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly [Fixed in Beta 5.25.6]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
h2274752
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:17 am

OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly [Fixed in Beta 5.25.6]

Post by h2274752 » Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:32 am

Hi,

I get a problem when use npm.
I'm using SB 5.25.4 now.
I have create a SB and it's settings as below:

Code: Select all

OpenPipePath=W:\
I expect the situation is the npm installed files will direct save to driver W:\,
but when I run "npm install":
It have some files installed in w:\node_modules\, but some files are save to SB_Path\w\node_modules too.
It makes the npm runs fail sometimes...

* Note:
My node is install in windows, not in SB. Just run "num install" in the cmd(terminal) that runs in SB.
Even though set "OpenFilePath=W:\" the problem is appear too.
My package.json:

Code: Select all

{
  "name": "test",
  "version": "1.0.0",
  "description": "---",
  "author": "",
  "license": "ISC",
  "devDependencies": {
    "babel-core": "^6.26.3",
    "clean-webpack-plugin": "^0.1.19",
    "webpack": "^4.12.0",
    "webpack-cli": "^3.0.7"
  }
}
If you want to reproduce this problem, you need:
1. download and install the node: https://nodejs.org/en/
2. create a sb and set OpenPipePath=SOME_PATH
3. create file(named package.json) and place it to the sb path
4. run cmd.exe on the sb
5. Chang path to the path of package.json
6. run "npm install"
7. Check there has a folder node_modules in the following paths:
* SB_PATH/[the path of package.json]/
* WINDOWS_PATH(OpenPipePath=SOME_PATH)/[the path of package.json]

Please help me to solve this problem, thank you.

h2274752
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:17 am

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly

Post by h2274752 » Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:39 am

eg.
1. Create a SB, named SB_1
2. Create a folder in d:\, named TEST, so full path is d:\TEST
3. Create a text file, named package.json in d:\TEST, the content is:

Code: Select all

{
  "name": "test",
  "version": "1.0.0",
  "description": "---",
  "author": "",
  "license": "ISC",
  "devDependencies": {
    "babel-core": "^6.26.3",
    "clean-webpack-plugin": "^0.1.19",
    "webpack": "^4.12.0",
    "webpack-cli": "^3.0.7"
  }
}
4. Set rule for SB_1:

Code: Select all

OpenPipePath=d:\
5. run cmd.exe in the SB_1
6. Change path to d:\TEST
7. run "npm i"
8. run "npm i -D sass", maybe you will get an error message, if not, you can run it again
9. When finished, you'll found the folder, named node_modules in:
i. D:\TEST\
ii. YOUR_SB_PATH\SB_1\drive\D\TEST\

* The cause of the error on step 8 is the npm will use the node_modules folder,
but it maybe only see one of the folder(list in step 9),
so it can't find some dependencies...

Hopefully this example will help you reproduce this problem.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2788
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:44 am

Hello h2274752,

Update:
We can repro on Windows 10.
Devs are aware.

---- X ---
Please provide the required info so that I can test this:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Also, see if the global command helps:
viewtopic.php?p=130981#p130981

Regards,
Barb.-

h2274752
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:17 am

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly

Post by h2274752 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:24 am

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:44 am
Hello h2274752,

Update:
We can repro on Windows 10.
Devs are aware.

---- X ---
Please provide the required info so that I can test this:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Also, see if the global command helps:
viewtopic.php?p=130981#p130981

Regards,
Barb.-
Hello Barb,

My OS env:
Windows 10 pro/1803
SB 5.25.4
Comodo Firewall 10

Regards,
h2274752

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2788
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:29 pm

Fixed in beta 5.25.6
viewtopic.php?f=65&t=25684

Regards,
Barb.-

h2274752
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:17 am

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly

Post by h2274752 » Mon Jul 09, 2018 9:23 pm

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Thu Jun 28, 2018 1:29 pm
Fixed in beta 5.25.6
viewtopic.php?f=65&t=25684

Regards,
Barb.-
Hi Barb,

I have upgraded to 5.25.6, and openPipePath is working now, thank you for your help.
But I found a new situation that bothered me that is frequently asked "SandboxieBITS.exe is trying to modify a protected registry key" from comodo Firewall 10.
Is this normal & safe?

Regards,
h2274752

h2274752
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:17 am

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly [Fixed in Beta 5.25.6]

Post by h2274752 » Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:51 am

Hello Barb,

I find the OpenPipePath doesn't works in below steps:
1. Create a SB, named SB_1
2. Create a folder in d:\, named TEST, so full path is d:\TEST
3. Create a text file, named package.json in d:\TEST, the content is:

Code: Select all

{
  "name": "task-02-filter",
  "version": "1.0.0",
  "description": "---",
  "private": true,
  "main": "./src/js/main.js",
  "scripts": {
    "start": "webpack --config webpack.config.babel.js"
  },
  "author": "",
  "license": "ISC",
  "devDependencies": {
    "babel-core": "^6.26.3",
    "babel-loader": "^7.1.4",
    "babel-preset-env": "^1.7.0",
    "clean-webpack-plugin": "^0.1.19",
    "copy-webpack-plugin": "^4.5.2",
    "raw-loader": "^0.5.1",
    "webpack": "^4.12.0",
    "webpack-cli": "^3.0.7",
    "webpack-dev-server": "^3.1.4"
  }
} 
4. Create a text file, named webpack.config.babel.js in d:\TEST, the content is:

Code: Select all

import path from "path";
import CleanWebpackPlugin from "clean-webpack-plugin";
import webpack from "webpack";
import CopyWebpackPlugin from 'copy-webpack-plugin';

export default (module = {
  entry: "./src/main.js",
  output: {
    filename: "bundle.js",
    path: path.resolve(__dirname, "dist")
  },
  plugins: [

    new CleanWebpackPlugin(["dist"], {
	  root: "",
	  exclude: [],
	  verbose: true,
	  dry: false
	}),
    new CopyWebpackPlugin([{
      // Copy src/static to dist/static
      context: path.resolve(__dirname, "src", "static"),
      from: '**/*',
      to: 'static',
      force: true
    }], {
      context: '',
      copyUnmodified: false,
      debug: 'debug',
      ignore: []
    })
  ]
});
5. Create a text file, named .babelrc in d:\TEST, the content is:

Code: Select all

{
  "presets": ["env"]
}
6. Create empty folders/files in the belowed:
- d:\TEST\src\main.js
- d:\TEST\src\static\test.html
- d:\TEST\src\static\preview\test1.html

7. Set rule for SB_1:

Code: Select all

OpenPipePath=d:\
8. run cmd.exe in the SB_1
9. Change path to d:\TEST
10. run "npm i"
11.run "npm start"
* this step will copy d:\TEST\src\static to d:\TEST\dist\static
12. When finished, you'll find the issue:
i. D:\TEST\dist\static\test.html
ii. YOUR_SB_PATH\SB_1\drive\D\TEST\static\preview\test1.html

* ISSUE: The sub-folder of d:\TEST\src\static (that is forlder 'preview') are not writes to D:\TEST\dist\static

Regards,
h2274752

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2788
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly [Fixed in Beta 5.25.6]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:17 pm

Hello h2274752,

This step needs to be correct, cannot create a file ".babelrc" :

5. Create a text file, named .babelrc in d:\TEST, the content is....

Once you provide an update, I will continue testing. Also, the devs added further improvements to OpenPipePath in the new 5.26RC
Please re-test with the new RC build and let us know the status. viewtopic.php?f=65&t=25684

Regards,
Barb.-

h2274752
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 3:17 am

Re: OpenPipePath doesn't work correctly [Fixed in Beta 5.25.6]

Post by h2274752 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:01 pm

Hello Barb:

Awesome!
When I upgraded to the RC version, the problem disappeared.
Thanks for your help.

BTW, the "cannot create a file ".babelrc" needs to do:
First create a new file with any name.
Then open command prompt and rename it to the desired name.
The format of the command is ‘rename full_path_of_file new_name’. E.g. ‘rename C:\Users\foo\file.txt .babelrc’.
Full filename path isn’t necessary if you’re in the same directory as the file.

Regards,

h2274752

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests