Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [FIXED in beta 5.25.4]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Micah71381
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by Micah71381 » Sat May 12, 2018 5:31 am

You can change Firefox config outside of Firefox by opening the following file:
%AppData%\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\mg8f8omx.default\prefs.js

Add this line if one similar to it doesn't exist:
user_pref("security.sandbox.content.level", 2);

If a line with "security.sandbox.content.level" in it already exists, then change the number to 2.

Noesis
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 2:10 am

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by Noesis » Sun May 13, 2018 4:08 am

Just thought I'd mention, other sandbox.content.level settings may also work.

Seems to me that setting the sandbox level to 2 is from back when 3 was the highest level. Since then the max level has gone up to 5, and when I updated to Firefox 60, and started getting an error, I decided to change to one level below max, instead of 2, i.e. to 4 and this level works fine for me.

Point being, depending on your actual issue/system etc this setting probably just needs to be reduced and could be be fine anywhere from 2-4, but it's probably better to run with highest level possible that works.

secret365
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2009 8:54 am

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by secret365 » Sun May 13, 2018 8:57 pm

Noesis wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 4:08 am
Just thought I'd mention, other sandbox.content.level settings may also work.

Seems to me that setting the sandbox level to 2 is from back when 3 was the highest level. Since then the max level has gone up to 5, and when I updated to Firefox 60, and started getting an error, I decided to change to one level below max, instead of 2, i.e. to 4 and this level works fine for me.

Point being, depending on your actual issue/system etc this setting probably just needs to be reduced and could be be fine anywhere from 2-4, but it's probably better to run with highest level possible that works.
Thanks :D

Confirmed no issue sandboxing firefox 60 using level 4 here.

deugniet
Posts: 335
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:16 pm

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by deugniet » Mon May 14, 2018 2:55 am

Level 4 here as well.

APMichael
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by APMichael » Mon May 14, 2018 5:07 am

Noesis wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 4:08 am
...Since then the max level has gone up to 5, and when I updated to Firefox 60, and started getting an error, I decided to change to one level below max, instead of 2, i.e. to 4 and this level works fine for me...
Thanks! Yes, level 4 works without issues (= printing and sound work flawless also).

Guest10
Posts: 5133
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by Guest10 » Mon May 14, 2018 11:09 am

So, previously 3 was too much but now 4 is OK?

It may not be related, but after setting a security.sandbox.content.level of 4, and then doing some heavy downloading of videos as a test:
I would up with a "Not Responding" Firefox; failure of Sandboxie Control to open it's menu, so I could terminate programs; Task Manager wouldn't open; a necessary manual power down of the computer; and then, checking the sandbox after the restart, of 5 downloads 2 were complete and another 3 were 0 byte ".part" files.
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon May 14, 2018 11:19 am

Hello Guest10,

Please see the workaround here:
viewtopic.php?p=133401#p133401

The latest supported Firefox sandbox content level is 2. As there are many reports from users stating that anything above 2 will cause different issues (printing, crashing, unable to hear sound / load videos).
There are several forum threads about those issues, this one addresses SBIE2205

Regards,
Barb.-

APMichael
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by APMichael » Mon May 14, 2018 11:45 am

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 11:19 am
...The latest supported Firefox sandbox content level is 2. As there are many reports from users stating that anything above 2 will cause different issues (printing, crashing, unable to hear sound / load videos)....
JFYI: This is correct if you are using Firefox 59.x or older. With Firefox 60.0 also level 4 is working (see the previous posts). It seems Mozilla changed the sandbox content levels.

eneerge
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 4:57 pm
Location: Oxford, MS
Contact:

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by eneerge » Tue May 15, 2018 12:56 am

I could set the content level to 4 on 60 as well, but I run Developer edition which is now at 61b4. Setting content level at 0 allows it to run (default level no longer runs on 61), but it is extremely buggy and crashes a lot. This started at v61b1. Content level doesn't seem to affect the stability. Unsandboxed version of 61 runs fine without any crashes.

Most of the issues seem to occur while F12 Developer Tools are up. I'm going to revert to Release until this is addressed because it crashes almost every time I try to do anything in dev tools. Be glad to provide any additional info if requested.

Windows 10 x64 1803
Beta 5.25.2
No AV

Noesis
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2016 2:10 am

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by Noesis » Tue May 15, 2018 2:19 am

Guest10 wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 11:09 am
It may not be related, but after setting a security.sandbox.content.level of 4, and then doing some heavy downloading of videos as a test:
I would up with a "Not Responding" Firefox; failure of Sandboxie Control to open it's menu, so I could terminate programs; Task Manager wouldn't open; a necessary manual power down of the computer; and then, checking the sandbox after the restart, of 5 downloads 2 were complete and another 3 were 0 byte ".part" files.
I don't think it's related, reason being, I get a very similar issue, however for me the issue has only occurred when gaming, when sanboxie & firefox are both closed. I think this is more likely one of those random system lockups that was introduced to some people after the windows 10 1803 update, and was meant to be partly addressed with the May updates (which brought the windows build up to 17134.48), which for me didn't fix it.

I suggest you make a bug report to MS about this if this happens again. Also FYI, for me no new programs will open (including task manager), no open programs will close, however, some already open programs will work as normal. While the Start menu can open open, logoff/sleep/hibernate and shutdown all refuse to do anything, and trying to sleep using the power button also doesn't work nor does Ctrl+Alt+Del. Right click menus take on a weird behavior where sub-menus don't open on mouseover but do open if clicked. There was a workaround posted elsewhere (related to chrome/cortana doing similar things) to reset the graphics driver using the Ctrl+Win+Shift+B hotkey, however all this did for me was completely lock the system where the mouse would also become non responsive.

Anyway this is completely offtopic, merely saying it as I believe you encountered a different issue which has nothing to do with sandboxie or firefox, but is a system problem, which seems to happen completely randomly.

devrick
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue May 15, 2018 11:54 am

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [PLEASE SEE WORKAROUND]

Post by devrick » Tue May 15, 2018 1:17 pm

Was developer for 30 years, so I know that
as much data as possible helps narrow down/corner bugs!

This is my development system. i.e. Firewall before internet connection,
and Avast Free before any other web access: Very clean, very limited surfing...
(except for annoying "Pocket recommendations" which I just turned off!)

Previously everything worked fine,
Including: Tools | Web Developer | Toggle Tools (Used daily)
Unfortunately, don't know what level it was at before, in 59.0.3:

Update History:
Firefox 60.0 (20180503143129)
Installed on: May 15, 2018, 10:04:38 AM
Status: The update was successfully installed
Firefox 59.0.3 (20180427210249)
Installed on: May 2, 2018, 11:29:34 AM
Status: The update was successfully installed

Firefox Quantum 60.0 JUST INSTALLED => NOTHING WORKS except [X]...
EVEN loading Local Files/local server files (inside SBIE; works otherwise!)

HTTPS Everywhere 2018.4.11
Avast Online Security 12.0.296
Avast SafePrice

Content Process Sandbox Level 5
Effective Content Process Sandbox Level 5


"SBIE2205 Service not implemented: CreateDesktop"

Sandboxie 5.24 64 bit (LATEST as per "Check For Updates)
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64b (Windows Update: "Windows is up to date")
Zonealarm
AvastFree

*** Switched from 5 to 4 and now works ***

Surprised to find this issue outstanding for 8.5 months...
(viewtopic.php?p=129898#p129898)

Really hope this helps: Lost the last 3 hours on this!

Otherwise LOVE SBIE -> I recommend to anyone who'll listen!

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [FIXED in beta 5.25.4]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu May 17, 2018 10:55 am

Fixed in beta 5.25.4
viewtopic.php?p=133187#p133187

APMichael
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [FIXED in beta 5.25.4]

Post by APMichael » Thu May 17, 2018 11:30 am

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 10:55 am
Fixed in beta 5.25.4 ...
Thank you very much! Default level 5 works without issues now (printing and sound work flawless also). :D

angelhunterde
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 3:35 pm

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [FIXED in beta 5.25.4]

Post by angelhunterde » Fri May 18, 2018 2:56 pm

i am not sure what this security level setting does in firefox so i do not want to change it.
when will sandboxie be updated?
i don't use betas.

lwc
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 6:37 am

Re: Firefox 60 causes SBIE2205 Error [FIXED in beta 5.25.4]

Post by lwc » Fri Jul 13, 2018 5:41 am

angelhunterde wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 2:56 pm
when will sandboxie be updated?
i don't use betas.
Yesterday. :wink:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests