OpenGL support [SOLVED]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
KlyamkovYA
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 8:05 am

OpenGL support [SOLVED]

Post by KlyamkovYA » Sun Jan 07, 2018 6:28 am

OS: Windows 10 x64
HW: GPU1 Intel(R) HD Graphics, VRAM 3815MB, Driver 8.15.10.2900
SW: Geeks3D GPU Caps Viewer 1.37.0.0 (http://www.geeks3d.com/dlz/#geeks3d_tools)

Sandboxie version number (SBIE v5.22 64bit)

Run without Sandboxie: OpenGL 2.1 (Intel(R) HD Graphics with 112 ext.)
Run with Sandboxie: OpenGL 1.1 (GDI Generic with 2 ext.)

Why does the OpenGL version drop in the Sandbox and how to fix it?

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Jan 09, 2018 3:23 pm

Hello KlyamkovYA ,

I tested the app (with different hardware) and did not see any differences between the Sandboxed and non Sandboxed versions (OpenGL reported the same version).

If you have recently updated your video drivers, try a new sandbox with default settings.
Why do you need to run this program sandboxed?

Also, see if the latest beta makes a difference for you:
viewtopic.php?f=64&t=25114

Regards,
Barb.-

Iggiz
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:09 am

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Iggiz » Thu May 17, 2018 7:06 am

I had the same problem today, did you find a solution?

Windows 10 x64 + Intel HD2000

Sandboxie 5.23.5

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu May 17, 2018 11:12 am

Hello Iggiz,

If you'd like for us to test this issue, please update to the latest beta and provide the required information:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Beta link:
viewtopic.php?p=133187#p133187

Also be sure to try the things I provided to the previous user.

Regards,
Barb.-

Iggiz
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:09 am

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Iggiz » Thu May 17, 2018 12:01 pm

:!: The Windows version number? (i.e. Windows 7 32bit, 8.1 x64, etc)

Windows 10 x64 - Fall Creators (1709)


:!: Sandboxie version number (SBIE v5.23.3? 5.22?)

Sandboxie 5.23.5


:!: NAME & Version/build numbers of any applications involved? (Chrome v43, FF45 etc)

Tried 2 old games, both had the same problem. So I made a tool on my own that creates a OpenGL Context just to query the version number quickly, which ended up with the same result:

1.1 GDI Generic (Aka microsoft Software emulation)

Without Sandboxie I get 3.1 and everything works fine, problem is not related to a specific program.


:!: Are you running antivirus/anti-malware software? (AVG, Live Essentials..etc)

Default win 10 defender, nothing else.


:!: What are the exact steps to reproduce the issue? (Launch app X, perform X actions, etc)

This is unclear yet, could be related to Win10 or maybe the Intel graphics card?




I tried a new sandbox already, no difference. Didn't update my drivers recently (nor did windows).



I can try the new beta version, but I don't have much hope!

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu May 17, 2018 12:31 pm

Hello Iggiz

Without the names of the programs and repro steps, I cannot test the behavior.
Also, let me know if you are using any antivirus software.

Are you receiving any error messages when trying to use OpenGL?

Regards,
Barb.-

Iggiz
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:09 am

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Iggiz » Thu May 17, 2018 1:12 pm

Here is the test program i made, it will just output the version number.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1eLJh9 ... 3kILu9d29p


There will be error messages for any program that requires a opengl version higher than 1.1, yes.


No anti virus software, just windows defender

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu May 17, 2018 1:48 pm

Hello Iggiz,

I tested on a machine which has 2 video cards. I ensured I used the Intel one in order to test. I ran 2 different tests, one on the host and one inside a VM and I did not see the behavior you are reporting.

Full Setup:
Windows 10 x64 1803 and Windows 10 x64 1709 (VM) + Sbie 5.25.4 + Your test file.
Intel HD 4600

I did not receive any discrepancies in the results. Inside the VM, I got a different version than on the host, as expected, but it did match inside and outside Sandboxie.
Inside VM I got 3.0 Mesa (both inside and outside Sbie)
On the Host I got 4.3.0 (both inside and outside Sbie)
There will be error messages for any program that requires a opengl version higher than 1.1, yes.
Provide the names of the involved programs and the error messages so that I can further test this issue.

Regards,
Barb.-

Iggiz
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:09 am

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Iggiz » Thu May 17, 2018 2:09 pm

That's odd... you don't seem to be affected by the bug.


If you want to test the game, i found a demo version that comes with the same bug:

Doom3 demo - D3Demo.exe - SHA1: 802000BA750D0E4A8C64B886F77BEA5C46F51965

Edit:
Image

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu May 17, 2018 3:02 pm

Hello Iggiz,

I installed the Steam demo for Doom 3 , launched Steam in the Sandbox, navigated to Doom's 3 demo folder and launched it with the Intel Card.
No issues. If you have a download link for your version, let me know.

Does it work outside Sandboxie? Why do you need to run this game Sandboxed?

Try updating your drivers and see if that helps. Otherwise, I can't repro.

Regards,
Barb.-

Iggiz
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:09 am

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Iggiz » Thu May 17, 2018 3:37 pm

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 3:02 pm
I installed the Steam demo for Doom 3 , launched Steam in the Sandbox, navigated to Doom's 3 demo folder and launched it with the Intel Card.
No issues. If you have a download link for your version, let me know.
I got it from a german site - http://www.chip.de/downloads/Demo-Doom-3_13014437.html

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 3:02 pm
Does it work outside Sandboxie? Why do you need to run this game Sandboxed?
Yes, it works perfectly outside. I generally run everything that connects to the internet in a sandbox.

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 3:02 pm
Try updating your drivers and see if that helps. Otherwise, I can't repro.
No new drivers are available, I already checked.



Anyways, thanks for the help! I will see if I can find out some more on my own, will run the debugger and step through it. I will post here again if I got some new info.

Iggiz
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Feb 12, 2017 7:09 am

Re: OpenGL support

Post by Iggiz » Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:55 pm

Sorry for the late reply, but I found out that it's a bug in the intel drivers.

As a workaround you can enable a specific compatibility shim and it will be working fine.
You can do this by adding a registry key or use a batch file, example content of a .bat file can be found below.

Code: Select all

set __COMPAT_LAYER=Win81RTMVersionLie

start SomeExecutable.exe
Now just right click the .bat and Run in Sandbox rather than running the program directly.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests