[error 12029 by 14] SB 5.22 -connecting for updates and activation [SOLVED]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
LordTyrion
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:45 am

[error 12029 by 14] SB 5.22 -connecting for updates and activation [SOLVED]

Post by LordTyrion » Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:54 am

i have SB installed on a few of my PC´s. and on one system i can not connect to SB website to check updates or activate.

its a win 10 pro 64 bit build 1709 system.

of course i have tried to completely disabled the windows firewall (thought the settings allow SB to connect, like on my other systems).

a all i get from SB is an "error 12029 by 14".

i am pretty puzzled and don´t know what else i could try.

--------------MERGED POST---------------------------------------------
hello? any help please.... i can not activate SB.

any idea how i can check what is preventing SB from connecting?

Image

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Problem with SB 5.22 and connecting for updates and activation

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:34 pm

Hello LordTyrion ,

Please see:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=14580&p=86806&hili ... 029#p86806
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=21210&p=109698&hil ... 29#p109698

Does the offline activate work?
What is your Antivirus Software?

Regards,
Barb.-

LordTyrion
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:45 am

Re: Problem with SB 5.22 and connecting for updates and activation

Post by LordTyrion » Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:34 am

thx but i don´t seew how these two topics could help me.
as i wrote i already have tried with the windows firewall completely deactivated.

and i checked the rules i have created. there are onlyl two rules that allow SB to connect, no rule to block SB.

my AV is avira. i only use the antivirus part no other modules.
i have disabled the avira realtime scanner too.

----------------MERGED POST --------------------------
tried offline activation.... that worked.

but i would like to solve this puzzle and know why SB is unable to connect from this specific system.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Problem with SB 5.22 and connecting for updates and activation

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:23 pm

Hello LordTyrion,

Glad the offline activation worked!

There is something on your computer blocking connections to the Sandboxie server, thus you are receiving that error.
Give this a try (if there is no Firewall/Antivirus conflict):
viewtopic.php?p=128084#p128084

Regards,
Barb.-

LordTyrion
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:45 am

Re: Problem with SB 5.22 and connecting for updates and activation

Post by LordTyrion » Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:49 am

There is something on your computer blocking connections to the Sandboxie server, thus you are receiving that error.
yeah well i know that much :lol: :wink:

but what could i t be?

i build my first computer with 10 years in 1982, a ZX 81,and i would say i am pretty good at finding computer issues.

but i don´t see anything external that could prevent SB from connecting.
i checked the posts you linked too, did not solve the issue.

i checked the host file, i removed avira, i disabled the windows firewall.
and no other software has issues connecting.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2831
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Problem with SB 5.22 and connecting for updates and activation

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Dec 08, 2017 11:40 am

Hello LordTyrion,

You can find more info about error 12029 here, it may help you determine what's blocked:
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... s.85).aspx

I tested disabling TLS 1.2 (looks like the default ones now are TLS 1.0, 1.1 and 1.2) and received the exact same message you did. Try enabling that one (you can use my previous post as a guide).

Another option is Restoring settings:
Run inetcpl.cpl
Go to "Advanced" tab
Hit "Restore Advanced Settings" (This should enable the TLS settings as needed).
Apply and Ok
Re-test activation

Regards,
Barb.-

LordTyrion
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 03, 2017 9:45 am

Re: [error 12029 by 14] SB 5.22 -connecting for updates and activation

Post by LordTyrion » Sat Dec 09, 2017 9:28 am

I tested disabling TLS 1.2 (looks like the default ones now are TLS 1.0, 1.1 and 1.2) and received the exact same message you did. Try enabling that one (you can use my previous post as a guide)
i checked that before and all TLS versions are checked.

resetting the advanced settings and rebooting did not change anything.

i then reseted internet explorer (set back all setting to default) and suddenly.... it worked. eureka!

Image


the strange thing is i never use IE. i use chrome and firefox. so i don´t know what could have changed settings.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests