Page 1 of 4

Firefox 57/58 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie[FIXED in beta 5.25.4]

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:13 pm
by peternm22
Firefox has put up the binaries for Firefox 57 already (due for official release tomorrow), so I decided to give it whirl since it's suppose to be a really big upgrade.

As soon as I launch Firefox inside Sandboxie, I get a message saying my Firefox tab just crashed, and an error from Sandboxie (it looks like Firefox is trying to run a debug app on the crash, but I don't have that .exe whitelisted). It's impossible to navigate anywhere, I just get a new crash message whenever I try a new site.

Anyone else seeing this? I'm running the latest version of Sandboxie (5.22) on Windows 10 64 bit (fully patched, including Fall Creators Update).

Firefox runs without a single issue outside of Sandboxie (it's what I'm using to post this right now).

See the attached image from a screenshot of the error(s).

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:23 pm
by peternm22
I thought it may have been one of the restrictions I had applied on that Sandbox, so I created a new Sandbox and left all of the settings at the defaults. Running Firefox within the new Sandbox still results in the same tab crashes.

----------------MERGED POST------------------------------
New Firefox profile doesn't fix this either.

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:18 pm
by bo.elam
Hi Peter, I dont know, maybe your antivirus is causing the issue or an addon you are using is conflicting. But I can tell you, I tested Firefox 57 and 58 a few times this past few weeks in W10 1709 64 bits, and every time the browser worked very well with Sandboxie. Earlier today I tested 57 and all was well, including watching videos in YouTube.

Bo

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:49 pm
by peternm22
So it sounds like it must be something with my configuration then. I only use the built in Windows Defender antivirus (nothing 3rd party). Also, the new Firefox profile I created didn't have any addons since it was a fresh profile.

Are you just using the default Sandboxie settings? Or have you tweaked anything?

Thanks.

-----------MERGED POST-----
I did some more playing around, and it will load sites about every 1/10 times. If I keep trying to load the same page, it will eventually load. If I then try to refresh it, I get the tab crashed message again.

I uninstalled Flash on the off chance that was causing a problem, no change.

I also whitelisted a bunch of .exe files in the Firefox folder under start/run and internet restrictions in Sandboxie, still no change.

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:00 am
by bo.elam
peternm22 wrote:
Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:49 pm
So it sounds like it must be something with my configuration then. I only use the built in Windows Defender antivirus (nothing 3rd party). Also, the new Firefox profile I created didn't have any addons since it was a fresh profile.

Are you just using the default Sandboxie settings? Or have you tweaked anything?

Thanks.
Windows defender should be fine. I tested running an installer in a sandbox, so always used a default settings sandbox.

Bo

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:58 am
by Aya_Tachibana
Just tested today, with the oficial release of the Firefox 57, and it still crashes the tab (can't open any tab).

Using Windows 10 Fully updated (including FCU), and updated Sandboxie.
I tried deleting the extensions, but it still doesn't work.

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:24 am
by Barb@Invincea
All,

I am unable to reproduce the issue on Windows 10 x64 + FF 57.
Have you deleted the contents of your Sandbox prior to launching the new version of Firefox?

Can you please try the following:
Create a new Sandbox with default settings (do not copy settings from another box)
Try launching Firefox

If that fails, launch Firefox outside Sandboxie
Type about:config
Search sandbox
Change security.sandbox.content.level to 2 or less
Re-try launching Firefox in Sandboxie (if the behavior continues, revert the changes).

Can I also get a copy of your Sandboxie configuration?
Configure--> Edit Configuration
Copy/paste the contents in the forum
Highlight the output and click the "</>" button to format them.

Regards,
Barb.-

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:45 am
by Aya_Tachibana
Barb@Invincea wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:24 am
All,

I am unable to reproduce the issue on Windows 10 x64 + FF 57.
Have you deleted the contents of your Sandbox prior to launching the new version of Firefox?

Can you please try the following:
Create a new Sandbox with default settings (do not copy settings from another box)
Try launching Firefox

If that fails, launch Firefox outside Sandboxie
Type about:config
Search sandbox
Change security.sandbox.content.level to 2 or less
Re-try launching Firefox in Sandboxie (if the behavior continues, revert the changes).

Can I also get a copy of your Sandboxie configuration?
Configure--> Edit Configuration
Copy/paste the contents in the forum
Highlight the output and click the "</>" button to format them.

Regards,
Barb.-

Yes, I already tried to delete the sandbox contentes before opening the program, but no sucess.

I tried creating a new sandbox, but still doesn't work.

Changing the values of security.sandbox.content.level to 2 or 1 actually worked! Nice!
Is changing that value to something less than 3 a security risk?

Here is my Sandboxie Configuration:

I use Firefox with the NormalBox.

Code: Select all

[GlobalSettings]

Template=OfficeClickToRun
Template=WindowsRasMan
Template=7zipShellEx
Template=Avast_Antivirus
Template=WindowsLive
Template=OfficeLicensing

[UserSettings_086401B3]

SbieCtrl_UserName=hiro
SbieCtrl_NextUpdateCheck=1511277694
SbieCtrl_UpdateCheckNotify=n
SbieCtrl_ShowWelcome=n
SbieCtrl_WindowCoords=200,140,1068,417
SbieCtrl_ActiveView=40021
SbieCtrl_ProcessViewColumnWidths=250,70,300
SbieCtrl_HideWindowNotify=n
SbieCtrl_AutoApplySettings=n
SbieCtrl_SettingChangeNotify=n
SbieCtrl_EnableLogonStart=n
SbieCtrl_EnableAutoStart=y
SbieCtrl_AddDesktopIcon=n
SbieCtrl_AddQuickLaunchIcon=n
SbieCtrl_AddContextMenu=y
SbieCtrl_AddSendToMenu=y
SbieCtrl_BoxExpandedView=NormalBox,TorrentBox

[TorrentBox]

ConfigLevel=7
Template=WindowsFontCache
Template=BlockPorts
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
BorderColor=#FF8000
Enabled=y
AutoDelete=y
NeverDelete=n
CopyLimitKb=491520
CopyLimitSilent=y
BoxNameTitle=n
RecoverFolder=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%
ForceProcess=opera_autoupdate.exe
ForceProcess=opera.exe
ForceProcess=qbittorrent.exe
ForceProcess=qbitto~1.exe
ForceFolder=C:\Users\Hiro\Secure Testing
ForceFolder=C:\Users\Hiro\AppData\Local\Programs\Opera

[NormalBox]

ConfigLevel=7
Template=Chrome_Profile_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Sync_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Preferences_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Passwords_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Cookies_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_History_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Bookmarks_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Force
Template=Firefox_Profile_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Session_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Passwords_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Cookies_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Bookmarks_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Force
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=BlockPorts
Template=WindowsFontCache
BorderColor=#FFFF00,off
Enabled=y
NeverDelete=n
CopyLimitKb=49152
CopyLimitSilent=y
BoxNameTitle=-
RecoverFolder=%My Video%
RecoverFolder=%My Music%
RecoverFolder=%My Pictures%
RecoverFolder=%Personal%
RecoverFolder=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:16 pm
by Barb@Invincea
Changing the values of security.sandbox.content.level to 2 or 1 actually worked! Nice!
Please see these threads for related issues involving sandbox.content.level:
search.php?keywords=security.sandbox.content.level

There are some issues that come up if security.sandbox.content.level is set to 3. However, for me on Win 10 x64, it works fine with level 3. Seems to be "random" ...Still investigating.

For the time being, the workaround should do the trick. Here's more info:
viewtopic.php?p=130611#p130611

Regards,
Barb.-

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:23 pm
by d1312r32f1r3211
Exactly same situation here. There seems to be multiple Firefox processes that pop up (and dissappear as soon a tab crashes) when I open a new tab. I'm not sure if they have anything to do with the problem, but I haven't seen similiar behavior before.

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:25 pm
by Barb@Invincea
d1312r32f1r3211 ,

Did you try the steps and the workaround I provided above?

Regards,
Barb.-

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:30 pm
by howiem
This worked for me using
Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit,
Sandboxie 5.22,
Firefox 57 (Quantum),
Microsoft Security Essentials Antimalware Client Version: 4.10.209.0
Engine Version: 1.1.14306.0
Antivirus definition: 1.257.459.0
Antispyware definition: 1.257.459.0
Network Inspection System Engine Version: 2.1.14202.0
Network Inspection System Definition Version: 118.1.0.0

Found these in the Mozilla forum :
http://www.ghacks.net/2016/07/22/multi-process-firefox/
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1175046
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1159697
So I
1. Typed about:config<enter> in the FF 57 address bar. When the
warning screen came up, press the 'I will Be Careful' button.
At the top of the about:config page is a search bar.
2. Type in browser.tabs.remote.autostart and make sure it says false, and if not toggle it to false by double clicking the item.
3. Type in browser.tabs.remote.autostart.2 and make sure it says false, and if not toggle it to false by double clicking the item.
See the attachment
Restart Firefox 57
I have not had any performance issues since I did the above actions, although it is possible that FF would work even faster with multiprocessing enabled, but apparently not on my computer.

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:34 pm
by Aya_Tachibana
Barb@Invincea wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:16 pm
Changing the values of security.sandbox.content.level to 2 or 1 actually worked! Nice!
Please see these threads for related issues involving sandbox.content.level:
search.php?keywords=security.sandbox.content.level

There are some issues that come up if security.sandbox.content.level is set to 3. However, for me on Win 10 x64, it works fine with level 3. Seems to be "random" ...Still investigating.

For the time being, the workaround should do the trick. Here's more info:
viewtopic.php?p=130611#p130611

Regards,
Barb.-
Thank you for the information.

Since we still don't know the reason for the malfunction, I will post here some info about my computer (maybe it have something to do with it):

OS: Windows 10 - 64 Bits (16299.19)
CPU: Intel Core i5-4200U
RAM: 8GB
SSD: 128GB
GPU: Nvidia Geforce 740M - 2GB
AV: Avast Internet Security
howiem wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:30 pm
This worked for me using
Windows 7 Ultimate 32bit,
Sandboxie 5.22,
Firefox 57 (Quantum),
Microsoft Security Essentials Antimalware Client Version: 4.10.209.0
Engine Version: 1.1.14306.0
Antivirus definition: 1.257.459.0
Antispyware definition: 1.257.459.0
Network Inspection System Engine Version: 2.1.14202.0
Network Inspection System Definition Version: 118.1.0.0

Found these in the Mozilla forum :
http://www.ghacks.net/2016/07/22/multi-process-firefox/
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1175046
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/questions/1159697
So I
1. Typed about:config<enter> in the FF 57 address bar. When the
warning screen came up, press the 'I will Be Careful' button.
At the top of the about:config page is a search bar.
2. Type in browser.tabs.remote.autostart and make sure it says false, and if not toggle it to false by double clicking the item.
3. Type in browser.tabs.remote.autostart.2 and make sure it says false, and if not toggle it to false by double clicking the item.
See the attachment
Restart Firefox 57
I have not had any performance issues since I did the above actions, although it is possible that FF would work even faster with multiprocessing enabled, but apparently not on my computer.
Thsi actually worked here too. Nice.
For me, the browser.tabs.remote.autostart was set to false and browser.tabs.remote.autostart.2 was set to true. Now both of them are false and Firefox works.

EDIT: After checking that it worked, I changed to the default values, and look, even if browser.tabs.remote.autostart.2 is true and security.sandbox.content.level is set to 3, now Firefox Works in the sandbox. The only strange thins is that browser.tabs.remote.autostart.2 is set as a string, and not as a boolean, and I don't know if that will make any difference.

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:08 pm
by d1312r32f1r3211
Barb@Invincea wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:25 pm
d1312r32f1r3211 ,

Did you try the steps and the workaround I provided above?

Regards,
Barb.-
Yes, with similiar results as Aya_Tachibana had.

In my Sandboxie Control I have 5 firefox.exe processes running at the same time. The first one is regular Firefox process and the rest are without icons or tittles. These blank Firefox processes seem to increase (by 2 at max) when opening new tabs.

Re: Firefox 57 Crashes Immediately When Run inside Sandboxie

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:27 pm
by sphinx8911
Barb@Invincea wrote:
Tue Nov 14, 2017 12:25 pm
d1312r32f1r3211 ,

Did you try the steps and the workaround I provided above?

Regards,
Barb.-
Hello,
I am facing this issue too: this is the crash report of the tab:
https://crash-stats.mozilla.com/report/ ... 3c30171114

It seems related to Intel Graphics driver. I am running on Intel HD 4000 (Ivy Bridge), Windows 10 64-bit Intel driver version: 10.18.10.4653
Could you ask the devs to try reproducing this on an intel graphics machine ? No AV or antimalware of any kind. Only built-in defender (default settings untouched) and Sandboxie.

EDIT: Is everyone else crashing having the same crash report info ? You can get it by getting to crash, then run unsandboxed, and go to about:crashes, and check the ones at the very top... click on them will open a site... copy that url and paste them url.