Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
darrellr
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:36 am

Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Post by darrellr » Thu Nov 02, 2017 2:15 pm

I use the Compact Dark theme in Firefox and it is a little broken now with the new combination of the Fall Creators Update and Firefox 56.02 and Sandboxie 5.21 betas and 5.22 release:

Windowed:
sandboxie.PNG
sandboxie.PNG (13.27 KiB) Viewed 337 times
Fullscreen:
Sandboxie FS.PNG
Sandboxie FS.PNG (441 Bytes) Viewed 337 times
The entire area should be dark, but it isn't. When I start Firefox outside of the sandbox it works fine. I have started firefox without addons, deleted my sandbox contents, tried a different and new sandbox. It really seems like this issue has happened before. This is happening on two different laptops separated by about 6 years of age, but the same software on them. One is using Intel graphics, the other is an onboard nVidia chip, so I don't think it is a graphics driver issue.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1873
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Nov 02, 2017 8:47 pm

Hello darrellr,

Please see
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24626&hilit=firefox+theme

Regards,
Barb.-

darrellr
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:36 am

Re: Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Post by darrellr » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:06 am

I just tried those steps (creating a cmd file and running command prompt first sandboxed, then calling the cmd file. No dice. Same theme issue. At some point, a release of sandboxie was created that addressed the issue before (5.11 maybe?), so there must be a fix in sandboxie for this (or a workaround).

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1873
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Nov 03, 2017 3:22 pm

Hello darrellr ,

Aside from a workaround, there is a thread linked to that post which contains an explanation as to why this happens, and what are other available options. viewtopic.php?p=129069#p129069

You are probably going to have to switch themes until you find one that works.

Regards,
Barb.-

darrellr
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:36 am

Re: Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Post by darrellr » Fri Nov 03, 2017 4:39 pm

Seriously? This is not even a third party theme - it is delivered by Mozilla. If it works outside of the sandbox, but breaks inside of the sandbox, why is the answer "you're holding it wrong" appropriate? Note that it did not work well for Apple to use that excuse. The workaround I mentioned was created by your own developers, evidently, because it was "fixed" by a new sandboxie build. Not a new theme, not a new install, just a sandboxie upgrade. The posts you send do not work this time for whatever reason.

Again, I would understand a little better with some third-party theme that would be unpredictable, but this one should work. It has happened before, sandboxie fixed it, not Mozilla. Please try harder :).

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1873
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:30 pm

Hello darrellr,

As explained on the previous post, this issue is related to how Firefox Themes interact with Windows 10, and how Sandboxie then interacts with Windows 10.
viewtopic.php?p=122503#p122503

Below you can see a search result of all the related threads for more info:
search.php?keywords=firefox+theme

Workarounds will not necessarily do the trick for everybody, so the best option will be to change the theme (if all else fails).

This is a minor issue, so I am not sure it will get addressed anytime soon. However, it is a known problem and if a fix is found, it will be added to future betas or Sandboxie releases.

Regards,
Barb.-

darrellr
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:36 am

Re: Firefox compact theme broken (again?)

Post by darrellr » Fri Nov 03, 2017 5:35 pm

It is not really a minor issue to me. Once I get a screen width of tabs, it becomes very difficult the use the right most area because the tab + and the minimize windows button share the same space, and it is hard to hit the one you want. I am not trying to be a jerk, really, but I just hate a product (sandboxie, imho, since FF and Windows 10 seem to get along outside of the sandbox) breaking functionality like this out of the blue. I did research this quite a while before posting, so I have seen the threads. Thanks for trying to help out, I do appreciate it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 8 guests