Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
PiwPi
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:36 pm

Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by PiwPi » Sat Oct 14, 2017 7:02 pm

Flash has problems with Sandboxie + Firefox 64bit versions. Depending on the flash version I have installed it either fails to play completely or has no audio. The latest version of Flash (27.0.0.159) will not play flash at all, it waits awhile then pops up a message saying there was a problem and asks if I want to wait or continue. The previous flash version 27.0.0.130 will play the video but no audio.

When running Firefox outside of Sandboxie I have no problems. I have tried changing the "security.sandbox.content.level" to 0, 1, and 2 without success. I have e10s disabled. Running Firefox 32bit sandboxed I have no problems. I'd rather not go back to 32bit since 64bit has better performance for me.

Any solutions to this?

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Oct 16, 2017 11:40 am

Hello PiwPi,

Does the issue occur in a new Sandbox with default settings?

Could you provide website examples that trigger the issue ?
Also, please provide the required info so that I can test the scenario:
viewtopic.php?p=104180#p104180

Just to double check, you disabled Firefox sandbox and e10s outside Sandboxie, correct? (Otherwise, please re-try disabling the settings outside Sandboxie, then delete the contents of your Sandbox and try again).

Regards,
Barb.-

PiwPi
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:36 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by PiwPi » Tue Oct 17, 2017 1:54 am

I'm using Win7 64bit, SBIE 5.20, FF 56 64bit, Avast anti-virus with all real-time monitoring disabled

Yes it occurs in a new sandbox with default settings.

Go to nba.com/video and pick any video to play. Or you can try http://wechoosethemoon.org/ , the beginning tutorial may or may not play, press the Start button and it fails to load.

Yes I disabled Firefox sandbox and e10s outside Sandboxie.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:11 pm

Hello PiwPi ,

I tested nba.com/videos as well as wechoosethemon.org, on Win 7 x 64 + FF 64 + Sbie latest beta and experienced no issues using Flash latest version 27.0.0.170
If you can, try removing flash from your computer (including older versions), and then do a fresh install and re-test.

Also, please give the latest beta a go (make sure to create a new Sandbox to test):
viewtopic.php?p=129389#p129389

Regards,
Barb.-

PiwPi
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:36 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by PiwPi » Tue Oct 17, 2017 7:03 pm

Were you using FF v.56?

I installed Sandboxie beta, uninstalled/reinstalled Flash 27.0.0.170, and tested in a new FF profile but it didn't fix it.

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2858
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by bo.elam » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:46 pm

FWIW, I also tested nba.com/video and wechoosethemon.org,and was able to watch videos and the rocket.

Bo

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:45 pm

Hello PiwPi ,
Were you using FF v.56?
Yes. I Was using Firefox 56.0.1 64 bits

Did you have a chance to test it inside a new Sandbox with default settings?
Can you please post your configuration file so that I can have a look?
Configure--> Edit configuration
Copy-paste the contents here, highlight them and use the </> button to format it.

Another suggestion would be to completely remove Avast for testing purposes and see if that makes a difference (if everything else fails).

Regards,
Barb.-

PiwPi
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:36 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by PiwPi » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:30 am

Yes I tested it inside a new sandbox with default settings.

Here's the configuration file:

Code: Select all

[GlobalSettings]

Template=RadeonPro
Template=WindowsLive
Template=WindowsRasMan
Template=LastPass
Template=Logitech_G15_Keyboard
Template=InternetDownloadManager
Template=Avast_Antivirus
Template=OfficeLicensing
Template=ObjectDock
Template=7zipShellEx
Template=LogitechSetPoint
Template=Volumouse
Template=nVidia_Stereoscopic3D
ExperimentalProtection64Bit=y
FileRootPath=Z:\Sandbox\%USER%\%SANDBOX%
KnownConflicts=avast

[DefaultBox]

ConfigLevel=7
AutoRecover=y
Template=Opera_Bookmarks_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Session_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Passwords_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Bookmarks_DirectAccess
Template=NitroPDF6
Template=NitroPDF5
Template=HP_UniversalPrintDriver
Template=AdobeAcrobat
Template=Opera_Force
Template=PaleMoon_Profile_DirectAccess
Template=IntelliTypePro
Template=Intel_HD_Graphics
Template=WindowsDefender
Template=BlockPorts
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
RecoverFolder=Z:
RecoverFolder=I:\My Files
RecoverFolder=Y:
RecoverFolder=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%
RecoverFolder=%Personal%
RecoverFolder=%Favorites%
RecoverFolder=%Desktop%
BorderColor=#FF00FF
Enabled=y
CopyLimitKb=200000
BoxNameTitle=y
OpenWinClass=palemoon.exe,pale moonmessagewindow
OpenWinClass=firefox.exe,FirefoxMessageWindow
LingerProcess=FlashPlayerPlugin_11_9_900_170.exe
LingerProcess=idmbroker.exe
LingerProcess=IEMonitor.exe
LingerProcess=plugin-container.exe
LingerProcess=fdm.exe
BlockFakeInput=y
BlockNetParam=y
OpenFilePath=Y:\
OpenFilePath=%Desktop%\
OpenFilePath=I:\My Files\
OpenFilePath=X:\
OpenFilePath=C:\Program Files (x86)\mIRC\
OpenFilePath=Z:\
OpenFilePath=C:\Windows\Web\Wallpaper\Wallpapers\
OpenFilePath=Z:\Program Files\Free Download Manager
OpenFilePath=Z:\Program Files\Free Download Manager\Data\
OpenFilePath=%AppData%\mIRC\
OpenFilePath=H:\
OpenFilePath=G:\
OpenFilePath=Z:\Program Files\FastStone thumbnail database\
OpenFilePath=J:\
OpenFilePath=C:\Program Files\Logitech Gaming Software\LCore.exe
OpenFilePath=W:\Regular\
OpenFilePath=%AppData%\IDM\
OpenFilePath=C:\Program Files (x86)\MSI Afterburner\
OpenFilePath=C:\Program Files (x86)\RivaTuner Statistics Server\
OpenFilePath=PDFXCview.exe,C:\Program Files\PDF-XChange Viewer\PDF Viewer\PDFXCview.exe
ClosedFilePath=*\avast\*snx*
ClosedFilePath=\Device\Mup\
OpenClsid={D713F357-7920-4B91-9EB6-49054709EC7A}

[UserSettings_084001A3]

SbieCtrl_UserName=dude
SbieCtrl_NextUpdateCheck=1555555555
SbieCtrl_UpdateCheckNotify=y
SbieCtrl_ShowWelcome=n
SbieCtrl_WindowCoords=548,132,894,712
SbieCtrl_ActiveView=40021
SbieCtrl_ProcessViewColumnWidths=250,70,300
SbieCtrl_AutoApplySettings=n
SbieCtrl_HideWindowNotify=n
SbieCtrl_ExplorerWarn=n
SbieCtrl_SaveRecoverTargets=n
SbieCtrl_EnableLogonStart=y
SbieCtrl_EnableAutoStart=y
SbieCtrl_AddDesktopIcon=y
SbieCtrl_AddQuickLaunchIcon=y
SbieCtrl_AddContextMenu=y
SbieCtrl_AddSendToMenu=y
SbieCtrl_ShouldDeleteNotify=n
SbieCtrl_BoxExpandedView=2ndSandbox,DefaultBox

[TemplateSettings]

Tmpl.PaleMoon.dude=Z:\Program Files\Firefox Profiles\Win7 Palemoon profile
Tmpl.Firefox.dude=Z:\Program Files\Firefox Profiles\Win7 profile

[2ndSandbox]

Enabled=y
ConfigLevel=7
AutoRecover=y
BlockNetworkFiles=y
Template=qWave
Template=WindowsFontCache
Template=BlockPorts
Template=LingerPrograms
Template=Chrome_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=Firefox_Phishing_DirectAccess
Template=AutoRecoverIgnore
RecoverFolder=%{374DE290-123F-4565-9164-39C4925E467B}%
RecoverFolder=%Personal%
RecoverFolder=%Favorites%
RecoverFolder=%Desktop%
BorderColor=#00FFFF,ttl

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:52 am

Hello PiwPi,

I still cannot repro the issue.

---> KnownConflicts=avast

Have you tried removing Avast to see if it made a difference? It may help us narrow down the issue.

I also noticed you have a lot of Global Templates, maybe try removing them one at a time to see if anything is conflicting? (Not sure it will make a difference, but won't hurt to try)
Configure --> Software Compatibility
Disable one at a time.

Regards,
Barb.-

PiwPi
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 12:36 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by PiwPi » Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:46 pm

I haven't removed Avast yet because I don't know if it's worth the hassle for Flash. I might do it to to test an issue I have with a different program. If I do I'll report back here. I'll try removing the global templates too. Thanks for helping me try to resolve this problem. It's much appreciated.

sand_widget
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:27 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by sand_widget » Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:34 pm

I have same problem with FF 56.0 (32bit) and win7. flash content plays perfectly when unsandboxed. Run FF in sandbox and videos either freeze or have no sound, also online radio wont play.
for example.... http://www.surfmusic.de/radio-station/n ... o,970.html
freezes at time 0:00. but unsandboxed works fine.

Everything was ok until sandbox update 5.2 about a week ago.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2668
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Flash problems with Firefox 64bit

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:43 am

Hello sand_widget,

Did you try the troubleshooting steps provided at the beginning of this post? (Turning sandbox content level to 2 [viewtopic.php?p=129898#p129898], deleting the contents of your Sandbox, removing Flash and installing a fresh copy of it... )

Please confirm, and if the issue persists, please provide the required info:
viewtopic.php?p=104180#p104180

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 6 guests