Installing Spotify in Sandboxie - GUI not displaying

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Mark_Tasso2
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:27 pm

Installing Spotify in Sandboxie - GUI not displaying

Post by Mark_Tasso2 » Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:38 am

Hi there!

I noticed that Spotify stopped working in Sandboxie since Spotify version 1.61. I tried Sandboxie 5.20 and the latest beta. The main window is renderd correct but no content will show up in Spotify. Would be interesting what caused the change since Spotify 1.60 is working without any problems. Maybe you can have a look at this problem.

Thx
Mark

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Spotify in Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Oct 09, 2017 7:33 pm

Hello Mark,

Could you please provide this information, so that we can test?:
viewtopic.php?p=104180#p104180

Have you deleted the contents of your Sandbox after updating Spotify?
Does the issue occur in a new Sandbox with default settings?

Is this issue ocurring via a web browser? (If so, which one).

Regards,
Barb.-

Mark_Tasso2
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Spotify in Sandboxie

Post by Mark_Tasso2 » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:44 pm

Hi Barb,

I've tested Windows 8.1 64bit and Windows 10 64bit.
Sandboxie version is 5.20 64bit and the newest beta.
I use Norton Security on Windows 8.1 but this isn't a problem since i don't use an AV on Windows 10.
I used a clean install from Sandboxie and Spotify with default settings (DefaultBox).

Spotify version 1.60 works in any Sandbox, every following version won't.
The Web-Version of Spotify loads but won't play any music (used to work in the past).

It seems Spotify changed something recently but i'm not able to figure out what changed.

Greetings,
Mark

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Spotify in Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:33 pm

Hello Mark_Tasso2 ,

I tested Spotify Web and was unable to hear sounds via Chrome or Firefox [Win 10 x64 + sbie latest beta 5.21.4 - No antivirus].
I was able to get it to work with Chrome by opening a hole in the Sandbox:
Right-Click on your Sandbox --> Sandbox settings--> Resource Access --> COM Access
Hit Add and paste
{77A1C827-FCD2-4689-8915-9D613CC5FA3E}
Hit Apply and OK your way out.
Configure--> Reload Configuration
Re-try Spotify web after deleting the contents of your Sandbox.
I have not tested this COM class extensively, so I am not sure if it will cause any undesired behavior. I recommend that, if you really need to run Spotify Sandboxed you either run the client, or that you create a Sandbox that only allows Chrome and apply the workaround.

The client did not present any issues for me.
Here's how I tested it:
I downloaded Spotify 1.0.64, installed it on the host and tested it Sandboxed ---> Able to play songs from the "home page" (under "Afternoon Soundtracks" ...Default view of Spotify Free , no customization added).
I updated it (outside Sandboxie) to 1.0.65, retried using it Sandboxed and audio played just fine.

Can you provide more information regarding how are you reproducing the problem?

Regards,
Barb.-

Mark_Tasso2
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:27 pm

Re: Spotify in Sandboxie

Post by Mark_Tasso2 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:08 pm

Hi Barb,

My main interest is the Spotify Client since the Web version isn't that good. I was able to reproduce your setup. The problem seems to occur if you install Spotify directly inside a Sandbox, then the interface loads only partial. If you install Spotify on your system (outside Sandboxie) and launch it inside a Sandbox everything works fine (just like you said). Still a strange behavior in my opinion. I hope this helps.

Greetings,
Mark

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 1883
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Spotify in Sandboxie

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:56 pm

Hello Mark,

Not all applications will work when installed in an isolated environment. I tried opening holes in the Sandbox to see if I could get the GUI to load, but no success so far.

However, installing Spotify on the host and launching Sandboxed (recommended), should do the trick for the time being.

I'll update this thread if new information comes up.

Regards,
Barb.-

kaashaas
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:20 am

Re: Spotify in Sandboxie

Post by kaashaas » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:23 am

Barb@Invincea wrote:
Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:56 pm
Hello Mark,

Not all applications will work when installed in an isolated environment. I tried opening holes in the Sandbox to see if I could get the GUI to load, but no success so far.

However, installing Spotify on the host and launching Sandboxed (recommended), should do the trick for the time being.

I'll update this thread if new information comes up.

Regards,
Barb.-
I got the exaxt same issue as the OP, however, I installed Spotify on the host, the first time it ran alright, the second time, after i rebooted my system it would not show the interface the second time...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests