Page 1 of 4

Firefox 56/57/58 sound/videos/printing not working when sandboxed [Fixed in beta 5.25.4]

Posted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:34 pm
by tech48
Tested the new release of Firefox 56.0 64-bit in Sandboxie 5.20 64-bit on Windows 8.1 64-bit

No sounds are working when sandboxed. Reverted back to 55.0.3.

Re: Firefox 56/57 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 11:37 am
by Barb@Invincea
Hello tech48,

I was able to repro this in Win 8.1 x64 and other OSs.
Here's a workaround:
viewtopic.php?p=129898#p129898

I'll make the devs aware.

Regards,
Barb.-

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:41 pm
by SolarisGrim
I think I was one of the few guys that got the first SB license when it was still in early development, than I haven't used it for years until few months ago since SB got so much better.

Now....SB became a big part of my security add-on for my browsers and I really like it.

When comes to browsers I really like the fact that FF is becoming more safe in some of the security aspects but it seems that is also adding additional conflict to SB as I have just found out by installing the latest FF 56.0 x64.

I couldn't figure out at first why I didn't have sound while running SB until I stumbled upon this thread. I hope that SB developer can keep up with the fixes so we don't have to go the short way and dropping levels of security within FF itself.

Thank you

:D

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:48 pm
by Sciguy30
Having the same issue with Windows 7 and Firefox 56.0.
I regret upgrading Firefox today. Should have waited a couple weeks first. Hope this issue can be fixed!

Sound is working perfectly fine on Firefox when not sandboxed if that helps any.

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:56 am
by Barb@Invincea
Hello Sciguy30 ,

You can use the workaround posted earlier in this thread for the time being.

Regards,
Barb.-

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 12:16 am
by Sciguy30
Thank you for the reply Barb. The work around worked perfectly!

Just to clarify, the difference between security level 3 and security level 2 is that level 3 blocks:
Read access to most of the filesystem
Excludes themes/GTK configuration, fonts, shared data and libraries

I am not very knowledgeable with computer concepts, but based on your post that Firefox currently uses the same security level 2, I assume that blocking the read access to most of the filesystem isn't a super critical safety component.

Basically, reducing the security level isn't putting anything in jeopardy.

Thank you once again and much appreciation!

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 5:18 pm
by ChickenSoup
Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed is happening to me too! It works ok if I remove it from sandboxie.

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:40 pm
by ChickenSoup
In fact, every browser (FF, IE, OPera) I put under sandboxie has the same problem...no audio. Take it out of sandboxie and audio works fine. I'm using Windows 7.

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 11:15 pm
by ChickenSoup
I got audio to work when Firefox is in Sandboxie by changing the security level to 2 (it was set to 3). Make sure you have taken Firefox out of Sandboxie at first. Then, start Firefox and type in "about:config" (without quotes) into the URL box. Firefox displays a warning. I accepted the consequences. Typed into the search box "security.sandbox.content.level" (without quotes) and that should appear below. Click on modify the value and enter 2. If that doesn't work you can keep reducing that value to 0 security level... not advised. Then, when you break out of Firefox, put Firefox back into Sandboxie. Then, you should now have audio in youtube.
https://www.ghacks.net/2017/01/23/how-t ... ity-level/

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:13 am
by Iceman_B
Just wanted to add that I have this issue too on Windows 7. Lowering the Sandbox setting in Firefox as suggested in this thread solved the problem.
Does anyone have some background on the root cause of this issue?

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:22 am
by APMichael
Maybe the bug is related to: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/5 ... easenotes/ ?

"Unresolved: Users running Firefox for Windows over a Remote Desktop Connection (RDP) may find that audio playback is disabled due to increased security restrictions. Learn how to mitigate this issue until it is corrected in an upcoming release." > "... Search for security.sandbox.content.level and set it to 2. "

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:20 pm
by tech48
APMichael wrote:
Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:22 am
Maybe the bug is related to: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/5 ... easenotes/ ?

"Unresolved: Users running Firefox for Windows over a Remote Desktop Connection (RDP) may find that audio playback is disabled due to increased security restrictions. Learn how to mitigate this issue until it is corrected in an upcoming release." > "... Search for security.sandbox.content.level and set it to 2. "
Not related. As I noted above it only happens when the application is run inside sandboxie. The security sandbox level in firefox was increased from 2 to 3 which I forgot to modify in my user.js prefs script. In future firefox releases it will be raised to level 4. We're stuck on security.sandbox.content.level 2 until sandboxie supports the higher content security levels.

https://wiki.mozilla.org/Security/Sandbox

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:20 am
by Barb@Invincea
All,

We are aware of the issue, and we are monitoring due to this:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1388046

Once more information becomes available, we will update this thread.
For the time being, please the workaround to run Firefox sandboxed.

Regards,
Barb.-

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:55 pm
by ski
I have Win 7.
I lost sound in FF 56.0(32 bit) only when it's inside Sandboxie 5.20(64 bit).
Disabling "Multiprocess Windows" in FF using following workaround restored the sound -
about:config
browser.tabs.remote.autostart
If Value is True, double click browser.tabs.remote.autostart to change it to False
restart Firefox

Re: Firefox 56.0 sound not working when sandboxed

Posted: Tue Oct 24, 2017 2:41 pm
by Frog8
I tried the fix and even went down to 0 and the sound still doesn't work for me