Opening links in sandboxed application doesn't work. [SOLVED]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Micah71381
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:26 pm

Opening links in sandboxed application doesn't work. [SOLVED]

Post by Micah71381 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 12:12 am

I have a computer that I installed an OS on and then installed Sandboxie. I then created a new sandbox and install Slack and Chrome in it. Chrome required me to launch with `--no-sandbox` but otherwise it is working. However, when I click a link in Slack, nothing happens. My expectation is that the link would open in the copy of Chrome installed in that sandbox.

Note: The link doesn't do _anything_. No browser window is opened, inside or outside of the sandbox.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2675
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Opening links in sandboxed application doesn't work.

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Sep 15, 2017 9:47 am

Hello Micah71381,

Please provide the following info so that I can test it:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Regards,
Barb.-

Micah71381
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Opening links in sandboxed application doesn't work.

Post by Micah71381 » Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:18 pm

It turns out my problem was that my default browser was set to Edge in Windows. Switching it to Internet Explorer 11 resolved the problem. I'm going to submit a new question on how to have a browser installed inside a sandbox be the default browser.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests