Symantec / Norton 360 - Unable to launch web browsers

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

brw11
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 12:53 pm

Re: Norton 360 - Unable to launch web browsers

Post by brw11 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:20 pm

I completely reinstalled Norton on the Windows 8.1 computer. I completely removed Sandboxie and reinstalled in windows 10 Creators Update (including emptying the sandboxes). None of this made a difference. Also, as I noted, disabling Norton didn't help. I don't think the problem is Norton related but rather Windows updates related. As I mentioned there are no problems with exactly the same configuration and Norton in Windows 7. I suggest moving my posts in this topic to the general "Windows 10 - Fall Update - Not yet supported [work in progress]" and especially include my posts from another topic I created called "Windows 10 & Windows 8.1 No Longer Work" since one of them contains a snapshot of what was going on in Sandboxie. Note that Windows 8.1 and Windows 10 are more closely aligned than either is to Windows 7 so it would make sense that their updates would have similar effects in some areas. Also note that Creators Update itself was working fine with Sandboxie until the October updates. Likewise Windows 8.1 was fine until October.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Norton 360 - Unable to launch web browsers

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:27 pm

Hello brw11,

The Windows 10 Creator's Fall Update is being used to track Windows 10 update OS issues only. Windows 8.1 is not related to that thread, and neither is Norton.

Thank you for the update regarding reinstalling Norton, we are still unable to reproduce the issue as reported. Some users were able to get it back to work by reinstalling, some others had to disable the exploit protection as noted before (which seems to be your option right now).

If I get a chance today, I'll do another set of tests to see if I can find out anything else.

Regards,
Barb.-

APMichael
Posts: 176
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2014 5:54 am
Location: Germany

Re: Norton 360 - Unable to launch web browsers

Post by APMichael » Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:44 am

brw11 wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:20 pm
...Also, as I noted, disabling Norton didn't help. I don't think the problem is Norton related but rather Windows updates related...
Did you try uninstalling Norton (without reinstalling it again)? Because:
tuppington wrote:
Mon Sep 18, 2017 12:02 pm
I figured out Norton was the problem because I uninstalled it and Sandboxie worked...
And this is not the first time Norton causing such an issue: viewtopic.php?f=11&t=21965

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Norton 360 - Unable to launch web browsers

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:35 pm

UPDATE 2 :

After repeating the below listed steps, I can also run Firefox in the Sandbox. The first time I have to follow the 10 attempts, but after that, browsers launch normally at the first try.

These actions prove that the issue is on Norton's side, not so much on Sandboxie, since without making changes I am able to launch the applications.

I'll update this post if I find anything else.
----------------------------------------- X ---------------------------------------------------
UPDATE:

I know how this sounds but...Can somebody please test the following?
1 - Try opening IE sandboxed --> Receive the SBIE2101 message --> Click Hide.
2 - Keep trying opening IE sandboxed (almost spam it) (you may receive a sysmer.exe error during this process) .
3 - Let me know if after time 10+ IE actually starts launching Sandboxed.

I was able to repro this behavior twice (going back to my broken snapshot). After doing that, I was able open IE and Chrome Sandboxed (Firefox still returns the sbie2101 message). It could be random, but...might be worth a shot.

Another thing to try is to add the following to a desired Sandbox:
ReadFilePath=C:\Program Files\Norton Security\NortonData\22.11.0.41\Definitions\IPSDefs\20171019.001\IPSEng64.dll

----------------------------------------- X ---------------------------------------------------
All,

I was finally able to repro the issue in one VM, but several factors had to take place:
1 - Update from CU to FCU. [After this, I tested the previously installed Norton, no issues.]
2 - Have an expired Norton Security Trial.
3 - Download a new trial (this time Norton Security Deluxe (was the only one available)) .
4 - Allow Norton Security Deluxe to remove old Norton and install newer version - Reboot.
5 - Updated Sandboxie to latest beta (fully removed it, then created a new Sandbox).

After those steps, I am receiving SBIE2101 Object name not found: , error OpenProcess (C0000022) access=001FFFFF initialized=1 when I try to launch web browsers. So far, I have not been able to find a workaround but I made the devs aware of the issue.

I still need to test if re-installing Norton (fully removing it, then installing from scratch) makes a difference, since it was working fine on the previous fresh installation.

I will update this post as soon as more info becomes available.

Regards,
Barb.-

John2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:18 am

Can no longer open Firefox with Sandboxie 5.18 or 5.20

Post by John2 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:58 pm

Ever since I upgraded to 5.20 I have not been able to open Firefox with Sandboxie. All I get is a Mozilla Crash Reporter window. I thought if I reverted to 5.18 that would fix it, but I just did and everything is the same. I'm using Win 7 Pro 64 bit.

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2868
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Can no longer open Firefox with Sandboxie 5.18 or 5.20

Post by bo.elam » Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:28 pm

Hi John, try deleting the sandbox if you don't set it to delete automatically. If that don't apply or don't help, create a new sandbox, leave default settings, and run Firefox in it.

You can also update to latest beta to see if it help.

What antivirus, other security programs are you using?

Bo

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Can no longer open Firefox with Sandboxie 5.18 or 5.20

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:24 am

Hello John2,

If deleting the contents of your Sandbox and updating to the latest beta does not work, please provide the required information so that we can assist you:
viewtopic.php?p=104180#p104180

Regards,
Barb.-

John2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:18 am

Re: Can no longer open Firefox with Sandboxie 5.18 or 5.20

Post by John2 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:56 am

Thanks. None of that helped. This is what I'm using now:

Win 7 Pro 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601 (64 Bit)
Sandboxie 5.21.7 (64 Bit)
Firefox 56.0.1 (64 Bit)
Norton Security version 22.11.0.41

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2868
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Can no longer open Firefox with Sandboxie 5.18 or 5.20

Post by bo.elam » Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:18 am

John2 wrote:
Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:56 am
Thanks. None of that helped. This is what I'm using now:

Win 7 Pro 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601 (64 Bit)
Sandboxie 5.21.7 (64 Bit)
Firefox 56.0.1 (64 Bit)
Norton Security version 22.11.0.41
The problem is related to Norton. You might be able to fix your issue by disabling Norton's toolbars. You can also try turning Norton Exploit Prevention setting to Off, doing that allows Firefox and IE to run for some users. For others, uninstalling and reinstalling Norton fixed the problem.

If none of that work, then you'll have to uninstall Norton for Sandboxie to work. Thats really the only certain fix. Norton is always conflicting with Sandboxie. Read this ongoing thread, is new and is more about problems in W10 with Norton and Sandboxie but still, is good for you to read.
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24879

Bo

John2
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2015 9:18 am

Re: Norton 360 - Unable to launch web browsers

Post by John2 » Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:39 pm

bo.elam wrote:
Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:18 am
The problem is related to Norton. You might be able to fix your issue by disabling Norton's toolbars. You can also try turning Norton Exploit Prevention setting to Off, doing that allows Firefox and IE to run for some users. For others, uninstalling and reinstalling Norton fixed the problem.

If none of that work, then you'll have to uninstall Norton for Sandboxie to work. Thats really the only certain fix. Norton is always conflicting with Sandboxie. Read this ongoing thread, is new and is more about problems in W10 with Norton and Sandboxie but still, is good for you to read.
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24879

Bo
Well I don't use the Norton Toolbars or even allow them to be installed. I'm very committed to keeping Norton, and I would not want to disable an anti-exploit feature. The only browser it's happening with is Firefox. I can open IE and Chrome just fine with Sandboxie, but FF is the one I want to.

I may try uninstalling and reinstalling Norton, but to be honest I'm not comfortable with that at all. It's a big project and I'd be concerned about a new problem arising from doing that.

There's no way I'd ever give up Norton, so I'm kind of bummed right now.

Blarg
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:20 pm

Chrome runs in background

Post by Blarg » Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:37 pm

Any time I try to run chrome sandboxed it starts up and does not show a window. Task manager shows it as a background process. I've tried with uac and everything but no luck. It runs out of the sandbox with no problems or popups. I have no addin's installed in chrome. Firefox runs fine in Sandboxie. I'm on Win10 and v5.20 of Sandboxie. This has been an issue for awhile (i.e. pre fall update) but didn't bother posting until now. Any ideas?

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Chrome runs in background

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:02 am

Hello Blarg,

If you are using Windows 10 Creator's Fall Update, you need the latest beta of Sandboxie (5.20 does not support it).
Please see:
viewtopic.php?p=130657#p130657

Are you running any antivirus Software?
Does the issue happen in a new Sandbox with default settings?

Regards,
Barb.-

Blarg
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:20 pm

Re: Chrome runs in background

Post by Blarg » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:13 am

Ok completely forgot to check AV. I'm using Symantec endpoint protection and disabling it does allow it to run in the foreground. Any ideas how to make it work without doing this?

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2817
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Norton 360 - Unable to launch web browsers

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:16 am

Hello Blarg ,

Please see the responses above for possible workarounds.

Regards,
Barb.-

EXILE
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 20, 2014 1:07 pm

Chrome & Firefox not opening in Sanboxie

Post by EXILE » Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:56 pm

Hi Guys & Gals,
I few weeks ago I started having problems opening Chrome "set as default" in sandboxie it would look like it was going to start and then just get the red X and close. I made my default browser Firefox and that worked so I figured it would be fixed in the next beta of now the final v5.22 but I still have the same problem as do two of my friends. Now the same thing is happening with firefox, it just started after the latest firefox update. I tried uninstalling all three programs and reinstalling but I still have the issue.

Running Windows 10 Pro 1703 x64 Firefox v56.0.2 and chrome v62.0.3202.75 x64

Any Help Would Be Greatly Appreciated,

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests