Installing Java inside the sandbox

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
pipppero2007
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:28 pm

Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by pipppero2007 » Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:02 am

Hello,

need to use a program that needs java.

I don't have java in the host.

I run java from the website and it install it fine.

I am able to open Java console, etc.

When I run the app that needs java it says "Java is corrupted in the registry".

So my question is: Java can be installed in a sandbox?

PS: I am sure as hell that in the past i installed java inside the sandbox without any issues but I were in Windows 7 or 8.

JimC@invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by JimC@invincea » Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:24 am

Hello-

Have you attempted to install on a completely fresh sandbox?

Syrinx
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 621
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:11 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by Syrinx » Mon Sep 11, 2017 3:49 pm

Gave it a quick test on a Win 7 x64 VM and I was able to complete the 'install' process within SBIE but right clicking on a .jar and selecting Run Sandboxed from the host (which didn't have the java environment variables added) resulted in an open with dialog. I did not see the error as initially reported (is it possible you have leftovers from a previous java install on the host?) but either way it looks like using it, just inside, may require something such as a shortcut set to use Start.exe and the java path directly more akin to the portable versions of java- eg like the setup minecraft uses.
http://goo.gl/p8qFCf
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIxWgVOCexU

pipppero2007
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:28 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by pipppero2007 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 6:13 am

Hold on, i explain better.

Host without java.

Fresh SB area.

Installing java into SB.

Installing a software that needs java (not a .jar) into SB.

Running software gives error.

Syrinx
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 621
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:11 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by Syrinx » Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:08 am

It might be easier to reproduce the case if this software had a name or even a url fro which to grab it. I'm not keen on java or the related programs so hunting for a match isn't exactly on my to-do list....
http://goo.gl/p8qFCf
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIxWgVOCexU

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:00 am

Hello pipppero2007,

Please provide this info so that we can test it:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Regards,
Barb.-

pipppero2007
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:28 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by pipppero2007 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 5:52 am

Windows 10 64 bit 1703

New SANDBOX

Install official Java in the SANDBOX
https://www.java.com/it/download/win10.jsp

Install "Angry IP Scanner 3.5.1 ipscan-3.5.1-setup" in the SANDBOX
http://angryip.org/download/

ERROR:
This application requires a Java Runtime etc.


So, maybe, my correct question SHOULD BE:

How I can install correctly java INSIDE the sandbox without install it in the host?

Syrinx
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 621
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:11 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by Syrinx » Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:13 am

Tested in two VMs, Windows 7 x64 & Windows 10 x64 CU Fully Updated.
Installed Java 8 x64 in the box.
Installed Angry IP Scanner 3.5.1 in the box.
It installed and ran for me on both. Sorry, just not seeing the issue at this end.
http://goo.gl/p8qFCf
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIxWgVOCexU

pipppero2007
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 10, 2013 1:28 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by pipppero2007 » Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:02 pm

Syrinx wrote:
Sat Sep 16, 2017 11:13 am
Tested in two VMs, Windows 7 x64 & Windows 10 x64 CU Fully Updated.
Installed Java 8 x64 in the box.
Installed Angry IP Scanner 3.5.1 in the box.
It installed and ran for me on both. Sorry, just not seeing the issue at this end.
I tried on Win 8.1 and Win 10 CU with the same bad results.

In the past I had another java needed sw on Win 7 and was ok.

How can be possible that?

Could you send the exactly the url of your java that you installed?

bo.elam
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 2859
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 9:17 pm

Re: Installing Java inside the sandbox

Post by bo.elam » Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:12 pm

Hi pipppero2007, I also tested installing Java in a sandbox, tested successfully in W10 1703 15063.608. I have no use for Java at all but have installed it sandboxed a few times over the years for testing purposes, it has never failed to install. This is the link I used to download the installer.
https://www.java.com/en/

Bo
Attachments
1.jpg
1.jpg (62.48 KiB) Viewed 1010 times
2.jpg
2.jpg (123.07 KiB) Viewed 1010 times

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests