Firefox (56b2) print problem

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
henryg
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by henryg » Sun Aug 27, 2017 6:50 am

Printing from Firefox causes a "Print Preview Error" popup box with the message "an error occurred while printing...", and the resulting page is blank - whether printing to pdf or normal printer. NB I'm not trying to print preview but assume that is a background process.

Printing in Chrome works fine.
Henry

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Aug 28, 2017 1:38 pm

Hello henryg,

Have you tried the steps listed here?:
viewtopic.php?f=60&t=23888
There is a FF print to file issue that is still being worked. To workaround this issue, add OpenFilePath=C:\Users\<username>\AppData\LocalLow\Mozilla\temp-*
If the issue persists after that, please provide this info:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746

Regards,
Barb.-

henryg
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by henryg » Tue Aug 29, 2017 11:28 am

Hi Barb

In my case I added to sandboxie.ini

OpenFilePath=C:\Users\henryg\AppData\LocalLow\Mozilla\temp-* which didn't work

so I also tried OpenFilePath=C:\Users\henryg\AppData\LocalLow\Mozilla just in case, but no joy.

I have some closed file paths but the are all in %Personal%" other than \Device\Mup\. Can't recall why the latter is there, but never been a problem up to now.

AVG Internet Security & MBAE running but tried with them disabled.

Windows 10 x64 v1703 build 15063.540; Sandboxie 5.20 & 5.21-2 tried; Firefox 56.0b6 64 bit, AVG Internet Security 16.151.8013; MBAE 1.10.1.24
Henry

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by Barb@Invincea » Tue Aug 29, 2017 1:39 pm

UPDATE:
Open Firefox outside Sandboxie
type about:config and accept the risk
search sandbox
Switch security.sandbox.content.level to 2 (mine was 3, if needed switch it to 1 or 0 ).
Close Firefox
Relaunch it Sandboxed and re-try printing.

--------------------- X -------------------------------------
Hello henryg,

I can repro the issue, I'll make the devs aware.
In the meantime, I recommend that you use the stable version of Firefox, which does work.

Regards,
Barb.-

henryg
Posts: 535
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by henryg » Wed Aug 30, 2017 7:34 am

Barb

Setting security.sandbox.content.level to 2 does the trick.

But are there other consequenses that make this generallyunwise? Mind you, I hadn't realised how much I rely on printing to pdf until it became unavailable; so level 2 it is for now.

Can you please advise here when fixed so I can switch the leve back to 3. I'm assuming that 3 is better than 2.
Henry

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Aug 30, 2017 9:47 am

Hello henryg,

Once Firefox is released and we get the actual settings (betas tend to "play around with stuff sometimes"), we will be able to review this issue properly.
At this point, you are using sandbox content level 2, which is the same level used in the current Firefox release version.

For more information, please see:
https://wiki.mozilla.org/Security/Sandbox
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1388046


Regards,
Barb.-

vgishmasters
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:40 am

firefox 56 vs sb5.20

Post by vgishmasters » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:25 am

printintg function is not working ((( my kyocera prints blank paper. (i mean printing from sandboxie)

SolarisGrim
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Jan 14, 2017 1:13 pm

Re: firefox 56 vs sb5.20

Post by SolarisGrim » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:32 am

Printing is not working :?: it wasn't working since while now (months) was that ever fixed :| and now no audio either unless you hack FF directly :(

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:18 am

I have merged your posts with the existing thread.
Please see above for workarounds.

Regards,
Barb.-

vgishmasters
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:40 am

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by vgishmasters » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:42 pm

This is all good, but we are as customers, waiting for fix from you devs. I hope that you are hearing us.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Firefox (56b2) print problem

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Oct 02, 2017 4:02 pm

Hello vgishmasters,

The devs are aware of the issue.
In the meantime, please use the provided workardounds in order to restore functionality.

Regards,
Barb.-

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 10 guests