SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Lode
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:08 pm

SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Lode » Tue Feb 07, 2017 8:18 am

Hi!

Because Firefox latest update now only gives me blank pages, I re-installed the Epic browser, and it give me normal pages, and gets sandboxed it looks like (yellow frame, red dots). But I get this every time: SBIE2203.

So I installed Chrome to see if things would be different, and it also gets sandboxed it seems as described for Epic, but the same SBIE2203 panel appears.

Any way to solve this?

Syrinx
Sandboxie Guru
Sandboxie Guru
Posts: 621
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 4:11 pm

Re: SBIE2203

Post by Syrinx » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:26 am

SBIE2203
The Sandboxie DLL component executing within the sandboxed program needs to communicate with the Sandboxie service component (SbieSvc). This message indicates that some communication failure has occurred.

When detail is connect, the likely reason is that the Sandboxie service is not running.

Any other value of detail indicates that communication has been established, but could not be completed, due to some error.
What else is being reported with the 2203 error? You can just use the copy&close function of the alert box then paste it here.
Which version of Sandboxie?
What OS?
Any Anti-Virus or other security products at play?

As far as the new firefox having blank pages, this is a known issue that has a workaround, namely disabling the new multi-process option:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... 2&p=126239
type about:config
accept the risk
set "browser.tabs.remote.autostart" and "browser.tabs.remote.autostart.2" to FALSE

If the issue persists, follow these steps:
Type "about:config"
Accept the risk.
Search for security.sandbox.content.level
Double click and change to 0
http://goo.gl/p8qFCf
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vIxWgVOCexU

Lode
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:08 pm

Re: SBIE2203

Post by Lode » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:37 am

Thanks for you kind help. 8)

Latest SB version.
Windows 8.1.

As for SBIE2203, that does not appear when I disable my HitmanPro Alert3 browser protection. So that's the culprit I just found out. But I can leave its keystroke encryption active.

Having both SB and Alert3 is overdoing it anyway I think... too paranoid. :oops:

My MBAM and Emsisoft AM don't interfere.

I'll try the fix for Firefox' blank pages you offered when I feel the urge to install Firefox again.... but getting used to Epic and Chrome for now. :lol:

Thanks again. :D

Lode
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:08 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Lode » Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:51 am

For months I have been using Alert again and there were no issues with Sandboxie any more. Until a few days ago with the latest Alert update. Now I get the SBIE2203 warning again.
HitmanPro sais it's a Sandboxie issue, that Alert does what it should. So I want to bring it up here once more. Be it for the last time. Without blaming anyone, especially since I don't know about these technical things.

By unticking "Local Privilege Mitigation" via "Risk Reduction" > "Process Protection" Alert stops showing a warning page in front of the webpage. But SBIE2203 still shows up.

Fact is that I've enjoyed utilizing SBIE sinds 2005 or 6, and am not about to give that up. Plus I already have Emsisoft AM's protection.

So if Sandboxie can fix this issue, fine. Otherwise I can still utilize the HitmanPro scanner and its extra protection from the paid version I still have 6i3 days for which was included in Alert. Or keep using Alert and simply click the SBIE2203 panel away. :?:
Last edited by Lode on Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:25 am, edited 1 time in total.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Wed Nov 29, 2017 10:09 am

Hello Lode,

Have you seen this thread?:
viewtopic.php?p=131279#p131279
Is the hitman pro alert template enabled?

From your previous posts, it seems that you have several security programs installed and running at the same time. Do Firefox/Chrome work fine outside Sandboxie?

Please provide this info: (including full error messages , program versions and repro steps)
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=19746
And the output of the resource access monitor (be sure to use a new Sandbox with default settings, and that the HitmanPro template is enabled globally):
https://www.sandboxie.com/ResourceAccessMonitor
To paste the output of the resource access monitor, copy/paste it in your response, highlight it and click on the "</>" button in the forum in order to format it.
Until a few days ago with the latest Alert update. Now I get the SBIE2203 warning again.
HitmanPro sais it's a Sandboxie issue,
If they made a change (via update) and the issue came back, chances are this is on their end.

Regards,
Barb.-

Lode
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:08 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Lode » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:20 pm

Thank you Barb,

It looks like I'm the only person with this issue, or maybe just one of two, as I saw also someone else post about this here and on the Wilders Security forum. At first I though this issue would affect many Sandboxie users, so also on behalf of them I posted about this here now.
But if it would be just me, it's not worth the trouble for Sandboxie. I already had removed Alert and used the HitmanPro scanner only, and made a system backup of that, as everything was working fine again. But now my bookmarks in Chrome don't stick any more, like for this thread, even though Bookmarks direct access is checked as before in my Sandboxie Settings for Chrome. I removed that ExtraBox as this bookmark issue came up right after making that one. But still the bookmark I made for this tread is gone as well as another one I made just for testing.

So I'm going to reset my laptop using that system backup made without Alert on it. Hopefully that solves all these issues for me.
I'm sorry to have even brought it up.

HitmanPro Alert is checked on the Software Compatibility list.
Chrome, IE11 and Epic work fine outside the sandbox. Not using Firefox any more.
Windows 8.1
Sandboxie 5.22 (64-bit)
Chrome 62.0.3202.94 (64-bit) (My default browser. If the issue with this one is solved I assume it is for the other two as well. But I hardly use those, so it does't matter to me.)
HitmanPro Alert Version 3.7.1 build 723
Emsisoft AntiMalware latest version.
Malwarebytes Premium 3.1.2

SBIE2203 Failed to communicate with Sandboxie Service: *GUIPROXY_00000001 - chrome.exe [FF000000]
SBIE2203 Failed to communicate with Sandboxie Service: *GUIPROXY_00000001 - chrome.exe [FF000000]
SBIE2203 Failed to communicate with Sandboxie Service: *GUIPROXY_00000001 - chrome.exe [FF000000]


Looks like I get different results using my default box. So at your requestI made an "ExtraBox" -first time ever- not sure my settings are in default mode in the ExtraBox. But here it is from that one:

Code: Select all

Clsid       -------------------------------
File/Key    -------------------------------
Image       -------------------------------
Ipc         -------------------------------
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\CrSharedMem_15af1204105ddf3f927eeb8ce398edbf9f7e9c50fa01cb5b9dc0ec9cbaaaa28e
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\CrSharedMem_ace29f9cf6a319ee6a69b12f184b66b620f6362a955f71244352f961b6bf5e1c
Ipc         \Sessions\1\BaseNamedObjects\CrSharedMem_aee9821846d22d4da65087ac7f24d442aedeaef1f87c9dbda602799ac0816d1b
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\dhcpcsvc
Ipc      O  \RPC Control\dhcpcsvc6
Pipe        -------------------------------
Pipe     O  \Device\Afd
Pipe     O  \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{7C8899B6-4DA3-4EC0-AE0F-9FCFDEDD4780}
Pipe     O  \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{B4953091-5541-4C07-A25F-B8B185428A02}
Pipe     O  \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{B6D08178-82EC-4394-B117-859005AB1C26}
WinCls      -------------------------------
Sometimes everything works normally even with all settings on Alert checked. Then the next time I open my browser I get the SBI2203 message again. At other times I get also the warning panel from Alert, and made a screen shot of the technical details on that panel. I can post that here too if you like.
Last edited by Barb@Invincea on Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Formatted the output.

Lode
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:08 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Lode » Thu Nov 30, 2017 5:43 am

PS:
Now that using a backup I have restored my system to the state it was in after removing Alert and keeping the HitmanPro scanner, also my bookmarks stick again in Chrome. (While trying out different things in Sandbox Settings to solve the Alert issue must I have messed up the bookmark setting. Although direct access looked still enabled. But that messing up was only after making the backup, so it was not in the backup.)
Because of the restoration I lost the screen shots of the Alert panel with technical details. For myself I'm happy everything is working again just fine, so I wouldn't re-install Alert again to make that screen shot one more time. But if there are many others who have this issue and it would be helpful for Sandboxie to solve it for them, I'm willing to install Alert again just for that reason -making a screen shot of Alert's technical report- and making that available to Sandboxie, and then remove Alert again. (If the issue would be solved I can always install Alert again of course. But just for myself I wouldn't bother with solving this Alert/Sandboxie issue any more.)

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:30 am

Hello Lode,

Now that you have provided the full error message, please try this:
*see the HitmanPro entry:
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=21539

Regards,
Barb.-

Lode
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:08 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Lode » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:11 am

Thank you, Barb.

I have no Sandboxie/HitmanPro problems. They work fine together. But Alert is a much more extensive and intrusive version that the maker of HitmanPro -Surfright- later developed. Alert and Sandboxie worked well, until the latest Alert update recently. (Although in the past there were issues, but in the latest version they were solved for quite some time, until the recent update.)

I emailed that to Surfight, and now it's a question of when they fix it Ronny from Surfright told me. And he advised me to check this thread out:
https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads ... ad.324841/

His post there:
"Sandboxie is on our list of things to do."
RonnyT, Today at 5:30 AM
:D

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2673
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Barb@Invincea » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:13 am

Hello Lode ,

Thanks for the update!

Regards,
Barb.-

Lode
Posts: 141
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:08 pm

Re: SBIE2203 [SOLVED]

Post by Lode » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:18 am

You are very welcome.

So that saves Sandboxie work... :lol:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests