Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Sun Jan 15, 2017 11:43 am

Hello All

On two machines, web hyperlinks in Word 2016 (Click to Run 365, not itself sandboxed) will not open in IE11 (forced-sandboxed on Win 10). When a link is clicked, iexplore.exe shows for about 15 seconds under the sandbox in SB Control window and then disappears - Word 2016 just hangs and has to be closed via TM.

I've tried creating new sandboxes in 5.16 and also 5.17.1 and problem persists.

Web hyperlinks open fine from Word 2016 into non-sandboxed IE.
Outlook 2016 hyperlinks open fine into sandboxed IE.
Mail hyperlinks also open fine from Word 2016 to non-sandboxed Thunderbird client.

I'm aware that the links can just be copied from the documents and pasted into IE, but any help with 'Open DOCX hyperlinks direct to sandboxed IE' would be appreciated...

Strangely, on a third machine, running Win 7, hyperlinks open fine from Word 2016 - straight into sandboxed IE (same sandbox settings) using both 5.16 and 5.17.1.

Thanks

philby

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by Barb@Invincea » Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:24 pm

Hello philby,

I am able to reproduce the problem on Win 10 + IE 11 + SBIE 5.16 + Office 2016.
We'll look into it, but it may take a while.

Is the Windows 7 machine running IE 9 or lower? That might be consistent with this thread:
http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... ink#p85658

In the meantime, there are 2 workarounds that you can test:
1 - Run Word Sandboxed
2 - Use a different default web-browser (I tested Google Chrome and it seems to work fine).

Regards,
Barb.-

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:36 pm

Thanks for reproducing the problem and replying Barb - I'm just glad to know I'm not missing anything with settings anywhere.
The Win7 machine is sporting IE11, incidentally, and all is well there with Word / SB.
Chrome it is for a while then!
Thanks again for looking into this.
philby

Curt@invincea
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Posts: 1667
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by Curt@invincea » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:32 pm

This has been fixed in 5.17.3.

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Fri May 12, 2017 5:06 am

Hi Curt
I'm using 5.18 and the issue persists, exactly as originally described.
philby

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri May 12, 2017 10:26 am

Hello philby,

Please give this a try:

http://forums.sandboxie.com/phpBB3/view ... 61&t=24329
Changes in 5.19.1
1) Fixed problem with Firefox H264 video decoder.
2) Creation of IE embedded application objects are no longer blocked by default (which began in 5.18). See viewtopic.php?f=11&t=24311
If IE is your default browser, it is being forced, and hyperlinks in MS Office are not working, you can use new option BlockIEEmbedding=y.

Regards,
Barb.-

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Fri May 12, 2017 12:15 pm

Hi Barb - am now running latest, 5.19.3.
Do I need to add that BlockIEEmbedding=y somewhere in Config? I can't seem to find anything about it in Sandbox XXX > Sandbox Settings.
Thanks
philby

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri May 12, 2017 1:27 pm

Hi philby,

Open Sandboxie Control go to Configure ---> Edit configuration

Then add BlockIEEmbedding=y under the Global settings.

Regards,
Barb.-

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Fri May 12, 2017 1:51 pm

Oh dear - have done this and problem persists, even after reloading Config (attached).
Attachments
Sandboxie Config.PNG
Sandboxie Config.PNG (48.34 KiB) Viewed 3464 times

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri May 12, 2017 2:27 pm

Hey philby ,

I forgot to mention (sorry) that some OS (Win 7x64, Win 10x64, WIn 8.1x64 and FR releases) might require a reboot before the changes are applied.
Would you mind trying that please?

Regards,
Barb.-

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Fri May 12, 2017 2:41 pm

Rebooted and it's the same Barb. If I disable forcing of IE, links open Word > IE just fine. Not sure what else to try here...
Thanks for your help
philby

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri May 12, 2017 3:19 pm

Hello philby,

I tested the behavior using IE as default browser+ Windows 10x64 CU). IE was set to forced in the Sandbox.
I was able to open hyperlinks from Word (both Sandboxed and non sandboxed instances) without issues.

Does the issue occur in a new sandbox?

Can you please provide a PML log? :
Download via: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sys ... nitor.aspx
Launch procmon, reproduce the issue in SBIE, stop procmon (hit the magnifying glass) .
Go to File-->Save and upload the log (you may need to use a free file hosting site as the logs tend to be big).

Regards,
Barb.-

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Fri May 12, 2017 4:11 pm

Done Barb - it's up in MEGA:

https://mega.nz/#!2ApmWLTA!QldqaZkZoZOf ... zwoMb8E49E

Yes, same issue in totally new Sandbox.
Incidentally, I'm on 1703 Creators Build and the issue has persisted since 1607.

Barb@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 2988
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:10 pm

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by Barb@Invincea » Fri May 12, 2017 4:14 pm

philby,

I have made the devs aware, they will look at it and see if they can find out what's the problem.

Did you try a different Sandbox?

Regards,
Barb.-

philby
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2009 3:46 am

Re: Word 2016 / Hyperlinks

Post by philby » Fri May 12, 2017 4:25 pm

Yes - just created new SB and left settings on deafult except for forcing IE under Applications.

Word link-clicks still provoke a 3 second flash of iexplore.exe in Sandboxie Control and a simultaneous freezing of Word which has to be killed with TM.

Thanks again
philby

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests