Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
424tsiai
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:56 pm

Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Post by 424tsiai » Sat Oct 08, 2016 5:25 am

Following there is a Legitimate News site:

http://www.skai.gr/player/tv/?mmid=279835

Inside Sandboxie, NO video can be displayed! :(

Outside Sandboxie, everything is O.K. :!:


System Info

Firefox 49.0.1 64-bit on Windows 10 64-bit.

osbron
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2015 8:16 pm

Re: Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Post by osbron » Sat Oct 08, 2016 8:05 am

Inside Sandboxie, ALL videos can be displayed!

System Info

Firefox 49.0.1 64-bit on Windows 10 64-bit.

bs1
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 12:32 pm

Re: Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Post by bs1 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 12:30 pm

Similar experience as original poster.

Details:
Website: http://wsav.com/live-stream/
SBIE version 5.12
FF version 49.0.1, portable version, I run the .exe in SBIE with no restrictions
System: Win10 64 bit
Experience: No live video or audio steam occurring. Just black video screen.

However, in portable Chrome, live stream does work properly.

Also, tested same details/specs in Virtualbox. FF sandboxed, no live stream. FF unsandboxed, live stream worked properly.

Guest10
Posts: 5135
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Post by Guest10 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 1:55 pm

If they are Flash videos, your results may vary.
I have 1 Cyberfox profile and sandbox that are both on a USB hard drive - Flash works there.
I copy that exact Cyberfox profile to C: drive, and create a sandbox on C: drive with the same sandbox settings as the one on the USB drive - Flash does not work there, or in any of my other profile/sandbox combinations on C:.

Sandboxie's original developer (tzuk) didn't necessarily like to recommend using the "Screen Readers" template, since it does weaken the sandbox somewhat, but using it allows Flash to work for me:
Sandbox Settings > Applications > Accessibility
One setting from that template is what makes it work for me:
OpenIpcPath=\RPC Control\epmapper

If using the Screen Readers template works: you could mitigate the sandbox weakening if you create a new sandbox just for use with Flash; enable Drop Rights for that sandbox (Sandbox Settings > Restrictions > Drop Rights); and limit use of that sandbox to just your browser. Personally, I would also uncheck Immediate Recovery (Sandbox Settings > Recovery > Immediate Recovery) as well as Removing the folders listed under Quick Recovery (Sandbox Settings > Recovery > Quick Recovery).
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

bs1
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri May 16, 2008 12:32 pm

Re: Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Post by bs1 » Sat Oct 08, 2016 9:24 pm

Guest10 wrote:Sandboxie's original developer (tzuk) didn't necessarily like to recommend using the "Screen Readers" template, since it does weaken the sandbox somewhat, but using it allows Flash to work for me:
Sandbox Settings > Applications > Accessibility
Interesting. I applied the setting and the live streaming began working in sandboxed portable Firefox. FF is my go-to browser, but I'll probably deactivate that setting in SBIE and rely on my sandboxed Chrome when I want to see streaming since it always works. Curious as to why streaming works in sandboxed Chrome but not FF with Screen Readers Accessibility unchecked in SBIE.

424tsiai
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:56 pm

Re: Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Post by 424tsiai » Sun Oct 09, 2016 6:09 am

bs1 wrote:Similar experience as original poster.
FF sandboxed, no live stream.
FF unsandboxed, live stream worked properly.
Good to read. :wink:

Curt@invincea
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Posts: 1661
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Legitimate News site cannot displayed!

Post by Curt@invincea » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:01 pm

Do not use OpenIpcPath=\RPC Control\epmapper. This hasn't worked in Sandboxie for a while and will cause all sorts of problems. I am not sure how this is working for you.

Instead use OpenWinClass=SWFlash_PlaceHolderX

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests