Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

offchu
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:57 pm

Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by offchu » Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:48 am

When I start a program via SBIE, I get an error message saying: "Runtime Error 216 at xxx". (even with calc.exe)

No error with v5.11.11 beta.
SBIE 5.12.0, Win 7 Ult SP1+ 64-bit, CIS 8.4, HMPA 3.1

Guest10
Posts: 5127
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:24 pm
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by Guest10 » Sat Jun 18, 2016 5:51 am

Have you tried a reboot? Sometimes it fixes strange errors.
Paul
Win 10 Home 64-bit (w/admin rights) - Zone Alarm Pro Firewall, MalwareBytes Premium A/V, Firefox, Thunderbird
Sandboxie user since March 2007

offchu
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by offchu » Sat Jun 18, 2016 11:26 am

Of course, I tried reboot after installation but it behaves the same.
SBIE 5.12.0, Win 7 Ult SP1+ 64-bit, CIS 8.4, HMPA 3.1

rpljhun
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:29 am

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by rpljhun » Sat Jun 18, 2016 1:09 pm

offchu wrote:When I start a program via SBIE, I get an error message saying: "Runtime Error 216 at xxx". (even with calc.exe)

No error with v5.11.11 beta.
Just want to make sure if 5.12 is causing this error in your PC, after upgrading to 5.12 and had this error, you downgraded to 5.11.11. Is that right? And you're not having that error after that?

How about running application unsandboxed, will you get an error?

offchu
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by offchu » Sat Jun 18, 2016 2:46 pm

Right, no error after downgrading to 5.11.11 BETA.

Running an application unsandboxed also works fine.
SBIE 5.12.0, Win 7 Ult SP1+ 64-bit, CIS 8.4, HMPA 3.1

rpljhun
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:29 am

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by rpljhun » Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:44 pm

offchu wrote:Right, no error after downgrading to 5.11.11 BETA.

Running an application unsandboxed also works fine.
You can take a look in your event viewer -> custom view -> administrative events. Look for an error message with time-stamp corresponding to the app crash.
Copy and paste here the text from the General tab.

offchu
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by offchu » Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:41 pm

Apps not crashing and no error reported in the event viewer. When I click "OK" on the error dialog, they start. (2 errors per sandboxed process)
SBIE 5.12.0, Win 7 Ult SP1+ 64-bit, CIS 8.4, HMPA 3.1

rpljhun
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:29 am

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by rpljhun » Sat Jun 18, 2016 9:35 pm

offchu wrote:Apps not crashing and no error reported in the event viewer. When I click "OK" on the error dialog, they start. (2 errors per sandboxed process)
I see. So, it's sbie processes that produce that Runtime error, probably SandboxieRpcSs.exe and SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe.

Would you mind to post the info of these two errors?

Btw, your running Windows 64 bit right? Try to use this installer for 64 bit http://www.sandboxie.com/attic/Sandboxi ... 64-512.exe

offchu
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by offchu » Sat Jun 18, 2016 10:53 pm

I have found the cause of this error. It was one of my custom templates. But I don't know why this is happening with 5.12.

Code: Select all

[Template_Local_SuperSocks5Cap_01]
Tmpl.Title=SuperSocks5Cap
OpenPipePath=*\Device\NamedPipe\SuperSokcs5Cap*
InjectDll=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdll.dll
InjectDll=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdll_L.dll
InjectDll64=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdllx64.dll
InjectDll64=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdllx64_L.dll
ProcessGroup=<StartRunAccess>,<SuperSocks5Cap_IA-SRA>
ProcessGroup=<InternetAccess>,<SuperSocks5Cap_IA-SRA>
Tmpl.Class=Local

Code: Select all

ProcessGroup=<SuperSocks5Cap_IA-SRA>,networktunnelx64helper.exe,SuperSocks5Cap.exe,SuperSocks5Cap_RunAsAdmin.exe
SBIE 5.12.0, Win 7 Ult SP1+ 64-bit, CIS 8.4, HMPA 3.1

rpljhun
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:29 am

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by rpljhun » Sat Jun 18, 2016 11:47 pm

offchu wrote:I have found the cause of this error. It was one of my custom templates. But I don't know why this is happening with 5.12.

Code: Select all

[Template_Local_SuperSocks5Cap_01]
Tmpl.Title=SuperSocks5Cap
OpenPipePath=*\Device\NamedPipe\SuperSokcs5Cap*
InjectDll=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdll.dll
InjectDll=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdll_L.dll
InjectDll64=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdllx64.dll
InjectDll64=*\Super Socks5Cap\networkdllx64_L.dll
ProcessGroup=<StartRunAccess>,<SuperSocks5Cap_IA-SRA>
ProcessGroup=<InternetAccess>,<SuperSocks5Cap_IA-SRA>
Tmpl.Class=Local

Code: Select all

ProcessGroup=<SuperSocks5Cap_IA-SRA>,networktunnelx64helper.exe,SuperSocks5Cap.exe,SuperSocks5Cap_RunAsAdmin.exe
The template is wrong, InjectDll or InjectDll64 needs the full path to load the DLL but I think there's no need to use InjectDll.

offchu
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:57 pm

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by offchu » Sun Jun 19, 2016 9:54 am

I know but I edited it for posting on the forum.
but I think there's no need to use InjectDll.
Could you please elaborate?
SBIE 5.12.0, Win 7 Ult SP1+ 64-bit, CIS 8.4, HMPA 3.1

rpljhun
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:29 am

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by rpljhun » Sun Jun 19, 2016 8:22 pm

offchu wrote:I know but I edited it for posting on the forum.
but I think there's no need to use InjectDll.
Could you please elaborate?
The injector of these dll is SuperSocks5Cap. The problem is that the dll injected is not compatible in SBIE v5.12.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by Craig@Invincea » Mon Jun 20, 2016 9:38 am

Nothing has changed from 5.11.11 to 5.12. It's same, just a name change. It appears to be your template.
Make sure your contents are deleted from your sandbox and / or create a new SB.

rpljhun
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:29 am

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by rpljhun » Mon Jun 20, 2016 1:57 pm

Craig@Invincea wrote:Nothing has changed from 5.11.11 to 5.12. It's same, just a name change. It appears to be your template.
Make sure your contents are deleted from your sandbox and / or create a new SB.
Actually there is. I download a trial version of SuperSocks5Cap. Using SBIE v5.12 injected the two dll(networkdllx64_L.dll and networkdllx64.dll) produces runtime error. Downgraded to SBIE v5.11.11 again injected the two dll and produces no error. I was able to make SuperSocks5Cap to work in v5.11.11. Hooking conflict I guess.

Curt@invincea
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Sandboxie Lead Developer
Posts: 1640
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Runtime error 216 at XXX with 5.12

Post by Curt@invincea » Mon Jun 20, 2016 2:15 pm

There was only 1 very minor change between 5.11.11 & 5.12 and that was to make the OpenPipePath for QWaveDrv enabled by default. Nothing related to hooking.

I am not sure what "Runtime error 216" is referring to. It might be this:
ERROR_EXE_MACHINE_TYPE_MISMATCH
216 (0xD8)
This version of %1 is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running. Check your computer's system information and then contact the software publisher.
But that doesn't make much sense. Another page I found with google says it might be a DEP problem.

You may have to contact the authors of this software and ask them to look into this.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests