HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Page42
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:18 pm
Location: Last Breath Farm

HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Page42 » Sun Aug 09, 2015 3:03 pm

Running 5.01.6 (64bit). Installed HitmanPro Alert and set SB software compatibility for HMPA. Chrome (64bit) crashed repeatedly.
Turned off SB and Chrome does fine.
I have searched the forum for info on HMPA, and all I find is instructions to add [\Device\NamedPipe\hmpalert] globally, which I assume has been done by adding HMPA via the software compatibility feature.
Any other ideas on what I can do to stop Chrome from crashing inside Sandboxie with HMPA running?
My security setup: Sandboxie, and some other stuff.

Page42
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:18 pm
Location: Last Breath Farm

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Page42 » Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:49 pm

Forget it. I grew tired of messing around trying to get HMPA to run right (for me!). Definitely would not work right with Sandboxie, and even when I disabled SB (something I dislike doing VERY MUCH), I eventually experienced issues with HMPA and Chrome opening links in new tabs or new windows. HMPA looks like an excellent program, but getting it to run properly with my system software wasn't happening.
My security setup: Sandboxie, and some other stuff.

henryg
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by henryg » Sun Aug 09, 2015 5:46 pm

Gave up on this long ago. Now use MBAE, even though it is not the same.
Henry

Page42
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:18 pm
Location: Last Breath Farm

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Page42 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:34 am

Hey Henry. I would have thought that SB's software compatibility setting would be enough to make the two programs work together.
Maybe I'll look into MBAE. Last time I checked, they were at odds with one another. Are you running Chrome browser?
My security setup: Sandboxie, and some other stuff.

Peter2150
Posts: 879
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:46 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Peter2150 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 12:43 am

Hi Page42

Have you considered switching to another browser? I am not seeing any of these issues, but I don't use Chrome.

Page42
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:18 pm
Location: Last Breath Farm

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Page42 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:30 am

Hi Pete. That would be a major step for me... to drop Chrome.
Which browser are you running? And HMPA/SB run side-by-side no problemo?
My security setup: Sandboxie, and some other stuff.

henryg
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by henryg » Mon Aug 10, 2015 4:36 am

Hi
Page42 wrote:Hey Henry. I would have thought that SB's software compatibility setting would be enough to make the two programs work together.
I can't now remember the precise problem(s).
Maybe I'll look into MBAE. Last time I checked, they were at odds with one another. Are you running Chrome browser?
You may need to use the template that is posted around here (do a search), or I can post it from my ini file. Remember to check the location of MBAE is correct in the template.

I use Firefox. Recent comments suggest the template is no longer needed with Firefox, but as it works with it I am leaving well alone.

Good luck.
Henry

Peter2150
Posts: 879
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 9:46 pm
Location: Washington DC

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Peter2150 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 8:23 am

Page42 wrote:Hi Pete. That would be a major step for me... to drop Chrome.
Which browser are you running? And HMPA/SB run side-by-side no problemo?
I am running Firefox, and I have Sandboxie, HMPA, Appguard, and EIS, and it all works pretty well together

Pete

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Craig@Invincea » Mon Aug 10, 2015 9:33 am

I have not tried HitMan Pro as of yet, but I can check it.

Page42
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:18 pm
Location: Last Breath Farm

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Page42 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:05 pm

Craig@Invincea wrote:I have not tried HitMan Pro as of yet, but I can check it.
Hi Craig. The problems I have been referencing pertain to HitmanPro Alert (HMPA), not HitmanPro.
HMP (a second opinion scanner), has no issues with SB. HMPA (an exploit blocker), on the other hand, can be problematic.
My security setup: Sandboxie, and some other stuff.

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Craig@Invincea » Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:18 pm

Page42 wrote:
Craig@Invincea wrote:I have not tried HitMan Pro as of yet, but I can check it.
Hi Craig. The problems I have been referencing pertain to HitmanPro Alert (HMPA), not HitmanPro.
HMP (a second opinion scanner), has no issues with SB. HMPA (an exploit blocker), on the other hand, can be problematic.
Perfect. Thanks for the clarification.

Page42
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:18 pm
Location: Last Breath Farm

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Page42 » Mon Aug 10, 2015 2:27 pm

henryg wrote:Gave up on this long ago.
Gave up on HMPA with Chrome? HMPA with FF? HMPA with SB & FF? What did you give up on?
My security setup: Sandboxie, and some other stuff.

Page42
Posts: 222
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:18 pm
Location: Last Breath Farm

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Page42 » Thu Aug 13, 2015 3:19 pm

I wanted to post back to say that I now have all three programs (HitmanPro.Alert, Chrome and Sandboxie) running together successfully on two different 7x64 computers.

The key to making this happen, after such an unsatisfactory initial attempt, was to uncheck the Sandboxie software compatibility setting for HMPA that pops up when SB senses that HMPA is onboard.

Point being, whether I unchecked it or just made sure not to check it, is that what worked was doing what I thought would not work, if that makes sense.

And my appreciation goes to bo elam. It was Bo who suggested this course of action, and as is often the case around here on these forums, Bo knows!
My security setup: Sandboxie, and some other stuff.

henryg
Posts: 539
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 9:38 am

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by henryg » Fri Aug 14, 2015 4:20 am

Page42 wrote:
henryg wrote:Gave up on this long ago.
Gave up on HMPA with Chrome? HMPA with FF? HMPA with SB & FF? What did you give up on?
HMPA. I am content to use MBAE.
Henry

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area

Re: HitmanPro Alert crashes Chrome in Sandboxie

Post by Craig@Invincea » Fri Aug 14, 2015 9:34 am

henryg wrote:
Page42 wrote:
henryg wrote:Gave up on this long ago.
Gave up on HMPA with Chrome? HMPA with FF? HMPA with SB & FF? What did you give up on?
HMPA. I am content to use MBAE.
MBAE seems to be the better option for playing nice w/ SBIE thus far.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests