Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 7/14/17]

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Craig@Invincea
Sandboxie Support
Sandboxie Support
Posts: 3523
Joined: Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:00 pm
Location: DC Metro Area
Contact:

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by Craig@Invincea » Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:46 am

And Me and Curt have reached out to KIS. Curt did again, in April. They have not responded. We certainly don't have time to pester them or make their product better. We have SBIE to worry about.

henryg
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:38 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by henryg » Thu Aug 25, 2016 5:43 pm

Syrinx wrote:At the risk of hijacking the flow of this thread I wanted to respond to a few things...
Agree 100%! I firmly believe in a multi-layered approach as everything should be viewed as vulnerable somehow; even if nobody ever knows.
Henry

nehebkau
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 5:49 am

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by nehebkau » Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:28 am

Opera Browser 40, used engine Blink as in Chromium, works in Sandboxie 5.14 + Kaspersky Internet Security 16 / 17. But Google chrome is not running in a sandbox + KIS :cry:

Goober22
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:01 pm

Re: Anti-Virus programs SBIE Beta v5 & Win 10 (working/not)

Post by Goober22 » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:09 pm

Johnny_B wrote:
Jon7 wrote:And 5.01.10 still doesn't work with comodo.
I've found a temporary solution to the "Sandboxie doesn't work if Comodo Firewall/Antivirus is installed on Windows 10" problem.

First make sure you have the latest version of Sandboxie installed. I've tested using Sandboxie V 5.01.13

Open Comodo and click Open Advanced Settings.

Go to Defence+ / HIPS / HIPS Settings. You will see a setting called "Detect shellcode injections". Make sure it's checked because the solution doesn't work if it's disabled. (You don't need to have HIPS enabled if you don't want to, just make sure "Detect shellcode injections" is checked).

Now click on Exclusions. In the window that opens right click and choose Add -> Files.

Go to the Sandboxie folder located in Program Files or Program Files (x86) and select all the executables you find there

"Start.exe""License.exe""SandboxieBITS.exe""SandboxieCrypto.exe""SandboxieDcomLaunch.exe""SandboxieRpcSs.exe""SandboxieWUAU.exe""SbieCtrl.exe""SbieIni.exe""SbieSvc.exe"

Click OK to add them, then click OK in all Comodo windows that are opened.

Now Sandboxie works :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

One more thing. I've discovered all this by accident. After the latest update Chrome would crash on start (Google Chrome has stopped working) if Comodo was installed. The solution I've found was to add C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe to the same Exclusions list in Comodo. This had nothing to do with Sandboxie, but it gave me the idea to try and do the same thing with Sandboxie's executables.
I just wanted to add here that I was running SB v5.14 x64 on Win10 anniversary version and SB was still not working for me, even after I added the files to Comodo's AV exclusion.

BUT, I saw this post about added them under the HIPS+ exclusion, even though I have HIPS off, and now SB lives again for me! :D Thx to Johnny_B

lopezgreat
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat May 16, 2009 1:45 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by lopezgreat » Mon Oct 03, 2016 5:05 am

trick not working with comodo & sandboxie under win10 x64 with firefox
autosandboxing not started
very frustrated as i used comodo + sandboxie + firefox for years in win7 without problem but now in win10:-(

john21wall
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2016 11:25 am
Contact:

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by john21wall » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:48 am

I am sitting looking at my desktop with no apps running [except background tasks] and when the clock changes to the scan begin time, nothing happens at all; i.e. no warning, no messages, no errors, no pop ups, no apps, no utilities, nothing at all?

bjm
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by bjm » Thu Oct 13, 2016 5:20 am

5.14 + Norton 22.8 (Norton extensions disabled and Sandboxie Folder excluded in Norton) okay for me.

bjm
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by bjm » Sat Nov 26, 2016 7:08 am

5.15.5 + Norton 22.8 (Norton extensions disabled and Sandboxie Folder excluded in Norton) okay for me. W10

ingmannori
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 7:36 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by ingmannori » Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:35 pm

Hi, I'm a fan and a licensed user of Sandboxie.
I recently bought Bitdefender 2017 but I didn't know there was a conflict with it.
Sandboxie doesn't work with any software: Notepad, Explorer, Firefox and so on...
I tried to follow your suggestion mentioned here, but nothing seems to work right.
What can I do? Thanks in advance.

https://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?Kno ... itdefender

"Solution: Adjust shield settings in BitDefender. Modules > Antivirus > click on the gear "icon" >GO to Active Threat Control > and move the slider to "Off" - Delete SBIE Sandbox Contents & relaunch the browser."

Configuration:
Windows 10 x64; Sandboxie version 5.14; Bitdefender total security 2017

toniostarcevic
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2016 9:03 am

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by toniostarcevic » Sat Dec 03, 2016 1:01 pm

Guys, I've just managed to make it work with the Kaspersky Internet Security suite (latest version) installed on Windows 10 Pro x64 Version 1607 (Build 14393.447)!
I've already tried this method earlier, so I think it's related to a recent update of Windows, Kaspersky or Sandboxie.
First add *everything* that is related to Sandboxie to the exceptions/trusted programs of Kaspersky. All folders, all executables, all dll's, and also the installer.
(I've already had this set up from one of my earlier attempts)

1. Remove network cable
2. Quit Kaspersky from system tray (don't forget to set up all the exceptions first, and maybe reboot)
3. Install Sandboxie (most recent version)
4. Try to run something in the sandbox, except Microsoft Edge! (more info later) The endlessly looped message about the "not implemented service" should be gone!
(not sure about the english terms - I use the german version)
5. Resume Kaspersky
6. Insert network cable

I've tried to get it to work so many times... Especially because this issue wasn't present earlier. I've used Sandboxie for quite a while together with Kaspersky. Finally I can use it again, that's awesome! I really hope this works for you too, guys!

What made me a bit curious, is that when I started a program in the sandbox for the first time, I got a strange report from sandboxie that I've never seen before... There is "not enough space" and "click ok to increase it" or something like that. It was a very small increase, something like from 57812 kb to 57844 kb.
Can't remember the exact wording and size, I've kind of rushed through it. However, after that everything was working fine. :)

The only thing I've changed on my PC since the last time I've tried to get Sandboxie to work, is installing a "RAM Cache" program. (Primo Cache)
That's a program to use some of your RAM to increase disk cache, to speed up read, write or read+write performance. (I use it in read mode)
But I hardly can imagine that this has anything to do with Sandboxie. But if - then it could be the reason for the strange "increase space" info, and/or maybe it could also the reason that it works now with Kaspersky? If my described method doesn't work for you, try to install the demo version of Primo Cache, set it up to read mode on all internal drives, and tell me if it worked!

About Microsoft Edge:
When I tried to run it in a sandbox, the Edge process (iexlore.exe) has frozen, and I couldn't run the Windows Task Manager anymore. It just didn't launch when trying to run it from Task Bar. (via right click)
And the screen that appears when pressing ctrl+alt+del didn't appear anymore. I've also tried to kill iexplore.exe from a third party Task Manager, but access was denied. And the reboot command also didn't react. I had to use the reset button on my tower.
After booting up I've tried it again, with the same result. This time there even was a check disc on reboot, and I had a strange lag of about 2 minutes after booting, before I could do anything. Luckily, everything went back to normal after a while.
So I recommend to not try it with Edge... All other browsers I've tried - Chrome, Firefox and Vivald - were all working perfectly fine.

jayjay
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2014 1:47 am

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by jayjay » Mon Dec 05, 2016 12:44 am

I've noticed the same thing - Working great with Kaspersky IS 17.0.0.611b - Sandboxie 5.15.3 64bit - Firefox 50.0.2. This appears to have happened within the last week or two, hope it remains this way.

Grenpara
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:00 am

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by Grenpara » Thu Dec 22, 2016 8:33 pm

Hey Guys & Gals,

So is it only on Windows 10 you got it to work that way or does it work with windows 8.1 as well?

Please let me know as my license is about to expire for Kaspersky Pure 3 where sandboxie worked fine.
Thanks in advance
Gren

P.s.(Have a Great Holiday Season / Christmas.)

Grenpara
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Jul 28, 2010 7:00 am

Kaspersky Update

Post by Grenpara » Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:10 pm

Hello Guys & Gals,

I am writing you to let people know Kaspersky Total Security 2017 works with Sandboxie now.

My old version of kaspersky was set to expire so i took a chance and downloaded latest Kaspersky and installed it.
The I added exclusions for install directory and the c: drive sandboxie main folder.


Currently i am using the Sandboxed Firefox while I type this message.
I have tried a couple other programs and all work great.
Either Windows, Sandboxie or Kaspersky Fixed the issue I assume since it works now.

I suggest you download the latest version to be safe.


Hope this helps others.
Have a Great Holiday Season / Christmas
Gren

bjm
Posts: 449
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2008 9:24 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by bjm » Sun Dec 25, 2016 1:51 am

Webroot Antivirus 9.0.14.58 + 5.16 feels okay with IE, Chrome64bit, Firefox32bit on W10.
Note: Firefox64bit offered some grief >
https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads ... st-2639340

Peter 123
Posts: 78
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:48 pm

Re: Antivirus/Anti-malware|SBIE v5+[working/not][Updated 8/2

Post by Peter 123 » Tue Dec 27, 2016 6:11 am

I am slightly optimistic that the latest version of Sandboxie (5.16) could be compatible with Norton Internet Security + Firefox. :D

I made the Sandboxie update at 19th December - more than a week ago - and since this time Firefox started in Sandboxie always with the first attempt and always without delay (or to be precise: only with the small, normal delay of a few seconds). Altogether that must have been some dozens of starts which worked all without problem. - I assume that some change in the latest update of Sandboxie is the reason for this pleasant situation.

So other users who still have Norton on their computer might give it a new try too.

I use the following combination:
Windows 7 Home Premium (32 bit)
Sandboxie 5.16 (32 bit)
Norton Internet Security 22.8.1.14
Firefox 50.1.0 (with Norton Security Toolbar disabled [as it was all the time])
Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bit, Firefox, Norton Internet Security

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 10 guests