Message SBIE1242 from Sandbox Driver

Please post your problem description here

Moderator: Barb@Invincea

Post Reply
Zandbak

Message SBIE1242 from Sandbox Driver

Post by Zandbak » Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:43 am

Hello,

Sandboxie worked like a charm until I added "/box:Browser firefox.exe" to the commandline. Now I cannot run Firefox within SB - FF does appear in the dialog screen for a few seconds than disappears - neither from starting it from a shortcut nor by running "default browser". I get the message "SBIE1242 Cannot remove registry hive: [C0000121]". The "Any Program..." browse function has also stopped working...

Uninstalled/reinstalled SB - everything works until I again tried opening the SB by this shortcut.

Unknown_User_687
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Unknown_User_687 » Sun Mar 18, 2007 12:26 pm

UPDATE:

No need to use the shortcut method anymore:
Changing the Sandbox Top-Level Folder form %AppData% to a custom %SID% folder (e.g. G:\My Documents\Sandboxie\%SID%) prevents FF2 from running in a SB.

EDIT:
Seems that anything except "%AppData%" (e.g. %Personal%) prevents FF2 from running in a SB.

Generic Firefox 2 alert:
"Could not initialize the browser's security component. The most likely cause is problems with files in your browser's profile directory. Please check that this directory has no read/write restrictions and your hard disk is not full or close to full. It is recommended that you exit the browser and fix the problem. If you continue to use this browser session, you might see incorrect browser behaviour when accessing security features."

OwenBurnett
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 11:36 am

Post by OwenBurnett » Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:41 pm

As far as I see you are trying to upen FF in an not default sandbox,
do you have OpenProtectedStorage=yes specyfyed for this new sandbox ("Browser")
btw: its a stupid question, but have you added the secundary sandbox, befoure trying to use it?

Owen

Unknown_User_687
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Unknown_User_687 » Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:53 pm

OwenBurnett wrote:As far as I see you are trying to upen FF in an not default sandbox,
do you have OpenProtectedStorage=yes specyfyed for this new sandbox ("Browser")
btw: its a stupid question, but have you added the secundary sandbox, befoure trying to use it?

Owen
Thank you for your time, Owen. I tried your suggestions but the problem seems to be the other-than-%AppData% parameter: for both specific and default sandboxes and with and without protected storage.

I didn't have this problem with 2.64 before. Updating to 2.80 just migrated my custom folder. I'm positive it had nothing to do with the commandline parameter.

EDIT:
Tried adding "FileRootPath=g:\My Documents\Sandboxie" to 'Browser' sandbox in sandboxie.ini. It is possible to open FF2 inside the default SB (%AppData%) but not in SB 'Browser'.

tzuk
Sandboxie Founder
Sandboxie Founder
Posts: 16076
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 12:57 pm

Post by tzuk » Mon Mar 19, 2007 5:52 pm

I have tried with a sandbox named "Browser" but can't get this error.
Can you create a new sandbox, a fresh start, and see what happens?
tzuk

Unknown_User_687
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 7:00 pm

Post by Unknown_User_687 » Mon Mar 19, 2007 6:18 pm

tzuk wrote:I have tried with a sandbox named "Browser" but can't get this error.
Can you create a new sandbox, a fresh start, and see what happens?
Tried it... all works fine until I switch from %AppData% to an other Top-Level Folder. IE doesn't seem to have problems with this change, nor does Opera - but after closing these browsers I also get the "SBIE1242 Cannot remove registry hive: [C0000121]" message from the Sandbox Driver.

Really strange... how can a proces within a SB be aware of the location the SB is storing its information in?

Keep up the good work, I'll just stick to the %AppData% folder... :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests